Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kemps Landing Magnet

Public | 6-8 | 577 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2009

Teachers go beyond their duty. Imaginative, creative, clean, well-organized, fun, upbeat school. Extracurricular activities abound and the students are spirited and well-adjusted. You'll love sending your student here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

Both my son and daughter attended KLMS and both had great experiences. The staff was very dedicated and for the most part top notch. I can think of only a couple of times that I was not satisfied with the response I recieved when my child encountered difficulties. This is a magnet school and in the past was the main feed to the International Baccalaureate program at Princess Anne High School. This is no longer the case as VB has established an IB Middle Years Program at Plaza Middle School. If IB is your goal then MYP is the route because any child in that program who maintains the standards is automatically accepted to the IB program at Princess Anne. Also, the MYP prepares them more for the different aspects of IB (service projects, community service, etc)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

up until reccently i loved klms. i felt at home there. im an eight grader and i wouldnt dream of going anywhere else. but they r making things not fun. its too much pressure we are all wearing thin and school is no fun anymore. i do recomend going here but it is a lot of pressure u have no idea how much unless uve been there, so be ready for it. it is rewarding if u make it through plus everyone is so nice and helpful if needed
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2009

I am the parent of both a sixth and seventh grader at klms. they both love their school and neither complains of the homework or seems stressed by the workload. they both came from odc and i think that helps alot. the teachers are the best and the staff seems to know their students well. yes, the expectations are high, but the work ethic and staff support is high also. the organizational skills, field trip opportunities, spirit of honor and pride are unsurpassed. one great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

I love going to kemps landing it is the best place for me. I cant imagine going to any other middle school. I moved to Virginia half way through fifth grade and i was so nervous about middle school in an unknown area. At Kemps Landing, you make so many new friends through after school activities and student led projects, that i was never lonely. The work load is harder and some teams have more work, but everyone learns the same material, there are just different styles of teaching. The teachers are the best out there and everyone of them gives something to me to help me with highschool. I am very sad that my time at KLMS is almost up and i highly recomend it for motivated students, you will not recieve a better education anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

The school has great opportunities, but I agree, If you don't stay organized, you will struggle. I have two straight-A daughters, one in 6th grade and one in 8th grade, and they have struggled a bit. My daughter in 6th grade balances her work with 15 hours of dance each week, but she does it so well that she is making excellent grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I loved going to this school. The friends I still keep in touch with the friends I met (I'm in HS) and most of the teachers were fantastic. My favorite teacher of all time is Mr. Bone, the 7th grade English teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2009

Kempslanding is a great school. It has a small amount of students, but has great teachers. Anybody applying should be aware that if you do not STAY ORGANIZED and on top of your work that you will struggle. If you are a honest, good student Kempslanding will help you excel now and in your future. Great School, Highly recomend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

I don't see where the faculty of this school helps students who are struggling. My daughter is not doing well here and it is a little difficult getting the teachers to respond back in a tgimely matter. They have an after school study hall, but the class is not supervised welll and I think there is a lot of potential for a student to goof off. I don't think the team teacher's do a good enough job coordinating tests and projects with each other. I also this believe that this school could do a better job of transitioning students from elementary school into the 6th grade. The work load is tremendous. It did not take long for my daughter to get overwhelmed by the workload. Overall, the school is very good. I just think that parents should be aware of other aspects of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I love Kemps Landing. My child is always happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

I am a current student at KLMS the Honor Code keeps us honest. Some Parents don't like the workload, but it is half the amount you might get in high school. It really challenges us, and it makes graduating from high school easier because we take so many college credit courses
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2008

The scores are high, the parent and teacher support level to students is high, the PTA support is high, the expectations of students is high, the freedom that the students receive is high. There are only 600 students in the school and it has a small school feel. There is an honor code that is upheld and no locks on lockers and no dishonesty tolerated. It's great. 30 min - 2 hours of homework per night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

Kemps Landing Magnet School is an outstanding school in which teaching goes way beyond curriculum requirements and provided innumerable opportunities during the past three years for our daughter to extend her knowledge and understanding. She is keenly aware of the respect for academic ability and achievement fostered at KLMS; that plus the empowering relationship between her teachers and herself were factors which fuelled her pursuit of learning. KLMS successfully provided her with a wide range of educational opportunities tailored to meet the interests, aptitudes and needs of gifted learners. To say we are pleased with the school is an understatement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

My child's experience at KLMS has been for beyond what I had expected. In her third and final year, she continues to be challenged in ways far beyond her peers at area public or private schools. Kemps Landing fills a niche in Virginia Beach that is much needed. The quality of the teaching staff is exceptional and the dedication to teaching motivated students is evident. I would highly recommend this middle school experience to anyone who is seeking a challenging curriculum designed for the high achiever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

The best middle school in Virginia Beach. My son is in 8th Grade and his education is our priority. Keep up the good work Kemps Landing Magnet School. Semper Honore
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

You cannot find a better school! My daughter just completed 3 years and I was very impressed. It is such a shame that the city doesn't recognize what this school does and doesn't provide money towards better building etc instead of trying to CLOSE to school just to appease the tax payers in a higher tax area to provide THEM with a new school. To have a SAFE environment where you don't worry about drugs, theft (and with no locks!), fights, etc and all the hands on learning is a dream. More schools should follow the example. These kids come away with not only a great education but with pride, self confidence, trust, and HONOR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

This school is by far one of the best in VA. The honor code they enforce really helps out the students.At that school they dont have locks on the locker and not one person has gotten something stolen.thats pretty impressive
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2006

Amazing and sweet school. Honor Code. No fights etc. Best middle school in Va Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

Kemps Landing is the best school ever. There is rarely any fights or violence. This school challenges me and it really focuses on honor. The teachers are really great and you get to take high school courses in 6th grade. There are more than one quizzes or tests each day though. There is also ALOT of homework and it really cut back on my social life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2005

I went to three seprate middle schools. Kemps landing by far was the best while there was a much heavier workload, this was the first school to actually challenge me and make me think. The teachers were all very good in their various subjects. I would reccomend this school to any gifted child.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students99%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

English: Writing

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Math

All Students92%
Female students89%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Charles Foster
Fax number
  • (757) 473-5106

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4722 Jericho Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bayside Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach, VA


The Renaissance Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


St Gregory The Great School
Virginia Beach, VA


Independence Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Gateway Christian School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT