Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2011
- a community member
This is the best school I had been to in my whole life. It is great.

Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2011
- a teacher
I have been a teacher for 15 years and I can honestly say that this is the best school in which I have ever taught. The students, parents, faculty, and staff make my coming to work everyday enjoyable and rewarding.


Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted March 16, 2011
- a community member
At thoreau i had an amazing education. they have wonderful teachers and staff. the two years i was there i went from being a under achiever that didn't care about school to being in all honors, taking a foreign language, and having strait a's. the teachers that truly inspired me were my eighth grade algebra 1 teachers Mrs. Galus and Mrs. Lenard,and the chorus teacher who no longer works there Mrs. Singletary. i highly recommend this school

Thoreau Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
Terrific school, great academics and extra-curricular activities!

Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
Im in my last quater of my first year at thoreau and i enjoy it the teachers help me wiht all my assignmebt if i dont understand the material. This is an amazing school and i totally suggest you go here


Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted November 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted October 29, 2008
- a student
I'm a student, and we just moved here last summer. This is a great school- we are learning a lot. Since the test averages were so high for social studies and science, every person is in honors for it. If you are looking for a great school, go here!

Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Thoreau Middle School 4

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
Our child has just finished 8th grade at Thoreau and we were generally happy with the school. Thoreau can count academics and strong and motivated teachers among its strengths. On the negative side, the Principal is almost invisible; a situation made worse by a cold and unwelcoming front office staff. We had zero interaction with the Principal, which was unfortunate. His two Vice Principals, however, are approachable and tuned in. On the whole, Thoreau is one of the area's better Middle Schools.

Thoreau Middle School 5

Posted February 09, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thoreau Middle School
2505 Cedar Ln, Vienna, VA  22180
(703) 846-8000
Last modified Thoreau Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thoreau Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top