Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Landstown Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2016
- a community member
Great school with a very nice learning environment. My son really excelled here and the program set him up to be prepared for high school and college.

Landstown Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 25, 2015
- a community member
Thank you teachers!! you've taught me friendship unity courage kindness youth optimism understanding , thank you teachers and assistant principals. you've been so much help for my future <3


Landstown Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 25, 2015
- a community member
my current English teacher at a different school gets the kids attention, he talks loud, makes jokes, an stands on the desks. he has fun with his job.

Landstown Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 25, 2015
- a community member
theres 6-7 classes, with 45 minute homework assignments each. if youre wondering why your child is failing, do you think your 10 year old wants to work on homework for 5 hours?

Landstown Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a community member
they don't care about if the students learn the stuff or not. as long as the teachers say it their job is done


Landstown Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a community member
wed get in trouble for chewing gum. we got in trouble for ANYTHING and EVERYTHING. id never go back to this school. parents, your child(ren) wont talk about being bullied cuz then youre a snitch. don't listen to parent reviews. listen to the students that actually experienced an 'education' there.

Landstown Middle School 4

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
All of my kids have went here no problems at all. Teachers are great and overall love it.

Landstown Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Landstown Middle School is a great school! My children have been attending this school for the last three years and we have had no problems at all. It has been a wonderful experience for all of us. My children came from Christopher Farms elementary. Many of their friends went to another middle school close by in which they were zoned for and they have complained of bullying and fights at that school which is supposedly rated as an awesome school. I suppose there will be bullying at every school, it has been around forever and always will be but my kids have never complained about it here, I'm sorry that other parents/kids have experienced it but you can have your kids in an expensive private school and the bullying will be there too. Teachers at Landstown are very open and caring about our children. No complaints here whatsoever!


Landstown Middle School 2

Posted March 14, 2014
- a community member
Landstown has been the worst experience for me as a student. I was bulled to the point of thinking that I could not go on any longer. I lost hope in every thing because of the students here. The students are full of them selves and will joke you until you loose hope in everything. The guidance counclers are very nice and help a lot but if you have the choice of sending your kid here, don't. Trust me as an 8th grader going into 9th. I hope high school is better.

Landstown Middle School 2

Posted November 22, 2013
- a parent
Son was bullied. When brought to the attention of assistant principal nothing was down. When my son finally got fed up and fought the kid they both got suspended and then the piece of trash bragged about it on Facebook and that his mom told him to talk about it offline. When I brought up that bulling was against school policies and the kid that was initiating the bulling should be expelled I was told I misinterpreted the guidelines. Not happy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Landstown Middle School
2204 Recreation Dr, Virginia Beach, VA  23456
(757) 648-4750
Last modified Landstown Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Landstown Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top