Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trantwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 518 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

Great school!!!! My children have excelled in this school despite moving towards the end of last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

School had a principal and assistant principal change in the 2013/2014 school year. So far, this appears to be a VERY positive change. Parent involvement is high. Nearly every class has 1 or 2 moms that basically act as assistants (help with copies, help running labs, etc).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

I absolutely love this school. My daughter is in 3rd grade and her teacher is amazing. The school understands that children have strengths and weaknesses and try to work with the children in groups that struggle with certain things. This school is the best elementary school I have ever been a part of. I have 5 children, one in high school and 3 in middle school. I wish all of my children had the opportunity to go to this school. Absolutely amazing! Trantwood keep up the awesome work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

We are about to enter our fourth year at Trantwood. This has been an amazing experience and we are so impressed with the teachers and administration. The principal and assistant principal know EVERY student by name and probably each parent as well. Each teacher has been instrumental in helping our child to succeed and recognizing special talents and gifts as well as noticing a speech delay that our child was able to get additional therapy for. This was extremely proactive. We are so pleased and are looking forward to our other children becoming future Cardinals!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

This is our second year at Trantwood. We are extremely satisfied with all facets of our son's educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

Love, love, love Trantwood! As a mother of three who attend and a former elementary teacher, we have been so happy with this school! It offers a wonderful community feeling along with excellent teachers and a very involved and strong, caring administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

We have 2 children (1st and 3rd grade) at this school. We have been here about 7 months and we LOVE this school. Our experience has been really good. They are getting a top notch education. I have been happy with the administration, the teachers, the PTA, and the other kids. Our children have really nice friends here. It is just a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

I have to rate average because of a couple of different reasons. The focus on SOL's start in Feb. with sol homework everyday. My daughter has also been bullied since starting 3rd grade. I asked them to move her and they didn't. I have been to see the principle and school counselor several times, while they tried to help the bulling still continued. Test scores are not everything as we found out at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I am a parent of a 2nd grader at trantwood and i thing this is a wonderful school. my daughter is very happy with the other children as well as the teachers and is doing very well. the only downside is there are a lot of wealthy families who go here so it sometimes gets hard when you are one of the few lower to middle class that attend. events at the school as well as 'craft' projects can get pricey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

This is my third year as the counselor at Trantwood Elementary, and although I interned and substituted at many schools, Trantwood is definitely the best by far! The teaching staff is amazing--all of them go above and beyond to ensure student success, putting in lots of extra hours and planning creative and relevant activities to capture the interest of students. The administration is excellent at responding to parent concerns promptly, supporting their staff, and maintaining a safe and nuturing school environment where all students feel comfortable. It is evident that everyone there loves their job, including me! Go Cardinals!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2008

We are very pleased with all aspects of the school. What a wonderful experience our children have had there. The principal, faculty and staff are all top notch! We would give Trantwood 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I am a parent and former teacher. Trantwood is a wonderful school. It has a warm and welcoming group of parents, students and staff. Children are challenged and nurtured. If given the choice, would choose Trantwood hands down!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students82%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students82%
Female students80%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students89%
Female students84%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students88%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students85%
Female students82%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students90%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students86%
Female students100%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students90%
Female students98%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students89%
Female students93%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Patricia C. Slaughter
Fax number
  • (757) 496-6785

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2344 Inlynnview Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cape Henry Collegiate School
Virginia Beach, VA



Alanton Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Kings Grant Day School
Virginia Beach, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT