Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Virginia Beach, VA

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bayside Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a community member
I am a eight grade student at bayside middle and I have to say, in the sixth grade there is many kids that are bad, but sooner or later they get sent to renaissance and school year becomes great. The teachers are very fun and are enthusiastic about teaching. I went to bayside my 6th grade year and I left for my 7th. I was so upset to leave all my great friends & teachers at bayside middle. I was soon on my way to independence and the teachers were really strict and classes were to boring, the students were also very judgmental. I moved again and im back at bayside middle, I have such great teachers and the students have matured and are not as childish. I recommend this school to anyone who wants lots of friends.

Bayside Middle School 1

Posted March 17, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely the worst school for bullying, racism, and subpar education. I can't wait to move away from this school!! My daughter is picked on everyday by girls and boys. Believe me, it's not because there is something wrong with her...except for the fact she is white! Teachers can't even teach because kids are so bad and disrespectful!!! Avoid this school like the plague if you value your child and their education.


Bayside Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
This is the worse school my son has ever been at the clinic and the counselors are very rude. They feel like they can talk to you anyway the want to. My child gets sick very easily and misses a lot of school any other school that my child has been to have always been very accomadting this school has done nothing but cause me more stress which I have enough of with taking my child to chkd often they are very insenstive and rude if I knew how to make a formal complaint I would. They should worry more about the child the parent doen's know where they are then the child who the parent calls in sick and knows they are home. The social worker there also feels she has the right to talk to a parent very rudely. I have disenrolled my child from that school and well home school him now.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bayside Middle School 3

Posted August 26, 2012
- a parent
I have three children that attened Bayside middle and the first two I had no problem the teachers were great and very helpful and involved even though my two oldest moved on to high school the teachers still ask about them. The administration was fair and the guidance department was excellant. But I do not recommend this school for children with special needs such as my third child he was a victim of bullying and as often as I complained nothing was done dont feel like my child needs were met. But for regular education students it is a excellant school. Also great student activity coordinator very involved with the surrounding community. Stacie Davis, parent

Bayside Middle School 1

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
This is one of the worst schools I have ever known. I have never seen so much black on white racisim and bullying. But it isn't just the students...the teachers yell and swear, as well as throw things in class. My son has had an equal amount of bullying from students as well as teachers. The constant dysfunction in this school is sad and sickens me. The school is also very run down...I attended it in 1986, and the same desks are still in some of the classrooms. Bayside Middle has a few really crime ridden neighborhoods around, and I believe that is why many of the students there are so badly behaved. I think the teachers get stressed out, and give up. A lose/lose situation for all who attend. :(


Bayside Middle School 2

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Children often used racial slurs there. Child often came home hurt & injuried. Came home once with sprained ankle w/o a notice from nurse's office after walking on it all day. came home two days later with head injury caused from another child & administation did little to nothing. Child threatened because she was white & for no other reason. Teachers often commented on how rude this year of new kids were. In the 09/10 school year BAYSIDE MIDDLE SCHOOL was number one in fights, bullies & harassment acording to local paper. Teachers wre wiling to work w/';you bt higher administration wasn't an often tried to bury it under the rug. GLAD GLAD GLAD I got my child out of there.--Thank you.

Bayside Middle School 4

Posted November 12, 2010
- a community member
GO HERE!!!! NOT THE MAGNET SCHOOL! STUDENTS WORK WELL HERE AND UNDERSTAND! AT MAGNET SCHOOL TEACHERS ARE TOO EXPECTING!

Bayside Middle School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bayside Middle School 3

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bayside Middle School 2

Posted July 24, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bayside Middle School
965 Newtown Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23462
(757) 648-4400
Last modified Bayside Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bayside Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top