Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Point O' View Elementary School 2

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
This school is horrid. Once, they lost our son on the bus. Dropped him off, where he didn't live. Thank God, he knew not to listen ( only time I'm thankful he didn't listen ) to get off the bus. Evidently, some random teacher told our 7 yr old, to get on the wrong bus, due to route changes. Additionally, the kids here are a bit rough. I feel like I'm back in Queens, NY. I moved from Nyc, to get away from an abrasive environment for my kids. We live in a nice community, but you'd never guess in this hell hole. It needs dire fixing...

Point O' View Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
My kids, for enduring hell here! We're moving! Can't wait... This place is a zoo.


Point O' View Elementary School 4

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
I enjoy this school. the teachers are friendly and helpful and actually care about the kids. The try hard to to help them succeed. It is a good school. We have had no problems here.

Point O' View Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
Something terrible has happened with this school since the administration change. The students are out of control because nothing is ever done as far as discipline. My child has been bullied endlessly & to the point that I have thought of withdrawing her & homeschooling. The staff morale is so low that several teachers are leaving. I would never recommend this school to anyone until the school system corrects the problem with the administration. It used to be a great school, now it's probably one of the worst & the test scores show it.

Point O' View Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school. The office staff and principle at this are terrible. My 7 year old was assaulted on the bus and they treated us like we were a nuisance. One year was more than enough at this school.


Point O' View Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
We have nothing but fantastic things to say about this school! The staff are caring, And surpass the needs of each child. Why is this school only rated a 4?!?

Point O' View Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
The teachers and administrators care about their stucents.

Point O' View Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
Point O' View is an excellent school for any child to attend. If you are interested in your child getting a great education in a warm and friendly environment, then this school is definately for you.


Point O' View Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 29, 2008
- a community member
This is an excellent school and I would recommend POV because there is a lot of help and cooperation from the parents. Without their help, the teacher's job would be very difficult.

Point O' View Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2006
- a parent
We love POV. We were very worried about sending our daughter to start 1st grade at a public school, after Kindergarten at a small private school. We have been very pleasantly surprised! Everyone I have spoken to at the school is polite, friendly and knowledgeable. There are lots of programs to recognize students for their accomplishments, Accelerated Reader, Super Citizen, Caught being Good, etc. The PTA does a wonderful job organizing family events, movie nights, cashola nights, Breakfast with Santa, to name a few. I would definitely recommend POV to anyone! We are looking to buy a house right now, and I am hoping we can find one in this district, because we do not want her to change schools! Also, my 4 yr old is in the preschool speech program at POV, she loves it, is progressing well, and is looking forward to Kindergarten at POV!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Point O' View Elementary School
5400 Parliament Dr, Virginia Beach, VA  23462
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (757) 648-3440
Last modified Point O' View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top