Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Larkspur Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1564 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2008

I love Larkspur Middle School. My Husband and I have a daughter who is in the 8th grade and our son who is in the 6th grade. They are both in Advance Placement courses which challenge them and give them opportunites for the future. I love the teachers at lkms. They are so supportive to the parent and student. Mrs. Morris the 8th grade principle is the Best. She has is so remarkable with the students. She keeps control with firmness but is fair at the same time. We are lucky to have her watching over our students. Everyone is wonderful at the school. Parents don't feel worried about your child attending there because, they will have a great learning experience there. I know we have and look forward to a bright future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

We are very pleased with this school. Our son feels comfortable and independent there. He is in 6th grade and we first worried about the transition from elementary to middle, since he was coming from another city, but he has adjusted very well. This school offers advanced science, math and english courses for him, where he feels very challenged but not overwhelmed. Additionally, the 6th, 7th and 8th grade students do not intermingle throughout the day, which we believe eases the transition to middle school. Each grade level is in its own wing, basically it's like 3 schools in one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

I Love LKMS its da best school in the world. Go Lion!


Posted November 28, 2007

My daughter was making D's until she came to Larkspur. Now she has been on the Honor Roll for the last year. She raves about her teachers, and her entire attitude has changed. She is encouraged, and this makes her want to do well. 100% turnaround from the last school she attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Larkspur is a very educated school I love it their everything is just rght the people are nice (if you choose the right friend0 the teachers actually help you instead of telling you your wrong and thing like that I love it
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2007

I would like to commend Dr Cunningham for her efforts, leadership, and hard work with educating our children. It's not an easy job to get up everyday, come to school and deal with someone else's child. Over the past 3 yrs, I have seen Larkspur evolve into one of the leading middle schools in the area. There has been various programs as stated previously that have been influential and successful in the development of our children. I ask that parents also be mindful that it's not just the teachers responsilbility to educate our children, it's also ours. My daughter has flourished at Larkspur entering into the 8th grade next year. I have enjoyed working with the Principal, teachers, and staff. My daughter is not perfect, no child is. As parents we need to be more proactive in everything that involves our children, especially education. Less timeon the telephone and watching television.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2007

Larkspur is not about the individual child. They can gt lost in the system really quickly if the parent is not paying attention. Our child went from Honor Roll in 5th grade to struggling all year in 6th grade. When did we find out there were issues way to late to make a difference. If I could take my child to a smaller, more personable school I most definitely would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

I do not like Larkspur Middle School. There are a lot of fights and the administrators do a horrible job at discipline. The teachers think that they a perfect and that everything we do wrong is all our fault and that we are lazy. Some of the teachers are good though. I am in 8th grade and just finished tech ed with Mr. Pugh. He is great. Overall this school is not the worst but could be a lot better. I hope that Kempsville High is better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

Excellent school. The before/after school tutoring program for the students who need it is an obvious showing of the teachers & schools committment to providing a good program. The school is enormous for a Middle School and has over 1900 students. Each grade has their own 'wing' and is divided into teams. The grade separation and 'teams' help to relieve the feeling of being a number in a large crowd. Most of the teachers make a great effort to get to know their students and set a good example by their appearance and behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

I personally like Larkspur Middle School. My twin sister and I actually enjoy coming to Larkspur every morning.It was a fun, and an exciting 1st year of middle school. Now we can't wait to go to back there for 7th grade in less than 1 month.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2006

I personally like Larkspur Middle School . I will be an eighth grader in the school as of next year, & the school is safe . There are fights but there are officers & teachers in every hallway so when fights break out, they are stopped immediately . I also love the art program . Ms Burton is very good at her job . I am taking keyboarding, art, advanced core classes, & full spanish 1 next year .
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2006

Currently, I am an eighth grader at Larkspur Middle School. The school is ... Eh? Okay. The extracurricular activities are decent. Last year, in 6th grade I was in art, but since I was pushing to take a full year language I had to miss out on Art. The art program at this school is marvelous, especially if you get Mr. Obermeyer. There are an awful lot of fights at this school & most of the time I only feel 50% safe. The school isn't the best, a lot are better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2005

I have heard a lot of bad thing about this school, but in the time I have had my daughter there, I was really impressed. The teachers have taken time and special care with my daughter. The guidence office is always helpful and concerned about her education and happiness at the school. I have nothing negative whatsoever to say about Larkspur. My daughter has blossomed there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

Larkspur is a great school with a bad rap. My children both attended the school and learned great things inside the classroom as well as skills to use outside of school. The teachers my children had were good and I heard almost all grand things about them. I think Larkspur gets bad attention due to its proximity to a high school with a not so good reputation. One of my children went through advanced classes at Larkspur while my other child went through with their special education program. I have nothing but good things to say about the teachers and the counselors that I have dealt with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

The counselling dept has far to go. If a parent does not push, then a child could be left behind in their efforts to move up into accelerated, academy, governor's magnet or any other honor classes. We know, it happened to us but we still succeeded. The other child has been ignored except with any infractions occur, those are magnified without the school investigating the full story. That also has happened to us, but we fought back by using logic and requesting how this child is different from other children. When this was confronted, we found the school could not find him guilty of being any different from other children who were not 'acting out'. I don't think the school system is for the individual child but the accreditation as a whole, to the point of ignoring problems which can be handled with understanding and fairness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

I hated Larkspur.I went from honor roll in elementary school to failing middle school.They blame 'US' the students instead of their inability to teach.They do give you extra credit things to do so you can pass at the last minute. They can't fail us all, that would look bad on them; wouldn't it?If you have problems, they accuse you of being lazy, immature or adjusting to middle school.They say this even when you are an eigth grader.They can never take blame.Principal and assistant principals are cool.They have an awesome music department.There are alot of clicks at this school.Lots of fights too.SOME teachers cuss and act more like students then teachers, but they expect us students to respect them anyhow.I am thankful that my HS teachers behave like teachers should.They're helping me makeup for all my lost time at Larkspur.There are a few wonderful teachers there, and I do mean a few!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2004

This is our second year at this school the first year was little it getting use to the school is large but I notice adminstration to very polite a little more organized than I expected for such a large school the children seem to love and teachers are willing to work with you and your child as long as you commounicate with them the PTa I did have to call the president to get involed I was not too impressed with that As a parent I think Larkspur is a good school for our children however more parent need to continue to be involved if the want to see any changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

I moved to the state of Virginia in 6th grade, afraid of being bullied and not having any friends. Larkspur is a very welcoming enviroment where I feel safe and can make new friends every day. The principal, Mr. Brumfield, is excellent and I belive that he truly loves coming to work everyday and seeing the students. Also, upon entering Larkspur, my grades have improved. I am in the National Junior Honor Society! I have also been accepted into First Colonial - the law studies academy. I will miss Larkspur so much when I leave but I'll still have all that I've learned.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2004

This is a wonderful school. Yes it is big but it is a school were all the grades are in a different hall way so you dont have to worry about your child being bullied. For 6th graders, dont worry lockers are easy and your teachers will help you. Your gym and cafeteria are just down the hall. Changing classes are easier for you because the classes are right next to each otrher. All the teachers and this is a good school. I hope that everyone agrees with my comments!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 29, 2004

This school is the most unorganized of any in the city. There is confusion on a daily basis and no real direction. My child came from Arrowhead Elementary where there was a great reading program and great parent-teacher communication. The communication ended when he came to Larkspur. If the PTA wants a parent to get involved, how would you know--we are never notified of any meetings. On an early dismissal day, no one knows what they are doing and the children are in total confusion. It is a terrible waste. They need some lessons from the staff at Arrowhead. The library went from a wonderful thing at Arrowhead to an off limits room at Larkspur. Even former teachers have left due to the lack of leadership and total lack of organization there. Something needs to change now.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students71%
Male students68%
Black students57%
Asian students86%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial89%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students76%
Black students68%
Asian students94%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial85%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students69%
Black students60%
Asian students86%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial85%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students46%
Female students45%
Male students47%
Black students37%
Asian students43%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial69%
White students50%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students68%
Male students61%
Black students58%
Asian students76%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial69%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English64%

English: Writing

All Students58%
Female students68%
Male students47%
Black students47%
Asian students73%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial59%
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%

Math

All Students50%
Female students50%
Male students50%
Black students37%
Asian students69%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial50%
White students57%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English50%

Science

All Students67%
Female students60%
Male students74%
Black students53%
Asian students76%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial70%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students97%
Black students95%
Asian students96%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial97%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English98%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Matthew Delaney
Fax number
  • (757) 474-8598

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4696 Princess Anne Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kempsville Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Coastal Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Salem Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


The Renaissance Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Tabernacle Baptist Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT