Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakton High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
Sort of. Because the county allows retakes on most tests and quizzes, some students don't study at all and just rely on their retakes to do well in classes. That being said though, those students are a minority (I think) and most people are taught to work hard in order to do well.

Oakton High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
This one I have to disagree with. I have heard many students talking about other students behind their backs, and often are on their phones during lessons, which is very disrespectful. Honestly phones in class are probably one of the big problems with this school, but teachers who take phones are often seen as overly harsh, and if they banned phones there would probably be an uprising, so that's probably not going to change. :(


Oakton High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
As I mentioned in my main review, a lot of people just stick to their own friend groups and don't really pay attention to what is happening to people outside of their group. That being said though, a lot of the teachers inform the students of when anything bad happens, so that does help.

Oakton High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
Kind of hard to answer. The teachers all have to give a lesson on "SR&R" (student rights and responsibilities), but a lot of the students don't really pay attention or anything. There is also a strict honor code, but I have seen a few students cheating. So yeah, the school does try to teach its students honesty and integrity, but a lot of the students just ignore it.

Oakton High School 3

Posted May 10, 2016
- a community member
Not bad. Most things at this school are relatively good. The teachers are good, the classes are quite good, and the community and diversity is alright. I have three big complaints though: 1. The school facility is tiny and cramped and old. It is up for renovation in a few years, but still, the hallway often fills up with students, slowing down movement in the hallways. 2. It seems very clique-y. Although there is a diverse background of students, people don't seem to really talk much outside of their friend group, and this is made worse because most teachers allow groups to be picked during group projects instead of assigning groups. 3. This is not as important as the other two, but the cafeteria food is, to put it politely, lacking. The lunches are small and often bland and flavorless, and the textures are kind of weird and squishy a lot of the time. I'd recommend bringing your own lunch.


Oakton High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
Definitely not. Students are constantly on their phones, and rarely pay attention to the teacher. A lot of my teachers like me just because I actually pay attention instead of spending all my time on my phone.

Oakton High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
No. They have a ton of presentations on the honor code and stuff like that. They also have an "honor council", but I have personally witnessed many, many students cheating while the teacher isn't looking. There was actually one guy who had his phone out in my precalculus class during multiple tests. He would sort of lean over his desk so that the teacher wouldn't see. I hope he gets caught, but I can't tell anyone or I would be viewed as a snitch and a jerk.

Oakton High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
I would like to say thanks to my teachers for enduring these horrible regulations imposed on them, and wish them the best of luck at getting a job at an actual school.


Oakton High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
Contrary to my other answers, I actually believe that many of the teachers at Oakton are quite good. It's just that the county, what with the whole "being broke and terrible at managing" thing, is holding them back. Did I mention that the county has no money?

Oakton High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
Definitely not enough. I have gone for multiple weeks, and in some cases, over a month with literally no homework other than simple worksheets.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakton High School
2900 Sutton Rd, Vienna, VA  22181
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (703) 319-2700
Last modified Oakton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top