Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Run High School

Public | 9-12 | 1501 students

Our school is best known for its close-knit community and strong alumni support.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Green Run High School is a family. Green Run has always been looked down upon by the other schools in the district for it's past; however, we are not the same school we were back then. Most students in Virginia Beach that say Green Run is a bad school have never gone to that school. The teachers here take the time to really connect with the students and they genuinely care about us. I'm not going to say that the student population is perfect because it's not, but in Green Run we stick together as a whole. I'm going to be a senior this year and I couldn't be more proud to say I'm graduating from Green Run High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2014

Has be a great school . 2 graduated with honors near straight A students. Both moved on to college one with a bachelors degree and one working on a bachelors degree. 3 child first year great grades and on the number one JROTC in the state and top 8 in the nation. The school has turned a complete 180 degrees from years ago and I have lived in the district since 1987. The low rating needs to be review because it is inaccurate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

I am glad to spend my first year of high school at Green Run High. I love going to this school everyday and I'm proud to be a Green Run Stallion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2013

I have had the same issue. Multiple calls to the school with no response. They quote that they want parent involvement but there is a lack of follow through
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

Green run has one of the BEST NJROTC program in the nation! No joke ... The unit has been National Champions three time in a row, 2009, 2010, and 2011, and has participate in every State Championship as far I can remember. The unit is Very dedicated to Community, school and the student, and it offers Air Rifle team, Academic team, Athletic team (running relay track, pushup and sit-up teams), and several drill teams, and Color Guard teams. The goal of the program to teach Leadership and Citizenship and to instill self-discipline and confidence and to help the student find a career path whether is the military or college, or other. Also the school is proud of the program and supported 100%. The cadets in the program and its instructors have created a very mature learning environment for the school. Highly recommended! Here is their link https://sites.google.com/a/navyjrotc.us/green-run-high-school/


Posted June 25, 2012

Green run is (in my opinion) the best school in the beach. Unlike most of the larger schools, the teachers actually take time to get to know the students and help them out whenever they can. There's so much diversity within this school; from the students, staff, and extra curricular. When a student is actively involved with the school, they feel as if they actually do make a difference, vice being one in a crowd. It's a smaller school, so everyone pretty much knows everyone. Walking down the hall, you'll kind small groups of friends, not cliques. I feel as if i couldn't get a better education anywhere else. I'll be graduating green run with 8 ap credits under my belt, and there definitely isn't a better school to graduate from.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2011

Green Run High School was like home to me. I had many teachers, most of whom were alumni of the school themselves, that I respected. The best part about this school was definitely the diversity. It has very strong extra curricular programs. What makes our programs strong is the involvement of the community. I will always be proud of being a stallion!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2009

I love green run and our green run pride. Especially the njrotc program. We won fiirst place at area 5 and 15 place at nationals. I recommend this school for any high schooler!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

Green Run High School is the finest school in Virginia Beach area. It is not what people make it seem. The teachers there are very determining to make sure that all students do what they have to do to graduate and also pass that specific class. The teachers give you extra help in any subject that you are struggling in. They will also give the students there personal time to help them in that subject by staying back. Green Run High School is proud to have a magnificent principle that makes sure if anything is wrong with the students, school it self, parents or even teachers he will handle it right then and there. He is highly the best principle that attended to Green Run high school .He has made a change at Green Run high school. I m so happy and proud to be attending Green Run.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

Green Run's Principal seems determined to clarify any misconceptions about Green Run High School, and make going to Green Run a positive experience for students and parents alike. Teachers who really seem to care about their students and the school image have had a huge impact on the school's scores and the students' attitude. My grandson who went to a private school for eight years, was afraid to go to Green Run because of the negative image and information about the school that he was getting from the media, his teachers and even his principal. But now he loves going to Green Run and this is surley reflected in his grades. Green Run is GReat!


Posted May 22, 2007

I have had two children graduate from GRHS. I have one graduating this year, one in 2009 and an upcoming one. I have really liked GRHS. My daughters have been active in Chambers singers and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have been very happy with most of the teachers at this school. There is not a perfect school with perfect teachers anywhere. I rate GRHS up in the top ranks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

I have taught at several schools over the past 30 years. Eleven of those years were spent at GRHS. GRHS is the best kept secret in the Beach. It had a great, caring faculty and great students. There have also been some great administrators. No school is perfect. There is no such thing as perfection. The major concern I had with GRHS was the lack of parent involvement. When I say parent involvement, I don't mean coming to school when there's a problem, but taking an active part in your child's education everyday. As a parent, I would send my child to GRHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2006

Green Run is such a diverse and friendly environment. The teachers are very helpful and understanding, and they are very informative. Many of the teachers are graduates of Green Run, so they put even more effort into the quality of the school. The music programs at Green Run are very good. The choirs and band have repeatedly won local and state competitions. The football team is not the greatest, but Green Run is known for its basketball and soccer teams. There are so many extra curricular activities available at GR. If your child is not interested in sports, there are academic, fun clubs to join. Also, because the school is very diverse, your child will get to know all kinds of different people with different cultures and backgrounds. This school is definitely the best there is!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2005

My daughter is a freshman at green run now and she is also using the resource class for learning disabilities, the whole staff is been great with us from the very beginning and had no complaints about the school, I think it depends on the child and the parents to be more involved with their childs education, the staff can only do so much, we as parents need to be more involved with their education. -MP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

We've had 2 children to graduate from GRHS and it was a struggle. One in which the guidance counselors tried to keep behind again and who the principal didn't want to take extra classes to graduate. Prayerfully, he did graduate after being left behind one year. I did not want my youngest child to come there but this is the school in out district. So far he's doing good except he has an english teacher who can barely speak the english language which makes the class difficult to pass. The students don't usually get the extra help they need. But I plan to be even more involved than before. So parents, if you can get more involved, please do so. Your child(ren) education is at stake. BDT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

I attempted to contact my daughter's counselor to keep abreast on my child's progress. Being over 1000 miles from her I would assume it would be in both, my daughter's and the school's interest to include me in educational process. I never heard anything from the school. It makes sense, in my opinion, that you would want to include a parent in as much of the educative process as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

As an alumni of this school, I am distrubed to see such horrible reviews. Green run has grown so much since I graduated in 1999. The students excel in and outside the classroom. Past and current students understand what it means and how much of an honor it is to be a stallion. The whole staff cares about the success of each student and are always willing to go the extra mile to help. My advice to those who complain would be to ge involved and examine what more you can do to help your child. It is not just the schools responsiblity. 'It takes a village...' With the great teachers I had during my tenure at grhs, I have completed college and have a great career. My success thus far can be attributed to them. 'You just can't hide that stallion pride'.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2004

I'm not a parent at Green Run High School. I'm a current student, a junior, and I've attended this school my entire high school career. Even though this school does have its low points (and these are emphasized more), it does have its high points. I've been lucky enough to have all of my teachers care about my and my fellow students' welfare. I know there may be a lot of people who don't agree with me (especially students), but that's because a lot of people aren't taking on the responsibility of caring about their or their children's education. The thing that they don't understand is everything can't be spoon-fed to them. Both the students and the parents have to make a conscious effort in making our school better and that's what a lot of us at this school fail to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2004

My children have gone to this school, and it has gone downhill in the past few years. It is beginning to closely resemble an inner-city 'urban' school. Sad to say, but... Their test scores (SOL) never seem to match up with other area schools - WHY? Year after year, program after program, their scores are low. I'm not happy with all the 'smoke and mirrors' and false promises made by their 'leadership.' The school is being allowed to turn into a bad place - nobody in the PTA listen or will respond to strong calls for change - why bother anymore?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

I am not happy with the way this school works. I have two daughter that have learning disabilities and they do not get the help they should. My oldest has stayed back and is in danger of staying back again She has giving up because she feels no matter how hard she tries they will not help her. I have been back and forth for two years now and I have gotten nowhere. My youngest is now having the same problem. I have been in the school on the phone I do not know what else to do. She cries at night because of it. I can not help her they teach different things now then they did when i was in school. I have explained this to the school they say I understand but never do anything.... this is not only me this is also other parents problems that I have spoken to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
90%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
85%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students53%
Female students52%
Male students55%
Black students43%
Asian students67%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial67%
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English53%

Algebra II

All Students77%
Female students77%
Male students78%
Black students71%
Asian students82%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial81%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Biology

All Students71%
Female students73%
Male students70%
Black students57%
Asian students72%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial93%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Chemistry

All Students80%
Female students79%
Male students80%
Black students70%
Asian students94%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial92%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Earth Science

All Students79%
Female students75%
Male students83%
Black students74%
Asian students88%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial83%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English80%

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students84%
Black students80%
Asian students88%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students78%
Black students74%
Asian students84%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial93%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Geometry

All Students53%
Female students48%
Male students59%
Black students34%
Asian students73%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial83%
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English53%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students76%
Female students74%
Male students77%
Black students66%
Asian students78%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial96%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

World Geography

All Students91%
Female students93%
Male students88%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

World History I

All Students75%
Female students74%
Male students75%
Black students67%
Asian students77%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial83%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English75%

World History II

All Students70%
Female students65%
Male students75%
Black students58%
Asian students92%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial72%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Plaza Middle School
Larkspur Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:20 am
School end time
  • 2:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. George Parker
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (757) 431-4153

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Dahlia Dr
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-5350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Advanced Technology Center
Virginia Beach, VA



Landstown High School
Virginia Beach, VA



Salem High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT