Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Christopher Farms Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 717 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

We love Christopher Farms. My daughter absolutely looks forward to school each day. She's in the Spanish Immersion program and we are very pleased with her teachers and all that she has learned. The new principal is very involved and personable. We are planning on moving this summer, but we will only be looking at homes in the Christopher Farms Elementary zone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My daughter loves this school! The teachers are caring and really get to know the students. The new gifted resource teacher is amazing and my daughter talks about her lessons all the time. This is a happy school where I always feel welcome. Her work is challenging but meaningful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

Christopher Farms is a wonderful school. I have two students there. The Staff is excellent in fostering success, building character and providing the children with a broad breath of knowledge in creative ways. The Spanish emersion program is fantastic and I am so glad it is available to my children. They have a dedicated and enthusiastic PTA as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

This school was quite a dissapointment. The 1st grade teacher my child had lacked in communicating effectively, as well as experience. The Principal was basically MIA the whole year, and the faculty was somewhat cold and pompous. A real let down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

Overall, everything was good. My child just finished 5th grade in the spanish immersion program. I was not very pleased with the fifth grade spanish immersion teacher. She said my child was getting all the help she needed with the make up work she got when she was at ODC. And yet, my child kept coming home with bad grades. When I asked why she got them, she said her teacher wasnt going over them. However, the social studies teachers always got involved in his teachings. that is what kept my child wanting to go to school. also, the teacher's kids got away with everything and never got in trouble. that i hated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I love this school! What a happy, clean, and family like school. I am so blessed to be able to have my children go to this school for several years. The teachers care, the PTA offers great programs for the kids during school. They also have a greenhouse! I agree that some of the things that are taught in Virginia Beach are not always age appropriate (as another poster commented on); but the teachers make it as fun and do an awesome job teaching the curriculum. I can't say enough about this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

What a GREAT school! My daughter has attended K-1st grade at this school and I only have positive things to say about it! The teachers have been great, to include all of the "specialty teachers" art, music, PE, library, and school nurse! I love the reading program too. As a former teacher myself, I am impressed with the teachers ability to consistently meet the needs of the various levels of readers in her classroom.The communication is fantastic and parent involvement is encouraged. We are a military family and will be moving this year. I only hope our next school will be up to the standards of CFES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Christopher Farms has a caring faculty that reaches all students through differentiated instruction. Students work hard and want to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Outstanding Spanish Immersion program, excellent faculty/staff/administrators in general, very active PTA, great neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love CFES because the teachers are great IN and OUT of the classroom, the staff is always friendly, and whenever I 'pop' in I am confident that things are going as they should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

We have a rising third grader and first grader at CFES. We've had a very positive experience at the school, particularly with the Spanish Immersion. There is lots of parent volunteerism but we wish they would tone down the never ending fundraisers. However, it's a well maintained school with great teachers. My only slight criticism is the gifted cluster program doesn't seem to expand on the regular school curriculum and we never really got any individual feedback about our daughter's progress in this program. That said she seemed to really like the gifted teacher as well as her regular classroom teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I have compared schools to great detail, and found that I love many qualities in Christopher Farms. Mostly, having the Spanish Emersion Program. This is such a HUGE benefit to have our young students learn a second language at such an early age; especially in a non-bilangual home. My child has one up on me at the age of seven! The curriculum is true to scale, being across all of Virginia Beach. Teachers and staff are inviting and positive toward parents and students, giving the students the encouragement they need...a very stimulating atmosphere. The school is extremely clean and pleasant. It has a wonderful lay out and feels like the sun is always shining! Lastly, this school has a great sense of community. The parental involvement has such a play in school activities. It is a great area for children to grow up. Nestled in an endearing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Christopher Farms is a wonderful school. Tons of parent involvement, and a great academics. One of the best in the beach
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I am not very happy with one of the second grade teachers, she is very hard to communicate with. She does not return any messeages either by letters, phone or by email. It is ver frustrating trying to find out about your child when a teacher behaves like this. I also have a child in first grade who is in the spanish program and I love the teachers. If i knew how this teacher was I would have not put him in this class nor would I recomend this teacher to anyone. A teacher is supposed to look out for the childs best intrest and this second grade teacher does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

This is my daughters 2nd year here, 2nd grade. She is in the Spanish Program (first year in the program). I absolutly loved her first grade teacher. The PTA sets up wonderful and fun activities throughout the year. She is looking forward to 3rd grade when she can participate in the school plays, etc. I wish the art program was better, but I think that is throughout all of VB. Overall, the academics are higher than some other VB schools, it's a beautiful school, safe and secure with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

I absolutely love this school. My daughter is in the 3rd grade and in her 3rd year of Spanish! Who else can say that? The students, staff and the parents of CFES are the best in the Virginia!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

Coming from California, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this school. They offer many special programs for all levels, especially for advanced. A+ to all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students87%
Male students76%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students75%
Female students73%
Male students76%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students74%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students77%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students80%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students70%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students78%
Female students76%
Male students80%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Amy Cashwell
Fax number
  • (757) 427-3656

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2828 Pleasant Acres Dr
Virginia Beach, VA 23453
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-2240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkway Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA




New Castle Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Landstown Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT