Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lynnhaven Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 506 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Lynnhaven Elementary School is outstanding with an outstanding team lead by Katherine Everett, Principal. Ms Everett is simply amazing and a godsend and we were blessed that Ethan got to attend kindergarten and get his school years off to an outstanding start! Ethan would tell me on many occasions that Ms. Everett loved him and was his friend. Thank you Mrs. Everett and Lynnhaven Elementary staff. You will always be remembered and never forgotten! God Bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Lynnhaven is a place where student achievement certainly begins with building relationships. The Administration can be seen each morning greeting our students. Mrs. Everett is outside as the students enter the school building, while Mrs. Yoakam is outside greeting students as they get off the buses. I admire the way Ms. Walston is in the bus loop with her Pom-poms each morning cheering with such enthsiam, as the students are dropped off to start their day of learning. The parents drive off confidently knnowing that their child is in a safe and loving environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2013

Why I Love Lynnhaven Elementary? Hello .My name is Dr. Robert Ziegler and I wanted to explain to you why I love Lynnhaven Elementary School. That question is easy for me to answer. Lynnhaven has been a great asset to my two daughters and my grandson. But the school has been so much more to the people in the community. It has been an excellent learning institution that has provided the utmost educational standards for VA. The faculty and staff always show how much they really care for the well being of the students and they treat each other as a Family . It s nice to know that your child(ren) can go to school and feel safe, secured and loved. The school has have community involvement where parents, teachers and the students become better for our future. With all of us working together as a unity this shows our students that when we work together we can accomplish anything. This is just some of the reasons why I love Lynnhaven Elementary School.


Posted September 29, 2013

My grandson attends and this school is wonderful. Teachers are enthusiastic, the school is beautiful inside and every day my grandson is excited about going to school. On the mornings when I drop him off, all of the teachers say hello and show their caring. His teacher, Mrs Riddick , has everything under control in the classroom and he is learning so much every day.


Posted September 25, 2013

The faculty here are very friendly & enthusiastic. They have created a wonderful learning environment for the children & have many afterschool activites to keep the parents & community involved with their school! Lynnhaven Elementary is a great place to learn!


Posted September 24, 2013

La escula de mi ni a es la mejor, su equipo de trabajo es muy eficiente y muy amable. Esta muy limpia y a mi hija le encanta, en tan poco tiempo ya a aprendido muchas cosas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My school is filled with awesome teachers and students. This year our school's theme is "In It to Win It With Student Achievement" and our learners and their families have started the year off with a winner's mindset. When we held our Sneak Peek, it was a huge success. When we hosted Grandparents Day, it was a hit and our Open House was standing room only! Each student received a Take Home Library (a crate with a free book) to start their home library collection this year. I am thrilled to be a Lynnhaven Lion! My favorite part of the day is being on morning duty with my pom- poms, greeting the students as their parents drop them off each day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2013

My children both attend Lynnhaven Elementary. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. They make my children as well as myself feel right at home. They also hold high standards and make it obvious that they do everything to be sure all students are successful. academically and with extra-curricula activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I love my daughter's Elementary School because it displays true concern for the student as a person, a student and future leader. It instills values in the children to want to be successful in all areas of their lives. 'Once a Lion, Always a Lion' is the motto that many alumni still prove worthy today. my daughter cam from a series of abusive events throughout her preschool years; at Lynnhaven, they see this and assist in removing the past scars. When she started kindergarten, she was apprehensive about letting anyone get into her 'circle' now she is surraounded by a circle of loving, caring , concerned staff who want to see her be the best that she can be. She has favor with the teachers, students and friends she has made during her enrollment and has become well equipped to handle most, if not all, situations inside and out side of the school house. I love Lynnhaven Elementary because of their compassion for the student and family. Please consider them for this reward; it is well deserved. Fullfilling a legacy of leaders, it has my vote.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

I think the school is good, not great. My son has been growing up with Developmental Delay and since we have moved from Chesapeake to Virginia Beach, I've noticed that I'm not getting the same amount of communication from the teachers. I have to agree with another parent; my sons teacher has not made me aware of his problems at school. I wasn't aware of the fact that he was tested again for his DD. The teacher asked me last week if he had gone off medication. I thought that was very insulting. I have met with many doctors and other teachers and no one thought he has ADHD. He's not hyper at all, he can concentrate better at home, because he doesn't tolerate too much noise. I wish they wouldn't judge him like that...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

Everyone at this school takes the time to get to know the children personally and it makes me feel like my child is safe and he is also learning a lot at this school. I plan to keep him in this school even after I move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

I transferred my daughter here when we moved into the district though I culd have kept her at her other school Plaza Elem. I liked the year round but Lynnhaven offered more for her. The teachers, staff everyone has been wonderful. She is now getting the help I had been fighting to get at her other school. And it was not a fight, everyone wanted to make sure she ahd the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

Lynnhaven Elementary has done an excellent job of caring for my son who does have additional educational needs (physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy). We had been at another Virginia Beach school last year and didn't get the results we've had this year. The communication between teachers/staff and parents is good too. There are other programs available in school through the guidance department to help children adjust to a new school, make friends, be a better listener, and much more. The first grade staff has gone above and beyond with providing us with tools we need to ensure our son's continued academic success. We are very happy with all the aspects of the cirrculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

This school needs to be able to accommodate the extremely bright as well as the children who need extra help. my child is bored and unchallenged. Teachers and staff do not communicate with parents. We were not even made aware of an award ceremony my daughter received an award at!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

l salute Mrs. Yoakam for doing a wonderfull job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

I found this school to be fantastic. My boys recieved the extra attention they deserved from there teachers. They were not bored or unhappy at this school, and they loved attending. My boys also want me to mention their lunches here are very nutritional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

I wish the school had some accelerated classes for individuals who get bored with some material. There are lots of activities for students to do. I do wish though, teachers had a little more involvement individually with the students. Maybe, even students different learning styles. We do not all learn the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This school is wonderful! We were a bit worried because of the area but the this is our second year there and we wouldn't change. I think we're better off here than at a private school. Hats off to Principal Mrs. Hayes for doing such a great job. You can tell the staff there is truely passionate about teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students73%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students70%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students68%
Male students79%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students63%
Female students53%
Male students76%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students68%
Male students80%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

English: Writing

All Students60%
Female students60%
Male students59%
Black students33%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%

Math

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students79%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students70%
Female students60%
Male students79%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Katherine R. Everett
Fax number
  • (757) 431-4634

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 Dillon Dr
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Open Door Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA



Malibu Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Brookwood Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT