Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodstock Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 684 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2008

Staff is amazing with the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I am the proud parent of a first year transist student. My family and I are new to the area of VA and this school. This year my daughter is a third grader and I have had the best time with this school. The best things about Woodstock are the friendly staff and faculty members,the PTA activities,and the one on one parent/teacher communication. We are a military family and my daughter is getting at the age in which our times in transist are beginning to affect her. She is a stellar honor roll student who raves with praises about her school,friends,and teachers. Kudos to the Woodstock staff!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I am a mother of two girls who have attended Woodstock Elementary since kindergarten. This means I have been with the school for eight years. In this time I have been a Home room mom, many times, on the PTA board, been involved in numerous plays, carnivals and concerts. I Absolutely Love this school !!!!! The Administation, Teachers, Custodial and parents are the Best. I will alsways recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

All the staff at this school are amazing! They really take time out for every child!! I am very lucky to have bought a home in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2006

I have to say this is the best elementary school my daughter has attended thus far. We weree there for 2 yrs and had nothing but good experiences. Knowledgable and caring staff, teachers, and principle made this school the best I have ever volunteered for. My daughter excelled there and was safe. A far contrast to where we are now in Hawaii. By far the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2006

My children have been attending Woodstock for three years now and all I can say is Bravo! The teachers are very caring and understanding, the staff is wonderful and helpful. My kids struggled coming from another school at the beginning and with all the help from these wonderful teachers my kids have been on the Honor Roll for the past year. I am proud of this school in so many ways. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

My granddaughter recently completed Kindergarten there. The atmosphere and caring by the teaching staff is so fantastic. She learned so very much academically but she also learned social skills that will benefit her for the rest of her life. She learned how to be part of a group contributing her knowledge and learned how to be fair and respect for others. This has been a great foundation for her remaining school years. She is excited about entering 1st grade where I'm sure the same values will be taught. Thank you to teachers and staff. Good work! Carolyn English
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I have had three children graduate from Woodstock. I have found this school to be a wonderful place for your children to learn and flourish. Most all of the teachers are fantastic! The administrators are kind and caring. The PTA is active. My only complaints are specific and not properly addressed here. Overall, this is a great school for your children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students66%
Male students66%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students66%
Female students67%
Male students65%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students82%
Female students75%
Male students89%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students81%
Male students77%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students83%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students75%
Male students81%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial90%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students79%
Female students84%
Male students75%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students77%
Female students72%
Male students80%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Science

All Students78%
Female students79%
Male students78%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6016 Providence Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 366-4590

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Daniels Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Tabernacle Baptist Academy
Virginia Beach, VA



St. Matthew's School
Virginia Beach, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT