Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kemps Landing Magnet 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
Challenging, caring, innovative. The school works hard to create the feeling of a community school and the administration is regularly present at afterschool and weekend activities, meeting parents and talking to students. Middle school students can participate in afterschool academic clubs and intramural-type sports. Elementary students benefit from science labs, archeology digs, oyster raising, markerspace-type projects, Rube Goldberg competitions, book clubs, and weekend leadership workshops. Students are expected to be productive thinkers and involved. We're a military family with several good school districts under our belts, and this stands out as an innovative place.

Kemps Landing Magnet 3

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The school is challenging, but does not seem like a lot of fun. It's a good education. The Beach in general is great, but for a place were kids already enter school with a love for learning, I expected more.


Kemps Landing Magnet
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
This is no longer a challenging environment for the students to learn. Many of the fabulous teachers have left.

Kemps Landing Magnet 2

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
The new leadership at this school has watered down the education and forced out great teachers. This is no longer a quality public education.

Kemps Landing Magnet 1

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
It can be a stressful learning environment unless you are a PTA parent or a PTA parent's child. Otherwise, you may feel afraid to speak up. But the kids are screened and that's one good thing. Maybe when the new school gets built it will be better. It's no private school that's for sure!


Kemps Landing Magnet 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
My children are all young adults now and the education they all received at KLMS was the best experience they received in education. It was the cornerstone of their education and established relationships with their teachers as mentors . They learned how to think out of the box, be creative, be different, there wasn't just one way of learning that was acceptable and opinions matter. There was an honor code, and that was cool they said. And the respect they had for each other in school was something they learned from their teachers who respected them as individuals.

Kemps Landing Magnet 2

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
A one-size fits all approach to gifted education, canned assignments, usually worksheets, and same projects for years. High volume of class work & homework, unnecessary for many students. Most work is not hard, a lot of busy work. It's like an endurance test to see how students perform under those conditions. Pre-screen kids to get the best in the city, so it's shocking all scores aren't in advanced range. Some mandatory SOL prep, back-to-back tests & daily review sheets to complete a few weeks before SOLs, is grueling! Focus is on overall school image, not individual gifted students, who need more than a regular gifted program, progressing. Student athletes are praised. Not all students get all A s, even those who entered with it. Great place if type A or motivated by grades. But, students, who love learning & value free-time, can continue to like learning, but may not continue liking school as much. Parent input is not always welcome, unless for PTA fundraisers, celebrations, etc. No real grading transparency. Well-mannered hard working students, teachers vary on niceness & quality. Managing workload better & positive feedback could improve student morale.

Kemps Landing Magnet 3

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
The academic program is intense, and is not for all gifted kids, it is for a certain type of gifted kid. If your child is gifted in all subjects and has little interest in anything but academics, Kemps is the school for your child. If your gifted child is remotely struggling in any subject, and by struggling I mean getting a B, and has an interest in creative activities or sports, Kemps is not for your child, and don't even think about it if your child is twice exceptional. Kemps is excellent at academics, it is not excellent at addressing the social and emotional issues that many gifted children have. Asynchronistic emotional development is common amongst gifted children and neither Kemps nor its feed school ODC has a good program to assist with that. There is a gifted child "mold" that they attempt to squeeze each student into and the children very much feel it in ODC when they don't measure up to the Kemps mold, which can affect their self esteem. Kemps kids may very well be on their way to MIT but I have to wonder about their social adjustment once they leave high school.


Kemps Landing Magnet 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a community member
Kemps Landing Magnet School is truly the best middle school around. Before going there, I went to private school and actually found the quality of education to be much better at KLMS than at my old school. The teachers are great, and strive to make sure that all the students succeed. 6th grade is normally a struggle for all students, and it is not uncommon to stay up past midnight to finish homework. Despite this, KLMS has an amazing program. Although all sixth graders must take Latin, in seventh and eighth grade they have the opportunity to continue Latin, or start Spanish, French, or Japanese. For math (I'm not sure if they still do this), children who score well on a test were able to learn Algebra I in sixth grade. Overall, the classes really do prepare a child for high school. Parents, take note: do not send your child here simply because he/she is gifted and the school has a good education. Your child needs to be motivated to learn and work hard so that he/she will not fall behind in class, which is an issue that I have observed throughout my years here.

Kemps Landing Magnet 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
KLMS is an awesome school. The rumors of tons of homework in 6th grade are true. I'm hoping the rumor that homework decreases in 7th & 8th is equally true. My child came from ODC so we knew what to expect but it was still a bit of a transition. Your child must WANT to go to this school. My child has gotten straight A's the first 3 quarters of 6th grade because she wants it but she is stressed out a lot. KLMS definitely stretches her to her maximum potential. Orchestra alone is worth going to this school. Mr. Baird's orchestra program is incredible. My child is flourishing in his class. Even on days when we want to quit, we stay due to the outstanding orchestra program. The pre-algebra teacher is frustrating because she teaches by giving the kids worksheets to figure out instead of working the new concepts with them. The other core teachers are great. Latin teacher is great. Overall, great experience for gifted kids. It's nice that their classmates are all similarly gifted and friendships are easier in this environment for "smart" kids. Parental support is critical for success in 6th grade. I have seen huge strides in organization and work habits this year. Necessary to survive!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kemps Landing Magnet
4722 Jericho Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23462
(757) 648-4650
Last modified Kemps Landing Magnet is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kemps Landing Magnet Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top