Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Great Neck Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1096 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

Great School. I really like how each grade is split up into levels so the children are not being taught at the lowest common denominator level. Advanced children are able to excel and be challenged. I am a Realtor and know this is the most sought after school district for good reason. I read one review from a parent that complained they were not contacted when their child was experiencing trouble. First of all, they shouldn't have to, you the parent should be involved. If you are helping or checking homework, you would know, not to mention, the parent portal website that allows you to see all of your childs quiz and test scores. I also receive an email every day telling me what my childs homework is for the night. How much more can you ask for? It is a school, don't rely on it to raise your child for you! As for another comment stating not enough kids make the sports teams, I'm not sure that is a bad thing. It's a competition and kids need to learn they won't always win and life doesn't hand out participation awards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

This is a great school by all means and my daughter enjoys going to school everyday .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

My student is now in the 8th grade and has attended for two and half years. Great Neck Middle School is an excellent school with a staff that pushes students and guids them towards excellence as well as achieving individual goals. The sports activities are great, coaches are infuential and encouraging. Great learning enviroment. Since attending GNMS my student has recieved Honor Roll each grading period!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

The new school is amazing. The kids just moved into a beautiful high tech school. The community is very affluent and sometime you can see it in the students. The teachers are compassionate and well educated. Education is a priority at this school and students are driven to perform. The only complaint I can say about the school is that since it is new the students have little freedom. There are more students then opportunity to participate in sports or other activities. We went to tryouts and there were more people cut than accepted. It appears the school could use more than one level of each team. BTW: We love it here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

My child is in 7th grade and we are a military family that moves alot. My kids have been in the DoD schools and have been doing good, but now that they have started here at GNMS my childs grades have went to B,C and D's to all A's. The teachers are very involved in helping the students at GNMS. They believe in their students and that made my kids believe in themselfs too. Thank you GNMS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I would say the middle school is average, but above average for most of Virginia Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

I am a Great Neck student and I believe it is the best school out there. I have been fortunate to have some wonderful teachers. If you are going to have a student go to Great Neck for the sixth grade, then be sure to request the orca team. the teachers have worked together for about30 years and really know how to teach it is hands on and a blast. Our school's Student Council Association is also one of the best and is sponsored by the ever popular Mrs. Lyons. Also the electives are great rongly suggest Spanish with Sra. Temoche. She is funny and a wonderful teacher. It does have its downfalls, but great neck is the best midle schhol at the beach!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2006

GNMS does not live up to it's hype. This is an average school at best. Being a military family returning from overseas I would rather see my child in a DODDS school over this one. The teasing is terrible from both military kids and civilian kids. The coaches are concerned with winning and not giving everyone a chance to play. Some of the teachers are extremely fair while others will let your child be in a failing status without contacting you or leaving it up to the child to tell you they are in trouble with their grades. Anyone with a teenager knows this is a recipe for disaster. If you are searching for a place to live and think this is a perfect school for child then you should know it is only an average school; I didn't have enough word count to mention everything we experienced at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

I am the parent of soon to be sixth and seventh graders at Great neck Middle School. Fortunately for us, this school isn't the most horrible one we've come across in our transfers and travels, but it certainly does have it's downfalls. I expected much more from this school, and am by no means impressed with them on an overall level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

I am currently attending sixth grade at Great Neck Middle School and I love it. My teachers are all nice and I am learning a lot. We learn by doing fun things. Like right now we are currently doing a play for the Shakespeare festival and I am learning a lot about his writings. The electives are my favorites because you get to chose what you want to learn about and not what you have too. I love Great Neck and wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2005

Great Neck is a good school, but if you have a child going there or are going yourself, be aware that it has a ton of cliques, and the cliques WILL single you out. Some teachers are extremely involved, while others are not, and the students are often usually given the FULL blame of their downfall in grades. These are only the negatives of Great Neck, it is, however, an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2005

Right now I am an 8th grader attending Great Neck Middle. I don't think this school has a very good teachers. Too many teachers so much favoritism, and the school needs to be more racially balanced. Lots of kids get teased and joked at school and not everyone gets equal punishment. One kid may chew gum in class and get a detention and another kid may chew gum in class and just get a warning. So overall I think Great Neck needs to improve their staff, and fairness to the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I am currently an 8th grader, rising 9th grader at GNMS. I transfered here recently. VA beach schools are not very good schools to be honest. On my first day here at GNMS, I saw a few kids using drugs, mainly narcotics. I found it shocking. My advice, as a kid who actually goes to the school, if you have a choice, avoid VA beach schools at all costs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2004

I am not a parent-Currently I am a rising 9th grader to soon go to Cox. I love GNMS. The teachers are great they really try to get to know there students and help them if they have a problem. Those teachers have helped some very bright students go as far as they can and some are even going to the IB program at Princess Anne. Great Teachers. Great Extra Curriculars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

Overcrowded; make no accomodations for ADHD kids without parents making a major issue about it, and even then it's not done well. We finally home schooled our child because her 7th grade experience was so horrible at GN. We plan to send our son to another middle school in the area and avoid GN at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2003

I'm not a parent but a past student. The school is a very good one. The teachers are first rate and do care about the childen. Word to the wise though, Great Neck is very cliche so encourage involvement in some extra curricular activity so that your child doesn't get left out.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students88%
Male students80%
Black students72%
Asian students93%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial89%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students88%
Female students93%
Male students83%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial95%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students89%
Black students66%
Asian students100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial82%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students76%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial88%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students85%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial71%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students81%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial80%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students85%
Female students81%
Male students88%
Black students88%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial73%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students89%
Female students83%
Male students94%
Black students69%
Asian students91%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial82%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Female students99%
Male students95%
Black students94%
Asian students93%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial93%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English97%

Geometry

All Students99%
Female students98%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Eugene F. Soltner
Fax number
  • (757) 496-6774

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1848 North Great Neck Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cape Henry Collegiate School
Virginia Beach, VA


Lynnhaven Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Baylake Pines School
Virginia Beach, VA


Independence Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Open Door Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT