Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Floyd Kellam High School

Public | 9-12 | 1818 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

school does not have teachers in their special ed department with the knowledge to help the struggling learner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

My third child is getting ready to enter Kellam and I have every reason to believe her experience will be just as wonderful as her two brothers currently attending. My oldest is a junior in all honors/ap classes and doing dual enrollment at TCC. He has been encouraged and challenged every step of the way. My middle child is just an 'average' student but he too is getting all the attention, help and encouragement he needs from this wonderful staff. I would say whatever your child needs he/she will get at Kellam. Our experience as a family there has been exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

I now have two sons at Kellam and I have to say that compared with friends who have children at other high schools, Kellam is EXCELLENT! My older son is in honors/ap classes and excels and my younger son needed a little motivation, which he is definitely getting there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

Kellam high school is the worst school in the district . The administrators & staff are not the best around. Everything about to this school is ridiculous!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

Kellman is the best!My son enrolled in June 08. He is in the Marching Band and very happy and motivated. Just what he was lacking. Mr. Parker Thanks You have hepl my son become motivated again. We were from New York city, I have seen too many students drop from NYC high school. Kellam is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I am a graduate of Kellam ('07). I was an average student when I was a freshman, but I grew to be an outstanding student because of Kellam's faculty. They do push students to exceed the norm. For the student who get less than average grades it's not because of the school. It more likely falls on the shoulders of the student. The resorces are there for all students to succeed, but IT IS THE STUDENT who must reach out and use them. For instance, the first two years of english are dedicated to learning how to use these resorces. The next two years, which are also the most important years, the teachers will back off to let the students teach themselves how to be independant; in learning as well as in life. As a college student today I can reassure you that college has been less difficult thanks to kellam!


Posted June 27, 2008

Believe this to be a sub-par high school. Perhaps the reason why it is the only VaBch High School not to make this year's Newsweek's top High School list. You will likely read great comments about this school from parents of students who do well. If you have an average student, this is not the environment to excel. AP students get a lot of attention, but the reality is that those students would likely exceed without teacher involvement. I was a college professor. It was always tempting to concentrate on the high achievers and feel good about myself. However, that is not the job of the educator. Inspiring the average to achieve superior results should be the norm. Sadly, that is not the case at Kellam.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

My son attends Kellam High and loves it!! It is the best high school in Hampton Roads by far! I'm so glad we could afford a home in this school district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Kellam High School was once described by many parents as Va. Beach's 'Best Kept Secret'. It is no longer a secret that this high school is by far the best at the beach. Go Knights!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I am a Kellam graduate. I moved out of district, but moved back to raise a family. My son graduated from Kellam, and my daughter will graduate from Kellam, and I never gave any other school a second thought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My three brothers and I attended Kellam spaced out 15 years. My niece and nephew attended Kellam and the next 5 cousins will attend Kellam. This was no accident. Families are paying top dollar for homes in this district to get tier kids into the surrounding schools. The zip code 23456 was rated the most expensive homes in Hampton Roads per square foot. This tells the whole story. I moved away to another city in Hampton Roads and decided to move back into the area. It took us almost 6 months to buy a home in the district that we could afford. Kellam is one of the oldest schools in the area but has the most history. Its located in the municipal area and the police station is half a mile away so yes it probably is the safest school in Virginia Beach. Go Knights!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2006

Kellam is a great school which has many admirable qualities. The involvement of students and the parents is amazing and every sporting event no matter how insignificant always draws a good crowd. Kellam's greatest asset is the family atmosphere that it creates where students, teacher, and parents bond together to form lasting relationships that benefit everyone. If you son or daughter can attend Kellam I would greatly recommend it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2006

Top school in Virginia beach All sports and music programs Attendance policy 7 strikes you fail
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

It's my last year at Kellam and I wouldn't go anywhere else. Sure, parking is horrible, but it's a priviledge. And yes it's crowded and trying to weave through the crowds of kids in the hallway can be frustrating, but I still love it. It's safe, friendly, and fun. People love to give Kellam a bad reputation because it's over forty years old and supposedly 'run down,' but it is far from it. Out of eleven schools in Virginia Beach, Kellam is the most requested school for kids to attend that are out of the Kellam district. That says something. Wonderful school. I hope my kids will go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2004

Kellam is a ok school. Thier is alot of people hanging out in the hallways between classes which makes it even more worse because the school is so over croweded. They have to use alot of portables to. The parking lot is crazy after school. Cops have to guid the trafic. They is also some crime in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2004

Kellam high has a safe learning environment,the teachers and staff seem to really care about their students, the students seem very happy to attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

Kellam is a large school but it has a family atmosphere. The teachers and administrators are very friendly and involved in the student's academic and personal lives. The school is safe and has many extracurricular activities in which the students may participate. The facility is among the oldest, but it is clean, well lit, and has been remodeled. I would send my son again if the opportunity arose.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students58%
Female students63%
Male students54%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial55%
White students59%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%

Algebra II

All Students76%
Female students77%
Male students76%
Black students68%
Asian students93%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial79%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Biology

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students89%
Black students74%
Asian students88%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial89%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Chemistry

All Students87%
Female students85%
Male students90%
Black students69%
Asian students93%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial95%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Earth Science

All Students83%
Female students81%
Male students84%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black students86%
Asian students100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial96%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students92%
Female students95%
Male students90%
Black students74%
Asian students100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial92%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Geometry

All Students80%
Female students79%
Male students81%
Black students44%
Asian students75%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial76%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students86%
Female students81%
Male students92%
Black students84%
Asian students83%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial85%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

World Geography

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

World History I

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students86%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracial95%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

World History II

All Students81%
Female students75%
Male students87%
Black students52%
Asian students88%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial72%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Bruce A. Biehl
Fax number
  • (757) 427-6265

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2323 Holland Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Landstown High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Advanced Technology Center
Virginia Beach, VA



Ocean Lakes High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Green Run High School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT