Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean Lakes High School

Public | 9-12 | 2340 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2006

My daughter has just finished her Freshman year at OLHS and as a parent, I could not be happier. She has had an excellent academic, athletic and social experience. She is driven to excel by everyone she interacts with during her schools day including her peers, her teachers and her coaches. She wanted to attend the Math and Science Academy for challenge but wanted a public school for diversity. She has definately gotten both and all of this exists in a discipline and character focused environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

'For Ocean Lakes has touched our lives her colors strong and bold.' That was the beginning of my Senior Class Graduation Speech for this Magnifiscent school. I am horribly closed minded on it being the best school, because I have never seen anything so spectacular/like it. It is an amazing school offering very vigorous courses. Not only is the Academy a great way to learn, but providing college level classes and teachers to stay after-school and stay behind when the class doesn't understand something, but it's one of those you have to see it to believe.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 11, 2005

I graduated from OL in 2002 and it continues to provide, as it did while I was a student, encouragement, friends, knowledge, and a safe place to return to when I need it. The school is up-to-date, the student activities are inclusive, and the faculty is absolutely incredible. Ocean Lakes is and always will be my Alma Mater.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2005

I am a graduate of OL-2004 and I can honestly say that OL made a better person out of me. The teachers there are the best in the city who challenge you to do your best and accept nothing short of that. They hold you to high standards, but if help is needed, there are many opportunities to meet for extra instruction. I am now attending the U.S. Naval Academy, and the Ocean Lakes staff played a major role in my acceptance and success here so far. There is no better school in the nation. Extra curricular activities also play a big role there and that is also another thing that colleges look for in applicants. Ocean Lakes (and the Math and Science Academy) prepares students for college, students there just have to take advantage of all the opportunities they are given.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

OLHS is an awesome school. We have just completed our founder's week and it was great. The theme this year was 'Oceans of Diversity' and we live up to this everyday. I have never been to a school like quite like this one. Our Principal walks through the hallways with a huge smile on his face, and you know he enjoys his job. The teachers are excellent and know exactly how to administer to each and every student need. This year was my first time taking AP classes and it started out a little tough. I was considering dropping the classes when one of my teachers pulled me aside and reassured me that I could do it. OLHS has pushed me to become what I can be, and it has changed my life for the better-I will never forget it. I am pround to be an OLHS dolphin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2004

Ocean Lakes High School is a great school to attend daily because the students, teachers, and all of the faculty staff are extremely friendly. The math and science academy helps students to prepare themselves to survive the future. To ensure that the students get in, they need to stay calm for the enterance test, attend their own 'shadowing' date, and attempt to attend the Ocean Lakes Middle School Leadership Workshop. If you look at all of their ten years, they are overall, have plenty of top quality standards in communication, leadership, and intelligence. Besides me walking from my home in Courthouse Farms to my offically licensed high school, Ocean Lakes, the next level of transportation for me is owning a helicopter. I'm offically proud to be an Ocean Lakes Dolphin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2004

There are not enough words to describe Ocean Lakes High School. It is the one of the top public schools in the nation, but besides that, you will be most impressed with what your child walks away with from Ocean Lakes High School. This year we had a FRESHman Start Transition Program to help incoming Freshman be more comfortable with the jump to High School. We are known around the state for the leaders that come out of OL. Our principal is the best! He loves OL and puts all he has to make it the greatest school he can! Ocean Lakes can change a students life for ever. They will love learning and they will love their school! I would never give up my experience at Ocean Lakes for anything! This is the greatest school in the U.S. and I am proud to be a Dolphin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2004

I'm a student at Ocean Lakes High School and I can guarantee you, you will not find a better high school in the city or the state. Ocean Lakes is one of the top high schools in the nation as proven by their hosting of the 2002 NASC Conference- a national conference for students across America chosen to be hosted at one school in the country every summer. The teachers, adminstration, and students themselves are outstanding both in and out of the class room. You as well will not find a better principal or magnet program in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2004

I have two daughters that attend Ocean Lakes H.S. and it is a wonderful school. The staff is wonderful. The teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

I think we don't give the much deserved respect to Ocean Lakes High School. OLHS is a wonderful and fantastic oppurtunity for any student in this country. The Math and Science Academy provides on the most challenging courses any student in the country can take. OLHS consistently performs well both academically and extra-cirrcularly especially. Mr Deviney, the residing principal, has done a great job keep OL on track. OL just recently hosted the NASC Confernence and is the only school in the city, if not state to host school-wide assemblies. OL is a superb environment for students to learn. With many great traditions, like founder's week and spirit assemblies, OL achieves more than any school in the area. I would not be surprised to know OL is one of the best schools in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have a daughter who graduated from Ocean Lakes and one currently there in 9th grade. Ocean Lakes is and was a wonderful experience for my children. The teachers & staff have always been very friendly and helpful when stressful times arose. They are a great bunch of individuals who care about the education of our youth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2004

I think Ocean Lakes is a great school. They have almost the highest SOL scores in Virginia. They even have a day when parents can come to school for whole day with their children and see what it's like. I just started going there this year. I was a C/D student and now I make nothing below a B and am on honor roll and have a 3.6 GPA. The teachers made it really easy to adjust to my new school. It's great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2004

Ocean Lakes is a wonderful school. My children are finally being involved in activities but the teachers stink. I can't help but wonder if the extracuricular activities are being veiwed as more important than the school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

567 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

538 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

570 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
98%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students77%
Female students80%
Male students74%
Black students68%
Asian students90%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial77%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Algebra II

All Students80%
Female students81%
Male students80%
Black students60%
Asian students89%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial67%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Biology

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students93%
Black students83%
Asian students100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial98%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Chemistry

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black students91%
Asian students94%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial97%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Earth Science

All Students76%
Female students69%
Male students82%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial67%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students96%
Male students95%
Black students88%
Asian students97%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial96%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students93%
Female students96%
Male students91%
Black students85%
Asian students97%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial92%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students86%
Black students75%
Asian students87%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial82%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students85%
Female students84%
Male students87%
Black students67%
Asian students89%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial92%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

World Geography

All Students97%
Female students94%
Male students100%
Black students91%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

World History I

All Students89%
Female students87%
Male students90%
Black students80%
Asian students96%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial90%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities66%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

World History II

All Students94%
Female students91%
Male students97%
Black students84%
Asian students100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial96%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities90%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryl C. Askew
Fax number
  • (757) 721-4309

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

885 Schuman Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-5550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Floyd Kellam High School
Virginia Beach, VA






Landstown High School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT