Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plaza Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1097 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

Plaza MYP has been very good for my son, although it can certainly be challenging. I've enjoyed seeing him grow and develop and realize his own potential through being part of such a distinctive program. The leadership is disturbingly liberal, allowing some age-inappropriate material to be shown in an English class. They also have not always done a great job of providing the best instruction-- something that an Academy school should deliver. But all in all, it has been a good experience, one that I would highly recommend for the right type of student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I am a student at Plaza and I think it is a good school but the relationships between the IB and zoned kids royally suck. I think the teachers are great but if they could just stop treating the two groups so differently...


Posted December 31, 2013

I am a student at plaza and I think that it's a school with many talented teachers but it also has a lot of faults.It's true the school is poor and teachers buy equipment.The teachers spend their money to buy pencils and rulers which are simply a must have at any school.it's pathetic that the school cannot afford them. I personally didn't like the principal but this year we have a new one though I don't know him enough to judge. I think the school has its level of punishment directed towards the wrong things. I pity the teachers at times because of how horrid the students are but the teachers don't do much about it. Because of this there is not enough respect.if youre a teacher it isn't a good idea to be dull and boring.if you care about your students' success than keep it interesting!this school isn't fair cuz a group/class/team/grade are punished for a few students' screw-ups.the custodians should be replaced because it's filthy! I found a rat trap next to the bleachers in the gym during p.e.!Money is wasted.The students are out of control but that's the parents' fault. Raise your kids correctly people! I wouldn't recommend plaza cause honestly they don't know what they're doing.


Posted October 29, 2013

I now have my 2nd child at Plaza middle school and I will say I am surprised how great it has turned out. When my oldest was to go to Plaza I was not thrilled. I grew up in VA Beach and know Plaza reputation, but I will say I was surprised by the quality of teachers at this school. If I had an issue or concern a teacher would contact me back either my email or with a call back. My oldest went here without knowing anyone because we had sent him out of district for elementary and I will say by the end of the 1st nine weeks he has a lot of friends, and most he still knows now. The chorus program is excellent and like all schools it has it problems but as long as you keep up with your child you will have no problems
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

I am a current 8th grader in the MYP program at Plaza. Let me say, that this school is most definitely the worst I have ever attended. The administrators are so rude and unprofessional, eating constantly and only using their work computers for lunch groupons. The school 'policies' are pulled out of thin air, nothing is in writing and evenly enforced. It really depends on how connected you are as to how often you get in trouble. The dress code is entirely too strict and unevenly enforced, often resulting in the same hundreds of girls (only girls) in the office, with the most horrid woman on the face of the earth, the discipline assistant. Also, there is a common hatred of MYP students throughout the whole school from other students and from the administration. This school is all about ruling with an iron fist, I assure you that your child will never receive mercy, regardless of the situation. Please, save yourself, save your child, don't go to Plaza.


Posted May 26, 2013

I am an 8th grader at Plaza Middle School and I have enjoyed being at PMS every since I first came there in the 7th grade. The teachers are very nice and reliable and trustworthy and I thank God for both the students and teachers.


Posted April 29, 2013

Turns out this school is great. Every school has its problems. The way I see it, the good outweighs the bad. My son is doing excellent as a 6th grader. The teachers care for their students progress. What I mean by that is, if your student is on the brink of getting low scores in any given subject, parents are notified and, they go the extra mile to make sure your child gets the help he/she deserves. My husband and I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

I am currently in 8th grade at Plaza Middle School and I can't say that I'm happy at this school. First off, we learned that the only reason MYP is at Plaza is so we can bring up test scores. That didn't work so well because I think at least half the 7th graders last year barely passed the Algebra 1 SOL. Second, the students on the non-MYP side and even some on the MYP are very rude. People will trample you in the hallways and scream offensive words. The after school activities, I can say, are great. The student activities coordinator is wonderful as are the teachers. However, sometimes the teachers do not punish students for acting against school policy. The MYP program is great as well. With MYP you get a lot of homework though, that's the biggest downside of the program. As for the regular school's education i can't say because I wasn't in it.


Posted July 6, 2012

I am a uprising 8th grade MYP at PMS. For my first two years at Plaza I was a "Regular Student" and strongly disliked the MYP's after hearing rumors about what they said or did to other people and that was wrong because us "regular students" think that we are being treated differently from the MYP students but we really weren't. Then I had a little brother who came into Plaza as a MYP in 6th grade. I was in 7 th grade at the time. Every day he had something new to share with our family and I had very little the sometimes do give the MYP's more than other students because the deserve they worked for it. Half the regular students are not hard workers, bullies, or just plain out disrespectful to everyone including teachers. Those teachers even though they know they are being disrespected do nothing about which is making the troublemakers think that it is ok when it is not. Overall I think that Plaza is a great school but is separated by how smart you are or if your an MYP or not no one is any little bit different from someone else and Plaza needs to be one school. Other than the enforcement of rules it is a very good school. I would certainly send my child there.


Posted July 10, 2011

I was a student in the MYP program at Plaza. The teachers were great and the athletic team made it fun, but the students there are so mean. Maybe it was people in my grade but the girls were just terrible, maybe because it was middle school. Anyway, it was difficult for me to fit in because I was the only one coming from my elementary school. If your child is going to go there and is the only one from their school make sure they get involved and make friends.


Posted June 10, 2011

My son went to Plaza Middle school and Loved it. Plaza have a great staff as well as, Principle. As a parent, I can really say they care about their students. Many go far out of their way to help. (especially Mr. Whitman, I can't thank you enought for starting the plaza phi beta Gents club. It helped with my son's grades and confidence.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Plaza is a great school with a variety of students. The staff and administration are committed to the success of all students and work tirelessly at that goal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2010

Plaza Middle houses several exceptional programs that are inspirational to the students. AVID which motivates kids at risk and the MYP program which supports kids that excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

i am an uprising 8th grader at plaza middle school. i really love this school! it provides a lot of us students. like for me. i am in the avid program. to help me with my colage aplication and to do beter in school. i dont think our parents really see how good this school is becuase of the people in the past. it really isnt a bad school at all. there are good teachers good students and all of that. out of all of the schools here in Va beach. i would choose Plaza. people may call it a gheto school. but its not at all. were just a little tight on money. so dont judge the school unlesss you are a student. oh! also! our sports are good! and the MYP program is awesome! im not in it but i have friends in it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

I myself am a 7th grade MYP student attending Plaza. I find that the program in PMS is amazing- I would reccomend it to any student that is hard-working and likes a challenge. But, the actual Plaza Middle is only OK to me. The MYP and 'Regular Plaza' students' rules are the same, but differently enforced. For example, we have the same dress code, but if a MYP student wears something we are not supposed to, we have to call home and change. But if a 'regular plaza' student wears something we are not supposed to, they are not forced to change. I do not know if it is because MYP students' expectations are higher, but, it still seems unjust to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

I am truly disapointed with Plaza. I am a parent of a rising 8th grader and the past two years at Plaza have been the worst of my sons school career. As a former student of Plaza myself I can say the school has not changed since I attended there in the 80's. There is severe issues with supervision and disipline. I have a gifted disabled child and there is no program in place to meet his needs. The pricipal Ms. Warren is the worst I have ever seen. She does not know what goes on in her school. I have since pulled my child from the school and is currently home schooled. Plaze needs to take a hard look and their school and try to make changes before any of my other children will attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

My two children attend the Middle Years Program at Plaza and we have been very happy with the program. The approach to learning is varied and creative. The teachers are involved and caring and responsive. My kids work hard but haven't found the work load overwhelming or too difficult. The school is clean and run well. I would highly recommend this program. We chose to send our children here instead of to private school because we feel it is equally as good academically and better rounded socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

I have two children in the MYP at Plaza Middle and have been thrilled with the program, the school, the teachers, and the administrators. Our children work hard but they love school and are learning quality material. They still have time to participate in activities and they are very busy. The teachers are extremely responsive and get back to me immediately about any concerns. My daughter comments about how fast the days go by and they both love school. The teachers know my students personally and know their strengths and weaknesses and are willing to work with them to develop their own learning style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

I am a parent of two Daughters in the Middle Years Program, one in 6th grade and one in 7th grade. The MYP is excellent. The children are encouraged to hold themselves to a higher standard of behavior, academic achievement and social involvement. The degree of knowledge the staff has about my children, including teachers, receptionists and administrators, amazes me. If I thought my children in were in danger I would put them in private school. My children have become better students and better members of their community. I appluad the MYP program at Plaza Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

I am the parent of a 6th grade MYP student . The MYP teachers and advisors have been great with communication and very helpful and the IB program is very sound. However, the stress my child has experienced as a result of transitioning into middle school and dealing with bullying has not been so wonderful. The student combination is a bad mix. Safety is an issue. My child will be switching schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students78%
Black students67%
Asian students82%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial86%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students54%
Female students55%
Male students53%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial60%
White students62%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students85%
Male students78%
Black students69%
Asian students93%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial81%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students46%
Female students43%
Male students49%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial54%
White students52%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students81%
Male students72%
Black students54%
Asian students100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial63%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students82%
Male students59%
Black students56%
Asian students100%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial67%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students61%
Female students59%
Male students64%
Black students35%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial47%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students79%
Female students78%
Male students80%
Black students55%
Asian students91%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial81%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students83%
Black students78%
Asian students86%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial79%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Geometry

All Students99%
Female students99%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Violet B. Hoyle
Fax number
  • (757) 431-5331

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3080 S Lynnhaven Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Open Door Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA



Tidewater Classical Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach, VA


Advanced Technology Center
Virginia Beach, VA


Lynnhaven Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT