Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newtown Elementary School

Public | 2-3 | 472 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2011

My 2nd grader and 3rd grader goes to newtown elem. They both love it and so do I. They really embrace involved parents. They have a well kept campus and involved teachers and principle. They focus on teaching the children leadership by teaching public speaking and thinking before you act. They incorporate "7 habits of highly effective children" The school always has family nights and events oging on throughout the year to help parents and children and teachers work as a team for the benefit of our children I am a very pleased parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

If you want a school that's dedicated to the lowest possible acceptable standard, rewards students with "honor roll" for having 70-79pt Cs, and will brainwash your child with "The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People," then Newtown is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

I think any problems this school has are directly related to the students. The facility is gorgeous and pristine; the equipment is up-to-date and well-utilized; the teaching staff is superb! That being said, my child has had considerable trouble with bullying and the tiresome, ad nauseum repetition of even the simplest lesson plans. Parents, please HELP your kids. This helps your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

My 3rd grader loves this school. She has been at the tri-campus since kindergarten and we have not had any problems. We have had wonderful teachers evry year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

The sad thing is that these reviews are quite old. Newtown Elementary is a diverse student-centered culture where I would be proud to place my own child. It has evolved into what I would consider one of the best schools in the beach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2007

My daughter started this school recently and I have to say that this is a horrible school. They do not know how to occupy the kids with things. they call me all the time about the smallest things and I am like wow, you called me for that. I plan on transfering my kid once the year is up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Since coming to Newtown Road Elementary, I have found it to be a very inviting school. The staff and students are both welcoming. the programs go above and beyond what I have seen at other schools. The SOL night that is held each year is a true extravaganza! Students needs are met ech day by kind, compassionate teachers. Teachers are always willing to go the extra mile and stay late for student events and programs. They are also always willing to give all they have for a student in need.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 7, 2005

I have a niece and nephew who attend Newtown Road Elementary. They Love it there! They have many caring and wonderful teachers who always look out for them. The Teachers are Outstanding! The School has many great programs for the students like math night, SOL night, afterschool tutoring, and Early Discoveries. The teachers go out of their way to make science come alive with hands on activities. The Teachers often buy additional supplies for the students because parents can't do so. I am very fortunate that my niece and nephew have such a wonderful and safe place to learn. My hat goes off to you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

This school is HORTIBLE! I cant believe they are still allowed to teach! Teachers are rude and loud, very brass. They even stand up on the stage with a microphone pointing individuals out to be quiet! It's very disturbing. My son was threatened with his life - in KINDERGARTEN! Nothing was done - how sad is this? This school has an extremely high percentage of kids receiving free/reduced meals - this only shows that the area is in poverty. Nothing wrong with that but does the school need to act like it? This school is about as ghetto as they come. It is THE worst school I have ever been a part of and am VERY ashamed my boys had to go there for one year. BEWARE, VIOLENCE IS PREVELANT HERE! Teachers are cold & callus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I feel as if some of the teachers just don't care about the children they are teaching. Last year my six year old daughter had some of her supplies stolen when she told the teacher who it was that has been taking her things the teacher said well you need to work it out on your own, as if she was an adult. Plus when I contacted the school no one ever called me back or responed to my letters. Thankfully a new teacher came in after the holidays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2004

There are teachers with attitudes. I had to fight hard to get the extra help needed to help my son. The more I showed up at school, the tougher they got on my son. I feel his teacher is stressed out and unhappy, with this combination, how can a child learn? I feel as though I have to be a full time teacher at home in order for my son to be successful in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

205 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students86%
Male students80%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students80%
Female students78%
Male students82%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black students87%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lavern Chatman
Fax number
  • (757) 493-5461

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5277 Learning Circle
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-3120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hebrew Academy Of Tidewater
Virginia Beach, VA


The Renaissance Academy
Virginia Beach, VA



St Gregory The Great School
Virginia Beach, VA


Kempsville Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT