Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Virginia Beach, VA

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parkway Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
Our son will be starting 4th grade in Sep. He scored in the top10 percent in all categories on last years SOL. Thus far we have been very happy with the teachers. My wife and I believe that you must be proactive with your child's education. Very impressed with the principal .

Parkway Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2009
- a parent
I have to say I am very pleased with this school my daughter just recently participated in a play all on her own. I think it's great! As far as her grades she's an honor roll student and got an invite to the magnet schools.


Parkway Elementary School 4

Posted February 26, 2009
- a community member
My grandchild is a student at Parkway and her mom and I both love the school and the teachers,the work very hard with special students and their needs, GOOD JOB

Parkway Elementary School 1

Posted June 17, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended Parkway for three years, and I'm sorry to say that we have been very disappionted in this school. The majority of the students are unruly and badly behaved with little consistency or continuity on the part of the staff to govern their behavior. The techers seem to be overwhelmed adn burned out. If you have a child who is a good student and is well behaved, it is very possible that he/she will be ignored or overlooked the entire year. This year, durring the second quarter, my child's grades went from all A's to all C's. When I called the teacher, her response was 'Your child is not one of the kids I usually worry about.' Because of our experience with Parkway, my husband and I have decided to stop contributing to our IRA's and use the money instead to send our child to privet school.

Parkway Elementary School 1

Posted October 02, 2007
- a parent
This particular school, although staffed by wonderful, idealogical teachers, is a cruel joke on the education of it's children. The administrators are unfortunately more interested in appeasing the racial influence of a substandard, economicaly disadvantaged community than the discipline of students. To sum up, we're leaving.


Parkway Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
[Our child] has been at Parkway since the first grade (she is now in fourth) and we have been extremely pleased with this school. The amount of parent involvement is incredible. They offer chorus and SOL tutoring for my daughter and she loves both programs. She is ADHD and all her teachers have really worked with her... she even mde Honor Roll!We just moved to Portsmouth and I am sad to be leaving Parkway.

Parkway Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is attending Parkway for her 2nd year. My husband and I are very disappointed in this school. The teachers that I have met have been very tired, unpleasant and have an attitude like they have just given up. Her teacher this year is wonderful! But she seems to be the one and only. The principal isn't friendly at all unless she has to be, the assistant principal has yet to speak to my husband or me and we spend a lot of time at the school. We have been told by many teachers that the school has lots of disciplinary problem students since there are a lot of low income children who attend this school. Had I visited this school first I would not have bought a house in this school district.

Parkway Elementary School 4

Posted June 26, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parkway Elementary School
4180 O'Hare Dr, Virginia Beach, VA  23456
(757) 648-3280
Last modified Parkway Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parkway Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top