Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salem Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1052 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

Beyond expectations! Everyone says Middle school is rough. With one in 8th and one in 6th (boy and girl) I have to say has been nothing but great! The Core classes and elective teachers are wonderful. The teachers we have had since 6th grade have always been engaging and supportive to both my children. The guidance office is always there to answer my questions and assist my children. Im looking forward to my youngest attending, and my two currently attending to continue to grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

As far as education i think SMS Virginia Beach is up to par. The problem is on the teachers who treats the kids unfairly. My daughter together with her friends have the same complaint on the same Six grade teacher . They said that she is mean and confronts students and ask them why everytime she receive an email from the parents. I think the district principal needs to address this issue because the kids cannot concentrate studying if they have fear in their minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

We have had the oppurtunity of having four of our sons pass through Salem Middle School. We overall had a very postive experience there. One of our son's was considered special needs and the staff and faculty we very accomodating. With that being said the school is very diverse which we believed to be a plus since society is diverse. The extra curricular activities are there for whatever your child/children may want to be involved in. Our sons were very involved in the music program, student council, and sports. Security is also very good as well. If we had to do it all over again there would not be any regrets. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

If you have a child with "special needs," do NOT send them to this school. My son has autism, and the school does not want to deal with it. Dr. Soltner wants the "problem" kids gone. The assistant principals, Ms. Bond and Mr. Lawler aren't any better - simply the Principal's puppets. If you have the option of putting your kids in private school or sending them somewhere else, do yourself a favor and take one of those choices - don't send them to Salem Middle School while Soltner is in charge. He has no accountability to anyone. He runs the school the way he wants, and if you don't like it, you can move and enroll your kid somewhere else. You can thank me later. I gave the school one star, because I couldn't cut it in half, and there wasn't anything lower.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

We moved here in 2009 from out of state. Our child had not been educated in a public school prior to our move here. We all felt a public school setting was the choice for us at the time. So we went out to search for the school for us, and chose Salem Middle. The administrative staff is ready to listen and help. I have seen teachers work hard so our child and others achieve there highest capabilities. I must finally mention, diversity is clearly valued in this school which I feel is one of Salem's strongest assets. Virginia Beach has a fantastic school sytem and we are so lucky to be part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

We moved in '09 and we're so fortunate to have ended up at Salem Middle School. The principal stresses education and discipline, and the school shows this! My daughter loves her teachers; she's enjoying her advanced classes and also is thriving under the tutelage of the wonderful chorus teacher. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

My son has attended SMS for two years. He is doing well enough academically. Some of the teachers are very responsive but other's seem like they are allergic to the parents. Parent portal is helpful, but if my son has slacked off, I don't find out about it until well after the fact. Grades aren't updated regularly. Generally I don't feel there is good communications in some, not all cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

My son has attended this school for 2 years and is entering the 8th grade this year. It is an amazing school with great teachers. They really have their act together when it comes to keeping our kids safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

I was a student here for three years and must say I'm rather shocked by the reviews. Salem Middle gives a top notch education and has a wonderful staff. The teaches often create fun activites for the students and this school has a wonderful library for these activities. The new principal has changed the way discipline is handled and there are very few major problems. Yes, sometimes teachers do not inform parents of their children's shortcomings, but I mean, come on. This is middle school! It's time for your kid to be ready to admit to you him/herself. It isn't the teacher s job. Most teachers here will tell you if you ask though.


Posted February 19, 2008

I happen to like the administration at Salem. I communicate weekly with my child's teachers and all of them respond promptly to my e-mails and calls. I agree that there are some teachers (not just at Salem) who probably should find another line of work - but that's when the parent needs to step in and pick up the slack and make sure their child receives the best education despite a teacher's inadequacies. A child's failure and success depends on the efforts made not by student and teacher - but by his/her parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

The new principal is not the best. No fun things incorporated into the learning. No field trips. Teachers usually don't respond to parents emails.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2008

I have a seventh grader at Salem, and there seems to be some teachers, as another basically said, could care less about the children they are paid to mentor, teach, and disclipline (if needed). I've dealt with this school for two years and a couple of the teachers hold 'grudges' against kids that might make them do a little more than just teach. It's like they would rather just kick a child out of class rather then try to get to the bottom of why they are 'acting out'. I'm seriously thinking of changing schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

I am an tah grader at Salem middle and i have been going to Salem since 6th grade I love my school very much but there is a few things they do need to work on and the main thing i think is that discipline is not done right at all.there are a lot of awesome teachers at Salem and then there are the other ones that could care less how your feeling, if you understand, and if you have questions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2006

The school has it's share of good and bad teacher's like many. Most teacher will work things out with a parent, or student if asked. The principle I felt was horrible though. She couldn't be bothered to go to Awards Ceremonies and the assistant principles handled everything. The discipline went down alot when she became principle. This is still a good school mind you. The education is EXCELLENT! You're kids are pushed to learn, which can lead to stress, but I have learned it teaches responsibilty in the longrun. The parents are involved ALOT too. The Extra-curricular activities are like other schools and there are an abundance of clubs. The kids are nice and welcoming, but choose good friends and stay out of drama. My experience was pleasant at this school, and have been to others to say the education succeeded the other 2 schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 26, 2006

As far as schools go Salem's pretty good. I'm just out of 7th grade and thankfully going into 8th next year. But the teachers aren't always fair and just have people they hate. It's not me but it's a lot of my friends. Parents probably like the parental involvment, but we don't. This place is crawling with teachers! Well all in all it's okay...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2005

I am an 8th grader going to school and i think it's a great school. I don't know what ' lack of communication' your talking about. I have attended it since 6th grade. I get updates from teachers and printed progress reports.My parents had doubts about the school but they just dissapeared. Its a great school and I recommend it. Go Sharks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2005

I have a sixth grader attending this year. I agree with the parents who say that there is a great lack of communication. My child has one teacher that notifies me (email, phone) of his behavior, grades, attitude. I greatly appreciate her cooperation. However, I have also tried to communicate with all the other teachers and they have not responded. I would like to know how my child's attitude, grade, and behavior is. I don't want a phone call or letter when it's gotten beyond the point of their control. Sometimes children don't bring the letters back home to be signed because they know they are in trouble. Please help me. I am willing to contribute on my part to help my child. I would like all the teachers and office staff to do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

I have a sixth grader attending right now, and the biggest problem is (like the other review described)communication or lack thereof. They expect you to somehow know that you should talk to the guidance office about medical needs for your child although you fill out several forms prior to the start of school with the same pertinent information repeated several times on different forms. You have to notify each teacher individually of any special needs no matter how minor because the office/guidance office doesn't communicate anything to the rest of the school. They should send out forms that can be copied and distributed to all your child's teachers to keep them on the same page. VERY frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

Parents are not informed of academic problems at school until they become so bad that the child may fail or have to go to summer school. Also feel parents and students should be able to review tests so that everyone understands where improvement is needed. I have emailed and called teachers on several occasions and they have not responded which I feel is very unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students77%
Male students69%
Black students60%
Asian students77%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial85%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students68%
Female students67%
Male students70%
Black students58%
Asian students71%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial85%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students79%
Male students82%
Black students74%
Asian students84%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students59%
Female students56%
Male students62%
Black students52%
Asian students74%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial71%
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students72%
Male students74%
Black students56%
Asian students89%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial85%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

English: Writing

All Students76%
Female students82%
Male students70%
Black students67%
Asian students84%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial83%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students79%
Female students77%
Male students81%
Black students74%
Asian students91%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial89%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students92%
Black students79%
Asian students97%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female students98%
Male students100%
Black students98%
Asian students100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Avila
Fax number
  • (757) 474-8467

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2380 Lynnhaven Pkwy
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kempsville Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Larkspur Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Coastal Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA



Brandon Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Landstown Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT