Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thalia Elementary School 2

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers don't pay attention to what the kids are doing. My son gets bullied and the teachets sit back and let it happen while they talk to other teachers and also the teachers are bullies too. Sad but true. They don't listen to the kids while they try to explain themselves and yell at the kids to stop talking. They put my son down and yell at him every chance they get. I can't wait to get my son out of there.

Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a teacher
I am Kandice Dixon and I teach in Room 21. I want to apologize to the parent of the child who feels unwelcome in my class. I encourage parents to come in and volunteer and have since I began teaching. I kindly request you to contact me so that we can resolve the issues that you and your child are experiencing. If I seemed cold and uncaring, I assure you it was because I was completely unaware of the situation. I look forward to hearing from you so that your daughter has a positive experience here at Thalia.


Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
For me this is an excellent school. My son is in this school from last 4 years every year they have shown a progress in each field. Staff has shown a huge involvement.

Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
Very nice school .All staff members are really nice and principal Pastros took school to different directions

Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My family and I love Thalia. The teachers really care and take time out with each child. My youngest was having difficulty. The teacher all the way up to specialists worked with my son, husband and myself until he got back on track. We are very pleased.


Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
This is truly a terrific school. Although I've read some of the complaints about the pick-up system, I think it has little impact on the quality of education received by the children. I have been very pleased with my children's teachers!

Thalia Elementary School 4

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
My son loved this school :) The kids and teachers were so nice. One incident where my sound was getting bullied on the bus and the school l didn't waste no time handling that...

Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Our story. We moved to Virginia Beach in May of this year. Prior to living here we lived in Norfolk, where the school system is pretty good as well. Unfortunately, my kids did not have a good experience in the Public School they attended. The teachers were still remarkable but my children faced what most students faces today. They were bullied and because of the lack of diversity they were not really welcomed. Since moving here and having them attend Thalia Elementary, my heart has been in such a relief. My children LOVE going there and do not feel like that they have to be like everyone else to be there. The school is diverse, friendly and the school teachers and administrators are just awesome. The school really has it together. I have never experienced parent involvement as much as I do here. My kids are finally happy. They have confidence in themselves, and their school. I was blessed to come across a school that actually felt like family. I was equally impressed with how much they are involved with the community as well as our city. My eldest is in 5th grade and my youngest is in 1st, so I look forward to the coming years. As I am sure they are looking forward to it as well.


Thalia Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
my daughter has had a great experience at Thahlia and we are very happy there

Thalia Elementary School 2

Posted September 23, 2011
- a parent
Dropping the kids off at school in the morning and afternoons is a nightmare... they need to come up with a better system.. The bell rings at 2:30, please tell me why I am waiting in my car for 45 mins to pick up my son.. Malibu, has a great system.. they make the parents have signs made for parent pick up, and they walk to the cars write down the names, and then they release the children to the parents...Thalia really it shouldn't take you guys 45 min to release a child, I can do it faster for you. Also, read the signs and not say out loud I DON'T KNOW WHO THIS PERSON IS.. it just makes the parent upset.... Also, the office staff, needs to be little nicer to the parents, it seems to me that always are stuck up when I come up there. makes me think how they interact with the students???

Nearby schools

Thalia Elementary School
421 Thalia Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23452
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (757) 648-3880
Last modified Thalia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top