Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Kempsville Meadows Elementary has been a great school for my kids! The teachers and Administration are great! I like that if I have a concern, I can easily get the attention of who I need to talk to without a problem. I love that they are trying to focus on kids doing the right things, and rewarding good behavior!

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
One of the Habits of Mind that they are working on is diligence. Each month at the cub of the month awards there are lots of them about the students working diligently to accomplish things.


Kempsville Meadows Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
The counselor is always working with the students on their Habits of Mind! The students are always being reminded and encouraged to use the things they have learned.

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
KMES is a great school! Staff and teachers are great and really care about the kids. The PTA is involved and is always looking for ways to get parents involved. Would highly recommend KMES!!!

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a community member
It all starts at the top. This school has great administrators that truly care about the students. This positivity trickles down to the teachers and then the students. The upfront staff are amazing. In just one or two visits they already knew my name and who I was there for. I am so pleased that my grandson is able to go to this school. He has made many great friends that live in the neighborhood. All good kids that we like him to associate with. After struggling last year in a different school, he made honor roll the first grading period of the year. Although he has not held this honor all year, he is learning in a positive environment with a teacher he and I both adore. Teacher has control over class yet the kids dont feel stiffled. I give this school a big THUMBS UP!


Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a community member
I was here in when fourth 4th grade thats when i moved i have been there sice kindergarden i was deastated this sschool is very awesome!!!!! trust me all the teachers are very nice and students!! i would recomend this school for any children!!!!!

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2009
- a parent
This is our third year of having a student at KMES and we are very pleased overall. The building is clean and attractive. The office staff is friendly and security is excellent--don't even try to walk the hallways without signing in, or you will be stopped! The three teachers my children have had have been responsive, communicative, and professional at all times. Parents at the school could be much more involved, but then again the PTA could be less cliquey. I think there is some frustration on both sides there. The PTA has been effective in adding new extracurricular activities such as after-school tennis and family nights, and KMES is one of the few non-magnet schools to have its own Destination Imagination program. Principal Daughtry is a good principal but could do more toward fostering school spirit and a tight sense of community identity--about the only thing that KMES lacks.

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
I am the parent of a first grader at KMES and I must say that I have been very pleased in the way they have culivated my child's talents. A much better fit for him than his last school.


Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has attended KMES since first grade and she'll be starting fifth grade this year. She's had incredible teachers every year. The teachers have always made themselves very available any time I wanted to discuss my daughter's performance with them. Unlike the other parent, I haven't seen any preferential treatment given to the children of PTA board members. (My daughter has won several awards and I'm not a board member.) The school does appreciate, and encourages, parent involvement. I regret that we're being transferred before my younger daughter has a chance to attend Kempsville Meadows Elementary!

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School 4

Posted February 21, 2007
- a parent
KMES is a really good school. The teachers are friendly and it is a safe environment. There is a stress on the SOL's every year, but every Virginia school does. This school does extremely well on their SOL's because they spend the last 6 weeks of the school year reviewing and practicing for them. The kids get homework every night with practice tests during this time period. The PTA is very active in the school. So much so that if your on the PTA committee your child will get preferential treatment ex., placement in a classroom with the best teacher for that grade level, winning school wide writing/drawing contests, being chosen for citizen of the month, etc. There are some major conflicts of interest. If you can get past these issues, it is a very good school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kempsville Meadows Elementary School
736 Edwin Dr, Virginia Beach, VA  23462
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (757) 474-8435
Last modified Kempsville Meadows Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top