Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hermitage Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 660 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 14, 2014

My kids currently attend this school and I am not impressed. They went to Kempsville Elementay before here, and this school has nothing on them. Kempsville was warm and inviting. Kempsville felt like a family and I feel like that is important. The PTA here has nothing on Kempsville. The PTA doesn't do much. Dad's were a lot more involved at Kempsville. They even had a special PTA for them. I can go on and on. I don't even want to get started on the teachers. All I'm saying is that the rating doesn't always mean much and now I know this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Worst school ever! if your child has an IEP. Assistant Principal has poor ethical skills, so some of the staff too. Lack of support, always complaining about the child. The teachers assistances are poorly prepare to work with children. A five star school is strong in every area, this school has deficiencies that need to be address in order to be a five star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

I have 2 children attending Hermitage a 1st and 4th grade and so far I couldn't be more happier. The kids love the school and teachers. Overall this school is involved with their students receiving a great education. The teachers and stuff keep the parents informed . Being a military family and moving around so much I was a bit nervous but the kids have settled in fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

My daughter went to a very highly rated preschool for 2 years prior to going into kindergarten at Hermitage. On her first quarter report card, she met grade level expectations and had no concerns. Well, she received her first progress report and it wasn't good. Second quarter report card remarks went down, 2nd progress report down. I asked the teacher is there anything I can do/need to know. She said, she needs to work on counting down from 10. Well, stuck with the school and in the last two weeks of school, she formed/wrote a complete 3 word sentence. Should have pulled her out after the 1st quarter. She has no learning disabilities and has excelled in music and is doing much better in private school (1st, 2nd grade). Of course, the private school's academic work is well above Hermitage. I think she would have been fine at Thoroughgood, but we were not zoned for there. Would work 2 jobs to afford private just so she wouldn't have to attend H. I would be weary of sending my child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

The current principal, teachers, and other school officials are jokes when it comes to knowing how to solve problems. I have personally witnessed them all stand by while children are being bullied. How many adults does it take to stop a 7 year old boy from bullying? If you are afraid for your child's safety. Please do not send them to HES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

This school is wonderful. There are great teachers & the assistant principal is quick to handle disciplinary problems. However, there are a few teachers that need to move on f they can't handle how children act. Children are not perfect and they should not be punished for every little thing. Definetly needs to be more parent involvement in the school & PTA. Volunteers are so few & far between that they burn out the ones that do volunteer. Lots of military families & they are great about transitioning them into the school. Good communication between teachers and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

I have a son who has an IEP, and we have never had any problems with the staff. Infact, they have gone out of their way to help with both of my children. Both of my childrens teachers are in constant contact with us, and they also send regular updates so we know what is going on and what to expect. Overall, I am very satified with this school as are my neighbors whose children attend this school. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good school. Not to mention that they are a school that is ahead of the learning curve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I had a child attend HES with an IEP. The lack of support that was given was astounding. Many of the teachers would pick him out and treat him horribly over the course of three years that he attended. I was very unhappy with the Teaching staff as well as the office staff (Principles). After putting up with this for three years I moved from the are just to change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

my son goes there and there is not one negative thing i can say about this school...education he is receiving here has yet to be anything but extrordinary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

My son attended H.E.S. last year. This is a great school that has great teachers. The only thing I have to say that is negative is that they ask for a lot of donations. The PTA was fun and they had a lot of activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

My children have been to 3 different schools since they started school and Hermitage is by far the best. They are awesome with understanding the stresses on Navy families and they provide a supportive atmosphere for children whose parents are out to sea, provides support groups, and they want all their students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

Academically, my child has never had a problem with H.E.S. There were some teachers that would pick him out in his classes for whatever reason and he would be made their scapegoat for the rest of the year, but academically he never had a problem. He has been attended H.E.S. since 2nd grade and will graduate this year and has been on the Honor Roll every year. He's recommended for all honors courses in middle school and I attribute that to what H.E.S. has taught him. My only complaint is the scapegoat issue, but I think it only made him work harder to prove them wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I have been at hermitage for 6 years and I think they failed horribly! I wish I would have moved along time ago. they are great if you already have a straight A student, but forget about a child who struggles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

Im a rising 6th grade student and i have been going to Hermitage since kindergarden! Im really sad i have to go to middle school because H.E.S. was so great. There were so much encouragement for our SOLs! The one thing i did not like was the favoritism to the kids with a parent who is very active in the PTA.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2005

My kids have gone to Hermitage for over 5 years. They are truly the most dedicated individuals I have ever met. Hermitage is one of the best elementary schools in Virginia Beach. The children are treated with the utmost respect and have a wonderful and challenging learning environment. I consider my children to be very lucky to have their elementary school years spent with the Hermitage family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

The school did not do well for special needs children. The parents often felt their children were a burden to the school for many reasons. The principal was not well liked among the teachers, students or parents for her syle of mangement and people skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

As a parent of a first time Hermitage Student with an IEP I am extremely disappointed. We moved only part of our family back to this area for school because we felt it was better for her. I feel that moving here for a better school was not what I got. It took months to get anyone to listen to what I was saying about my child. They didn't seem to want to help or comprehend what I was saying. Very disconcerting that they feel the children are 'different' and they need less attention than the students with above average attitudes and grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Initially, I was very hesitant about the school. Only because my children were already attending an academic challenging school. However, on my first visit to Hermitage (during the summer break-01') I met the PTA president. She was very kind, warm hearted, and had a positive attitude. She assured me that I would be very happy with the staff and how committed they are to the students. Her sincerity, and strong support of the teachers and there genuine commitment to teaching the students convinced me that this school would be a positive transition for my children. And I must say I have been very pleased with the results. I thank the staff at Hermitage because of there warmth, and commitment toward helping and teaching every student. And this is what seperates you from the your surrounding schools. Thank you for working hard to educate all of your students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students98%
Male students89%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students78%
Female students75%
Male students82%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students96%
Female students98%
Male students95%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students95%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students95%
Black students91%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students74%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

English: Writing

All Students78%
Female students82%
Male students74%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students80%
Female students89%
Male students69%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students80%
Female students79%
Male students80%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 Pleasure House Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Baylake Pines School
Virginia Beach, VA


Luxford Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Old Donation Center
Virginia Beach, VA


Bayside Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT