Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Floyd Kellam High School 1

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
There is no accountability for behavior. There is too much drugs going in and not enough graduates going out .

Floyd Kellam High School 5

Posted June 05, 2009
- a parent
My third child is getting ready to enter Kellam and I have every reason to believe her experience will be just as wonderful as her two brothers currently attending. My oldest is a junior in all honors/ap classes and doing dual enrollment at TCC. He has been encouraged and challenged every step of the way. My middle child is just an 'average' student but he too is getting all the attention, help and encouragement he needs from this wonderful staff. I would say whatever your child needs he/she will get at Kellam. Our experience as a family there has been exceptional.


Floyd Kellam High School 5

Posted December 30, 2008
- a parent
I now have two sons at Kellam and I have to say that compared with friends who have children at other high schools, Kellam is EXCELLENT! My older son is in honors/ap classes and excels and my younger son needed a little motivation, which he is definitely getting there!

Floyd Kellam High School 1

Posted December 11, 2008
- a student
Kellam high school is the worst school in the district . The administrators & staff are not the best around. Everything about to this school is ridiculous!

Floyd Kellam High School
no rating

Posted August 16, 2008
- a parent
Kellman is the best!My son enrolled in June 08. He is in the Marching Band and very happy and motivated. Just what he was lacking. Mr. Parker Thanks You have hepl my son become motivated again. We were from New York city, I have seen too many students drop from NYC high school. Kellam is the best.


Floyd Kellam High School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2008
- a community member
I am a graduate of Kellam ('07). I was an average student when I was a freshman, but I grew to be an outstanding student because of Kellam's faculty. They do push students to exceed the norm. For the student who get less than average grades it's not because of the school. It more likely falls on the shoulders of the student. The resorces are there for all students to succeed, but IT IS THE STUDENT who must reach out and use them. For instance, the first two years of english are dedicated to learning how to use these resorces. The next two years, which are also the most important years, the teachers will back off to let the students teach themselves how to be independant; in learning as well as in life. As a college student today I can reassure you that college has been less difficult thanks to kellam!

Floyd Kellam High School 2

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
Believe this to be a sub-par high school. Perhaps the reason why it is the only VaBch High School not to make this year's Newsweek's top High School list. You will likely read great comments about this school from parents of students who do well. If you have an average student, this is not the environment to excel. AP students get a lot of attention, but the reality is that those students would likely exceed without teacher involvement. I was a college professor. It was always tempting to concentrate on the high achievers and feel good about myself. However, that is not the job of the educator. Inspiring the average to achieve superior results should be the norm. Sadly, that is not the case at Kellam.

Floyd Kellam High School
no rating

Posted May 25, 2008
- a parent
My son attends Kellam High and loves it!! It is the best high school in Hampton Roads by far! I'm so glad we could afford a home in this school district!


Floyd Kellam High School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
Kellam High School was once described by many parents as Va. Beach's 'Best Kept Secret'. It is no longer a secret that this high school is by far the best at the beach. Go Knights!

Floyd Kellam High School 4

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
I am a Kellam graduate. I moved out of district, but moved back to raise a family. My son graduated from Kellam, and my daughter will graduate from Kellam, and I never gave any other school a second thought.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Floyd Kellam High School
2665 West Neck Road, Virginia Beach, VA  23456
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (757) 648-5400
Last modified Floyd Kellam High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top