Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a community member
Went to Cooke Elementary 40 years ago! Now living and teaching in Australia. Without a great foundation in my early educational years my life would be very different! Thank you to those Cooke teachers all those years ago!

W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family that had to temporarily evacuate from Japan in March, 2011. The administration and teachers at Cooke were very welcoming to our family. They placed our kids with great teachers, acclimated me to the routine and in a very short while, we had a had a little bit of "normal" back in our life! Thanks especially to Rosemary, and all of the wonderful staff that supported our family!


W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
Cooke is a GREAT school my seven yr old is flourishing there and my 12 year old went there previously, (special needs) he did GREAT

W.T. Cooke Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
Cooke is an outstanding school. This will be my daughters second year there and we are thrilled to be a part of such an amazing school. As a mother of 5, and this being my youngest, I have been through my share of school experiences. I can say nothing negative. I'd be will to put Cooke up against any private school anyday!

W.T. Cooke Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This was my child's first year at Cooke and I have to say I am utterly disappointed and wish we could relive the whole year over at a different school. His teacher should NOT be teaching elementary students as her demeanor is more suited for college age students. This really intimidates the children and therefore they suffer in so many ways for it. Such a shame.


W.T. Cooke Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
Cooke School has everything you could hope for in any school, private or public. The principal, Ms. Sessoms, is amazing. Her leadership and guidance has raised the bar for teachers and students.

W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2008
- a parent
Amazing School with amazing principle and staff! The entire vibe is positive from the moment you enter the building and what an awesome learning environment that makes!

W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2007
- a parent
I'm very happy with Cooke! My son is doing so well there! His reading skills are soaring! They are very dedicated to the children! They have great Math, Science, & Music programs also.


W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2007
- a parent
Cooke is a GREAT school. You won't find a more dedicated Principal, Vice Principal and staff.

W.T. Cooke Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2003
- a parent
I have been a parent of W.T. Cooke for six years now and found only genuine caring, leadership and dedication in all of the teachers, staff and administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

W.T. Cooke Elementary School
1501 Mediterranean Ave, Virginia Beach, VA  23451
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (757) 437-4827
Last modified W.T. Cooke Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top