Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Virginia Beach, VA

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Princess Anne High School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
Princess Anne High School is a terrific place for my son. The IB program has been especially helpful in helping him attain a great education and acceptance to several top-25 universities in the country. Teachers have always been attentive and helpful and provided him with the kind of excellent assistance that one would expect from a great school!

Princess Anne High School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Princess Anne High School is a great school with highly qualified and dedicated teachers. My daughter is a 9th Grader and she is flourishing there academically and socially. There are boatload of student activities to participate in and get involved. The school cares about the students' safety very much. I particularly like that there is a dedicated school personnel at the front entrance of the school who guards who comes and goes. She is not just physically there. She asks questions as to why you are there and who you want to see and will direct you on your way. The school spirit is very high. It is homecoming week at PA High and the hallways are being decorated by each graduating year. Kids are highly excited, so I hear. I went to a Meet and Greet with PTSA Board Member who is involved with Operation Graduation. I met many parents there who were truly dedicated to making sure the Graduating Class of 2013 had a safe, fun, and exciting time after their graduation by going of Spirit of Norfolk Midnight Cruise and then to rented out Bowling Alley in Lynnhaven. The PA High will pay for the bus to charter kids to and from this event. Many core group of dedicated parents.


Princess Anne High School 1

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Princess Anne High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Princess Anne High School has the greatest Marching Band in the country. GO..... Fabulous Marching Cavaliers!!!!!

Princess Anne High School 3

Posted March 12, 2009
- a community member
As a graduate of PA I can look back and say that overall the school prepared me for college pretty well. The IB program is good, but honestly not as good as the people who run it think it is (it's nowhere near real college level, I discovered). I think my friends at Cape Henry Collegiate and Norfolk Christian (private schools) were better prepared for college, to be honest. The teachers at PA are a mixed bag: some are really top notch and committed to their students, others are frankly incompetent and have no business teaching monkeys, much less students (for some reason the administration asks for student input, but never actually listened to our complaints about bad teachers). Like any school - including my college - there is unequal treatment of athletes and they're given second chances, academically and behavior-wise. Still, it's probably about the best public high-school in VaBeach.


Princess Anne High School 4

Posted March 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Princess Anne High School 3

Posted November 16, 2008
- a student
I have mixed opinions about this school. I guess its either love it or hate it for most people that wrote reviews. I love the celebrations they have here..Homecoming was uber-fun. But yeah t is really easy to skip and alot of kids that goto this school talk about smoking pot and drinking. The IB kids are stuck up theyre butts..especially the ones that went to Kemps Landing Magnet School. You just get a vibe from them that they think you are stupid because you arent in the IB. The teachers are nice, but mostly have no clue what they are doing. Its a good school, but all the scores are so high only because of IB...which is very overrated..

Princess Anne High School 1

Posted June 22, 2008
- a student
Its sad some of the way the teachers behave, and whats even worse is that the administration has no idea whats going on. I've experienced and heard so many stories of teachers saying or doing innapropriate things right in front of their students. I've also expierenced having teachers who really did not care about students or how well they do in class- many are also very discriminating. And as far as students, well, most kids are involved with 'bad things' and I've heard many openly discussing this in class without the teacher caring. As a whole, this school has much to high of standards - its as if they forget not everyone is attending for the IB program. I would not advice sending kids here unless they are very good students and can handle it.


Princess Anne High School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
My daughter moved here mid year into the IB program from another state. To say we were blown away with the IB program coordinator and teachers is putting it mildely. Mrs. Cox gives 150 percent of herself and just plain cares!

Princess Anne High School 0
no rating

Posted June 30, 2007
- a teacher
I have been at Princess Anne and Tallwood as a teacher. The parent involvement could stand to go up a notch or two. The students are mostly well-behaved and eager to work. Parents willingly support teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Princess Anne High School
4400 Virginia Beach Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA  23462
(757) 648-5600
Last modified Princess Anne High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Princess Anne High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top