Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thalia Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 646 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

My family and I love Thalia. The teachers really care and take time out with each child. My youngest was having difficulty. The teacher all the way up to specialists worked with my son, husband and myself until he got back on track. We are very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

This is truly a terrific school. Although I've read some of the complaints about the pick-up system, I think it has little impact on the quality of education received by the children. I have been very pleased with my children's teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

My son loved this school :) The kids and teachers were so nice. One incident where my sound was getting bullied on the bus and the school l didn't waste no time handling that...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Our story. We moved to Virginia Beach in May of this year. Prior to living here we lived in Norfolk, where the school system is pretty good as well. Unfortunately, my kids did not have a good experience in the Public School they attended. The teachers were still remarkable but my children faced what most students faces today. They were bullied and because of the lack of diversity they were not really welcomed. Since moving here and having them attend Thalia Elementary, my heart has been in such a relief. My children LOVE going there and do not feel like that they have to be like everyone else to be there. The school is diverse, friendly and the school teachers and administrators are just awesome. The school really has it together. I have never experienced parent involvement as much as I do here. My kids are finally happy. They have confidence in themselves, and their school. I was blessed to come across a school that actually felt like family. I was equally impressed with how much they are involved with the community as well as our city. My eldest is in 5th grade and my youngest is in 1st, so I look forward to the coming years. As I am sure they are looking forward to it as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

my daughter has had a great experience at Thahlia and we are very happy there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

Dropping the kids off at school in the morning and afternoons is a nightmare... they need to come up with a better system.. The bell rings at 2:30, please tell me why I am waiting in my car for 45 mins to pick up my son.. Malibu, has a great system.. they make the parents have signs made for parent pick up, and they walk to the cars write down the names, and then they release the children to the parents...Thalia really it shouldn't take you guys 45 min to release a child, I can do it faster for you. Also, read the signs and not say out loud I DON'T KNOW WHO THIS PERSON IS.. it just makes the parent upset.... Also, the office staff, needs to be little nicer to the parents, it seems to me that always are stuck up when I come up there. makes me think how they interact with the students???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

What a great school and staff. We had an issue with another child in the classroom and the teacher and the staff corrected the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

This will be my second year of teaching at Thalia Elementary. I had previously taught in the Norfolk Public School system and had a terrible experience. Thankfully, working at Thalia has been a wonderful experience and I'm proud to be a VBCPS employee. This school has a reputation that everyone is treated like family. This is true! Thalia has supportive parents, excellent teachers, and friendly staff. I can't wait to start the 2011-2012 school year. Many teachers were crying as the buses pulled away for summer vacation. We are so proud of all our kids!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2009

During 1st and 2nd grade the experience at Thalia was wonderful for us and our daughter. The 3rd grade, however, has been challenging. The teachers have been awsome but her classmates are very disruptive. These days when kids are disruptive the whole class gets punished. I'd like to see more individual discipline (principal/parent notification) for those kids that are disruptive so the kids that are being good are not punished, not to mention distracted from learning. The no child left behind rule must have consequences for bad behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My son is a student at Thalia and has had a WONDERFUL 2 years there. The teachers are excellent and keep a good line of communication with the parents to keep them involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I'm not sure the test scores listed are accurate. Thalia is a great school. My daughter is in second grade there and we have nothing but good things to say about it. The staff is attentive and welcoming, the parents are involved and the environment is inviting and conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

My daughter is enrolled in kindergarten at Thalia, and for the most part, I have been pleased with her teachers and her progress in the classroom. However, I am afraid that my interaction with the administrative staff left quite a bit to be desired. Mrs. Simeone was rude and spoke to me as if I were ten years old. The office staff was very rude and insulting when I asked a simple question. I have never felt welcomed as a parent should at Thalia, unlike my daughter's previous school. I wanted to walk my child to class, and I was stopped like I was a common criminal. I feel very disconnected from the overall climate of the school, but I love her teacher and that helps me to allow her to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I have two children enrolled at Thalia who have attended since kindergarten. I have always been very pleased with the teachers, staff, and administration. There appeared to be a very smooth transition several years ago when many staff members left to open a new Virginia Beach school. Mrs. Short, who is often the first point of contact, is always friendly when greeting school visitors. The office staff is also very welcoming and helpful. Indeed, I have never walked down the hallway without someone greeting me with a smile and/or a hello. If I have ever had a question or concern, teachers have responded promptly, and I know that Mr. Timlin and Mrs. Simeone are always available to parents through email, telephone, or a conference. Thalia's PTA has improved over the last two years and has provided Thalia students with many programs and resources. Parental involvement is crucial!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I have really enjoyed my daughter going to Thalia. The teachers are so helpful and kind. I go have lunch and help out in class once a week. I wanted to see how the kids and the teachers interact with each other. Mr. Timlin and Mrs. Simione are great leaders. Their hands are on top of all issues. They take pride in their school and it shows. I think more parents need to take a couple days a month and visit their kid at lunch to know first hand what happens in their kids school. It is easy to complain about something you only know about secondhand. Our kids at Thalia are lucky to be going to such a wonderful school. It is up to the parents to maintain involvement in their kids school careers and who their friends are. Make it personal--it is!! Nice job Thalia!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

I think the principal has done a fine job. And I believe that the lunch line wait has gone down dramatically since the children are giving their money in the morning. If you think that badly about this school then do something about it. We hardly have a PTA. Our parent involvement is awful and I am talking about myself also. I do not go to PTA meetings, but I am going to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

This school has gone downhill in a big way. The Principal is out of touch with the parents. The classes are over crowded. I have had lunch with my child on numerous occasions, it has taken as long as 25 minutes to get through the line. I am highly disappointed with Thalia Elementary with the exception of the quality of the teachers. They are top notch, unfortunately the rest of the school does not come close to measuring up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

My son is about to finish kindergarten. I have no problem recommending this school. The school is just the right size, the classes are in great shape, and the location is prime. They are located in a nice section of town right next to a firehouse and across the street from a church. There is a nice playground in the back of the school as well as a ball diamond. The principal and some student helpers are there greeting the students and helping them out of the cars every morning when I drop my son off. The PTA is very active. There are meetings and school functions all the time. As far as keeping me informed, my son brings home a folder everyday telling me what they are doing, what homework they need to do, and what they will be doing for the next week. Great communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students72%
Male students77%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students74%
Female students77%
Male students72%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students77%
Female students74%
Male students79%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students76%
Male students60%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial75%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students75%
Female students77%
Male students74%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students72%
Male students65%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial62%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

English: Writing

All Students61%
Female students78%
Male students47%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial38%
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students65%
Female students71%
Male students61%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial54%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Science

All Students67%
Female students70%
Male students64%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial54%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

421 Thalia Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-3880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach, VA


Ivy League Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Pembroke Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Malibu Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT