Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Vienna, VA
Students enrolled: 568

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wolftrap Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Telling people not to move into this district is a little bold. I hope people who want to move into this area will visit Wolftrap to see for themselves. We have put 3 children through and they are all performing well above grade level. If you are unhappy here then homeschooling or private seem to be your best options. The overcrowding is a county issue which most schools are dealing with. They are so used to advanced students that it can be difficult to get services for a student who needs accommodations. Hopefully, they are getting better in this area.

Wolftrap Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
I am so dissapointed in this school. They classes are over crowded 30 students in one small class, with lack of space and qualified tearches. They took a special ed teacher and assigned her to a first grade class because there was a shortage of teachers. The number of students out number the school capacity and teacher ratio. The curriculum is below average and there is no follow through with homework or student progress. I bought my home to be in this school district...what a waste of money and time/effort. In fact, fairfax county school as a whole is over populated and is going down. IF you are thinking of moving into this district for the school..don't. You will regret it.


Wolftrap Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Compelled to comment after reading the last review. We were very impressed this year with how the principal (only in her second full year in the role) dealt with large class size issue in the second grade. 8 new second graders registered the month before school started making for very large class sizes. She worked with the County and internal staff to come up with options and was able to hire and add a new teacher to reduce the class sizes. The teachers have all been great. We have not used any external tutors or extra help and our child was able to qualify for the AAP program and has excelled at school.

Wolftrap Elementary School 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
School is very overrated. Has a very wealthy student population of almost primarily English language speakers so of course they test well. Parents can easily afford to pay for tutors and extra help which leads to the very high test scores. Every classroom we have encountered has been overcrowded. Most of the teachers have done the minimum for our child, with the exception of one wonderful 1st grade teacher. School is also not accommodating to children with two households, principal has out right said she will only do the bare minimum of what the county requires. There is no follow through on having children complete assignments or take any responsibility for schoolwork. A big disappointment.

Wolftrap Elementary School 4

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
I feel compelled to comment after reading the previous posts. The oversize class postings were primarily due to too many children in the 4th grade AAP class this year. The AAP teacher is so dedicated that she offered to help teach math to this grade in addition to all of her other duties. The class sizes and textbooks have to be addressed at the county level and hopefully the new superintendent will be receptive. The new principal is great and most of the teachers are very dedicated. Most of the teachers are taking AAP training or are already certified. There are so few children below grade level that the school is able to offer the AAP science and social studies curriculum to all 3-6th graders. The school uses their assistants wisely to offer flexible groupings in math and reading.


Wolftrap Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
As a parent and former teacher I was excited to place my children in this highly rated school. I was shocked when I realized the gifted program was flooded with students. They allow 34 + students in a class and have no plans to hire more teachers or add a trailer as a classroom. They can't afford text books for the students. A pacing system has been put into place to accommodate the large numbers and no texts books. Parents are hiring tutors and teaching at home to make up for the lack of education they are receiving in the classroom. I placed my children in a private school and they are excelling. The difference in expectations and curriculum being taught is night and day. We met some wonderful people at Wollftrap and I hope Fairfax County gives them the school they deserve.

Wolftrap Elementary School 3

Posted January 26, 2013
- a parent
Wolftrap has changed. Many classes are 30+ in many grades, some are in excess of the VA state law size limits. Large class sizes are here to stay. Also, the new principal is changing the AAP program due to the very large % of AAP students. What exists now is cramming them into oversized classes and not providing fully certified AAP staff or full program academic services. I agree with the older posting and ratings from 2010 but not today's reality. Beyond the AAP issue is that some teachers are just "going through the motions" of teaching and need to retire. It is sad to watch the decline of this school.

Wolftrap Elementary School 3

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I have two children at this school. We have been happy with the teachers and staff. However, the class sizes are too big. My daughter's class has been on average 30 kids for grades 1 to 4 and it does not appear anything is going to change going forward. My son's class is 27 kids. I have no doubt that such a large class size is detrimental to the kids' school experience and learning progress.


Wolftrap Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
I have sent 2 kids through this school. Its a good environment with caring teachers. Both my children have done well and enjoyed their time at their.

Wolftrap Elementary School 2

Posted February 19, 2012
- a community member
Kindergarten and first grade teachers and students seem to be more helpful and understanding of their fellow students with special needs. Once the special need student gets in the higher grades the attitude changes. Teachers and students alike have the attitude that special need students infringe on their time and space. Little understanding, tolerance or desire to help these students become part of the class is displayed. Special need children know they are different and yet they want to belong. They need the help of their teachers and fellow students to achieve this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wolftrap Elementary School
1903 Beulah Rd, Vienna, VA  22182
(703) 319-7300
Last modified Wolftrap Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wolftrap Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top