Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kemps Landing Magnet
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The chorus teacher is the absolute best. The students respect her and always try to do their best for her. We have enjoyed so much having her as a teacher.

Kemps Landing Magnet 3

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Definitely a one-size-fits-all approach to gifted education that we aren't too thrilled with. My sixth-grade child has gone from straight As to mostly Bs and is struggling emotionally with the requirements of this school. There seems to be so much stress, and most teachers have been unsympathetic. In addition, my child has had lots of problems jumping into advanced math. My child loves chorus class (the teacher is fantastic and we adore her methods) but right now that's about it. I hope it gets better as we progress but... I don't know.


Kemps Landing Magnet 1

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
Time is the challenge. No time to get enough sleep, have a life, and do all work. Where are the strategies, approaches, or tips to help learn? It’s definitely not like a family. But it is the best of the Beach. Why is NORVA so far ahead of VB?

Kemps Landing Magnet
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
some of the teachers were horrible (pretty much just math) but the majority of the teachers were amazing

Kemps Landing Magnet
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
sixth grade had a lot, but seventh and eighth grade had the perfect amount for me, as a student


Kemps Landing Magnet 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
it was great and I had an amazing experience there. it has sufficiently prepared me for high school

Kemps Landing Magnet 5

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
Challenging, caring, innovative. The school works hard to create the feeling of a community school and the administration is regularly present at afterschool and weekend activities, meeting parents and talking to students. Middle school students can participate in afterschool academic clubs and intramural-type sports. Elementary students benefit from science labs, archeology digs, oyster raising, markerspace-type projects, Rube Goldberg competitions, book clubs, and weekend leadership workshops. Students are expected to be productive thinkers and involved. We're a military family with several good school districts under our belts, and this stands out as an innovative place.

Kemps Landing Magnet 3

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
The school is challenging, but does not seem like a lot of fun. It's a good education. The Beach in general is great, but for a place were kids already enter school with a love for learning, I expected more.


Kemps Landing Magnet
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
This is no longer a challenging environment for the students to learn. Many of the fabulous teachers have left.

Kemps Landing Magnet 2

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
The new leadership at this school has watered down the education and forced out great teachers. This is no longer a quality public education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kemps Landing Magnet
4722 Jericho Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23462
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (757) 648-4650
Last modified Kemps Landing Magnet is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top