Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Great Neck Middle School 5

Posted July 17, 2014
- a community member
Hello. I attended Great Neck Middle School this past school year. I love this school so much. I lived out of the country for a few years, so it was a bit difficult to adapt again, just like in any other school. At first, I didn't know anybody, but teachers welcomed me with open arms, students are very nice, too. I have found many new friends, which I am very thankful for. This was my last year in this amazing school, but I will miss it very much. There are many great after-school activities, I have not tried any out, but I have heard they are very nice. I really love this school.

Great Neck Middle School 5

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
Great School. I really like how each grade is split up into levels so the children are not being taught at the lowest common denominator level. Advanced children are able to excel and be challenged. I am a Realtor and know this is the most sought after school district for good reason. I read one review from a parent that complained they were not contacted when their child was experiencing trouble. First of all, they shouldn't have to, you the parent should be involved. If you are helping or checking homework, you would know, not to mention, the parent portal website that allows you to see all of your childs quiz and test scores. I also receive an email every day telling me what my childs homework is for the night. How much more can you ask for? It is a school, don't rely on it to raise your child for you! As for another comment stating not enough kids make the sports teams, I'm not sure that is a bad thing. It's a competition and kids need to learn they won't always win and life doesn't hand out participation awards.


Great Neck Middle School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school by all means and my daughter enjoys going to school everyday .

Great Neck Middle School 5

Posted February 09, 2013
- a parent
My student is now in the 8th grade and has attended for two and half years. Great Neck Middle School is an excellent school with a staff that pushes students and guids them towards excellence as well as achieving individual goals. The sports activities are great, coaches are infuential and encouraging. Great learning enviroment. Since attending GNMS my student has recieved Honor Roll each grading period!

Great Neck Middle School 4

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
The new school is amazing. The kids just moved into a beautiful high tech school. The community is very affluent and sometime you can see it in the students. The teachers are compassionate and well educated. Education is a priority at this school and students are driven to perform. The only complaint I can say about the school is that since it is new the students have little freedom. There are more students then opportunity to participate in sports or other activities. We went to tryouts and there were more people cut than accepted. It appears the school could use more than one level of each team. BTW: We love it here!!!


Great Neck Middle School 3

Posted June 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Great Neck Middle School 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
My child is in 7th grade and we are a military family that moves alot. My kids have been in the DoD schools and have been doing good, but now that they have started here at GNMS my childs grades have went to B,C and D's to all A's. The teachers are very involved in helping the students at GNMS. They believe in their students and that made my kids believe in themselfs too. Thank you GNMS!!

Great Neck Middle School 3

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
I would say the middle school is average, but above average for most of Virginia Beach.


Great Neck Middle School 4

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Great Neck Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 27, 2008
- a student
I am a Great Neck student and I believe it is the best school out there. I have been fortunate to have some wonderful teachers. If you are going to have a student go to Great Neck for the sixth grade, then be sure to request the orca team. the teachers have worked together for about30 years and really know how to teach it is hands on and a blast. Our school's Student Council Association is also one of the best and is sponsored by the ever popular Mrs. Lyons. Also the electives are great rongly suggest Spanish with Sra. Temoche. She is funny and a wonderful teacher. It does have its downfalls, but great neck is the best midle schhol at the beach!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Great Neck Middle School
1848 North Great Neck Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23454
(757) 648-4550
Last modified Great Neck Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Great Neck Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews.