Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Virginia Beach, VA

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kempsville High School 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Kempsville High School has been a great school for my daughter! She is always working at the top of her academic game, honors classes as well as, AP courses that challenge her and keep her driven. The courses offered are exactly what she needs to be successful and is on track for college. The Drama program is excellent and she has found a new 'family' in this club, and it is wonderful to have such supportive people surrounding her through her high school journey. It is a wonderful school with people who care and work hard!

Kempsville High School 5

Posted May 26, 2014
- a parent
Really one of the strongest schools in Virginia Beach. Thie is more a middle-america school than the wealthy higher-per-capita income areas of Va Beach especially 23451 & 23454 zip codes. Band program is really good plus athletics. AP courses are oustanding & the Virginia college prep is super good. Kempsville is a small town atmosphere in a big city.


Kempsville High School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are experts in their subjects and truly enjoy the art of teaching. They have an incredible ability to relate to the students and bring the subject alive.

Kempsville High School 1

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
When it comes to discipline at Kempsville rules are arbitrary. Rules for being tardy are not defined at all and punishments that are listed are in direct contradiction with actual punishments. The administration is disrespectful. I may be old fashioned, but I resent being addressed by my first name when I have already introduced myself with my professional title. When visiting the school I have overheard the administration and some teachers not only yelling at students for minor offenses, they also belittle them. The environment is so negative I have chosen to take my child out of the system and home school him.

Kempsville High School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a community member
I currently go to Kempsville high and despite what most people think, it truly is a wonderful school. Since it is so small, one of the smallest student bodies in VBPS system, it's fairly peaceful. There are fights every now and then but no more, if not less, than any other high school. The teachers and staff are truly one of a kind. Many of the staff members have either attended Kempsville previously or are related to someone who has. It's one of the things I love most about Kempsville. Also since we have such a small student to teacher ratio, the student gets a chance to connect with their teacher. And the teachers spend a large deal of the time trying to help that student whenever they can. Kempsville is a wonderful school, and once your here, you'll always feel like a chief.


Kempsville High School 2

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
This school has gone down hill since 2004. The band has went from awesome and one of the best, to almost non-existent. Some teachers have been there too long and their skills to keep the student's attention is lacking. Almost weekly a fight will break out and the security guards take their good ol' time breaking them up. The other students, who seem to have no morals, video tape the fights also. And don't forget to lock up all your belongings, because if you don't, it may not be there after class.

Kempsville High School 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Great Teachers and Staff. Principal is involved. Up to date with technology for both the students and parents.

Kempsville High School 2

Posted November 20, 2010
- a student
The kids in this school are intolerant, disrespectful, rude, and above all, unmotivated so the school environment isn't something to boast about. However, there are some academic opportunities you can snatch if you go here - for example, there are challenging AP courses you can take, which will benefit you if you consider going to a good college.


Kempsville High School 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a parent
I have three children and all have attended Kempsville schools. I love them all. The teachers truly care about the children both acedemically and personally. There is a absolute no tolerance pollicy for bullying. There is so many activities for your child at this school, sports, arts, political groups, music etc. Tehy offer AP classes, Honor classes , clases at Advanced Technology school at the TCC campus. This school turns out well educated, well respected students.

Kempsville High School 3

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kempsville High School
5194 Chief Trail, Virginia Beach, VA  23464
(757) 648-5450
Last modified Kempsville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kempsville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top