Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Landing Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 523 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2013

My grandchild has been at NLES for three years. I've been so impressed with all the care and concern from all the teachers. Before this she was in a private school in NOVA and it was a real disappointment. I hate to leave this school and all the wonderful people that make it so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

My daughter is in the 4th grade and has attended this school since kindergarten and loves it. So far all of her teachers are very involved and understand the special needs of military families. Academics are some of the best in the state and it shows in the SOL scores. I've lived in Northern Virginia and the parent / teacher interaction here is much more personal and they are genuinely interested in the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

my grandchildren go to North Landing and enjoy the teachers and the school. The teachers take the time to teach the kids.


Posted February 29, 2008

Our family has been extremely pleased with the teachers and leadership within North Landing Elementary School. The school counselor, Mrs. Boocks, has assisted our family through deployments (with special children-of-deployed parents groups) and family illness. The teachers have presented material in a challenging and creative way; they are also an extremely caring group of professionals. One of my children has required extra assistance in math and reading. The afterschool tutor clubs were fun, and my child was not made to feel embarassed or inferior for attending. Ms. Barkey was wonderful in assisting my child in reading. My other child, yet not old enough for the gifted classes, is challenged in the classroom and encouraged to be a creative and analytical thinker. We've had many exceptional teachers! The students in this school also have attentive and involved parents . Overall, my children have thrived at this fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Having moved here from a school system with many programs I was disappointed by the lack of them at this school. There are no clubs, after school activities or study groups. The academic programs are average, but lacking compared to the schools in Fairfax County, where we lived before. I have a special needs son and have had to fight for some of his services, and feel the have done the bare minimum for him. Parent involvement is very large here. The PTA is at 100% and parents are involved with fundraisers and volunteering. Don't get me wrong, it is a good school, it just didn't quite meet the needs of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

I have had four children at N. Landing. It is a hidden treasure at the beach~ from the administration to the teachers to the janitorial staff: every person there cares about the children. If the guidance counselor is out and a child needs to talk, the office secretaries step in with a hug and kleenex. I can email the teachers and keep up with how my kids are doing, and the principal, Mrs. Risney, is always available. This is a growing, thriving school and I'm thrilled to be involved with such a great group of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My son is part of the special education program. So we have special needs that exceed those of other mainstreamed students. After coming from another state, I cannot believe how excellent this school is in providing great quality education and emotional support for our kids. I cannot begin to compare it with the last school my son attended. The teachers are open to suggestions from parents and not defensive at all. They really strive to maintain a solid line of communication with parents. This can only benefit our students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2003

North Landing Elementary is one of Virginia Beach's best kept secrets. My 2 children (boy & girl) enjoy going to school there. The teachers are excellent and I have yet to have a bad experience during my children's tenure.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students94%
Male students89%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students89%
Female students85%
Male students94%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Science

All Students95%
Female students94%
Male students97%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students87%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students88%
Female students82%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students92%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students96%
Male students82%
Black students94%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students92%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Science

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students90%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2929 N Landing Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-3160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parkway Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA




New Castle Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Landstown Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT