Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Gregory The Great School

Private | PK-8 | 710 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2006

I graduated from SGS 3 years ago and my sister graduated last year. We both are in a very academically challenging high school, and thanks to SGS are doing extremely well! My father was in the military so we changed schools a lot before getting to SGS. Right away the school felt like home. Both the teachers and students were very friendly and the principal and her staff quickly learned our names. Both my sister and I felt challenged with the work we were being taught, and the teachers were always available and willing to help if we found we needed them. The school has a strict anti-bullying policy and the school was a place we always felt very safe. We never felt that the teachers had favorites, but did feel like they genuinely cared about everyone.We both felt like Sister Patricia was always available to speak to us about anything.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 23, 2006

My family has been associated with St. Gregory the Great School since 1965. It is an outstanding school, which has unfortunately come under coordinated attack by a small and anonymous group of disgruntled parents. The staff, teachers, and curriculum are the finest anywhere. Any issues that are honestly presented to the principle are honestly and sincerely addressed. It s a wonderful school. If you have a chance to get your child in, take it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

SGGS is by far the best school both academically, moraly and spiritually in the area or for that matter anywhere. My son graduated from there and was one year ahead of the other students when he went to high school. They offer advanced math, english, spanish and have a state of the art scinece lab and great technology and other programs. We too are a military family and had to move after spending six years there. The catholic school that my daughter attends now is not up to the standards of SGGS. Also, we are moving back to the Virginia Beach area and will definitely put our child entering first grade into SGGS. The staff and administration are incredible, they are there for the children and care deeply about the needs of the chidren and parents. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

As a former student of SGS, I would have to say that St. Gregory's prepared me for the academic challenges of high school very well. The teachers at SGS are friendly and patient, while the principal is kind and knows each student by name. If there are any problems with gossip or cliques, they are addressed immediately. SGS has advanced courses including Pre-Algebra, Algebra, and Spanish 1 for middle school students. Spanish is taught in all grades and students have PE, Art, and Music or Band weekly. Overall SGS does an excellent job preparing students both academically and religiously.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2006

My daghter was blessed to have been able to attend St. Greg's for her last two years of middle school having attended from another private school. The students from all grade 1st to 8th welcomed her with open arms. She made friends easily because of the warm Southern Hospitality and Christian rearing that is taught at the school. Where she had been at, students did intimidate and bully other students. They also were super clickish and did not welcome new students or even were kind to students they had been with since pre school. This was one of the reasons why I took her out. It wasn't until I had volunteered in depth and put long hours behind the scene to know what went on in the school. St. Gregs is geat! My daughter loves it and continues her friendship with the student body even in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I am delighted with the education that my daughter is receiving at SGGS. It was a last minute decision to switch her from public to private school, and the administration was very responsive and accomodating. I can't say enough good things about her teacher and the curriculum. The depth of topics and the sophistication of vocabulary and themes really pushes my child to a higher level of analytical thinking. The organizational qualities of her teacher are the best I've witnessed in academia. She keeps the children on task and informed while holding them responsible when they fail to meet the requirements. My daughter is able to participate and compete in sports at a younger age than in public schools. All this coupled with catholic spiritual growth makes SGGS a great choice for us. We are happy at SGGS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I'm very happy with the academics at St. Gregory. My children are challenged in every subject and are always motivated to learn. Some teachers in the middle school have better personalities than others but all are very professional. A teacher with a not-so-good personality teaches my child to mature and get a feel for what real life is about. We need to learn how to deal with everybody. I love the emphasis in reading and good morals. I'm very proud of the band teacher. The principal has always answered any concerns that I've brought to her attention and she's very professional and pleasant. She cares a lot about everyone and knows every student by name. I know families with low resources that she has helped so they can keep their children in the school. One of the best things for me is havings Catholic sisters among the teachers. They're great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

Every time I tell someone that my child attends SGS they respond with how wonderful of a school it is. I'd have to agree. I feel that the teachers have been extremely friendly and approachable. I feel that children are encouraged on many different levels and in a way that makes them feel good about themselves. It's great to have parents so involved in the school because it allows us also to be more aware of what's happening with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

We have had students at SGS for 6 years out of the last 10. It is by far the best school we have encountered in our multiple military moves. It is academically challenging, but with tutoring available for those finding it tough.It has a loving staff and a 'family' feel. The teachers and staff truly care about the students and their values development as well as academic development. I volunteer at the school a lot and have seen first hand the way the teachers and staff try to live out our Catholic virtues on a daily basis. Our family is involved in church activities, scouting program, sports program and band program. Our principal (and asst.) are loving, but firm, who always have time in their busy day to say 'hi' to the parents by name and make them feel welcome. We are blessed to have SGS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

It's rather unfortunate that a parent who perhaps has some very unfounded personal issues would choose this forum to spread such untruths. St. Gregory the Great School has had and continues to have a stellar reputation in this community. This school prides itself in the care and nurturing of it's students as well as academic excellence. You would be hard pressed to find a better school anywhere. I've had 2 children graduate from SGS and they are flourishing in high school. My husband and I credit their success to the solid foundation of academic and moral teachings and values that were instilled upon them at St. Gregory's. This is a quality education..both academically and religiously sound, taught by a large group of competent and caring teachers and staff. If you are thinking about sending your child here, come in and see for yourself..you won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

I am a teacher at St. Gregory's, and I cannot say enough. The teachers, counselors, and administration will bend over backward to make sure that students are getting the best Catholic education possible. We concentrate on fostering growth in the whole child. Students study religion daily and often discuss religion topics in other classes as well. Catholic life, virtues, and morals are taught in a way that students can apply them to their daily living. There are so many extracurricular activities available--science bowl team, newspaper, choir, band, soccer, field hockey, cross country, track & field, drama club, opera club, basketball, art club, and I'm sure many more that I am forgetting. If you are looking for a Catholic school in the area, I would strongly recommend St. Gregory's. Financial aid is available to families that qualify.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 21, 2006

I have had children at SGS for over eight years. My children are getting a good education, and we appreciate the opportunities they would not have had at public school (religious education, Spanish, band, soccer, choir, etc.). Most of the teachers have been excellent, the school does a good job of keeping the students safe, and they have a rigorous anti-bullying policy. However to enjoy all this, we have had to endure the rudeness and uncaring attitude of the administration, a deaf ear to complaints, and blatant favoritism. Not only do teachers have favorites, but amongst the parents and PTG there is an 'in crowd' too, and only their opinions carry any weight. For our family, it has been worth it to put up with the discourtesies, but for others this price may be too high to pay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

I am a former student of this school and I am very grateful for the education I received. The students are very well-behaved. The academics are fantastic and there are wonderful extracurricular activities available. The teachers, many who have been there a long time, are very dedicated to their students. I have nothing but good things to say about this school and have no reservations about sending my own children there one day.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 21, 2006

St. Gregs is by far the best school my family has been associated with. In routinely helping our children with their homework and participation as a volunteer and attending parent/teach conferences, I am convinced in the sincerity and genuine concern by the faculty for the Catholic development and academic achievement of the students. Clics are inevitable with children as they progress into their teen years. The principal has her focus pointed in the right direction and has been a pleasure to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

I have been blessed to consider St. Gregory the Great School my 'home away from home' for 12 years. My association with the school began when my daughter entered pre-school. I immediately joined a very active and envolved group of volunteers who welcomed me and made me feel valued. My daughter florished. She grew academically and spiritually as a result of the care, compassion and dedication of the faculty and staff at the school. I enjoyed the positive environment so much that I applied for and happily accepted a faculty position 8 years ago. I have found the staff and the administration are dedicated to meeting the needs of our students. We have many programs to address the needs of the struggling and the gifted student. My daughter is excelling in a very competitive high school because of the solid academic foundation St. Gregory provided. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2006

I have a daughter currently in 7th grade at St. Gregory's and a son who graduated last year. I have always found the administration to be dedicated to the spiritual and educational well-being of both my children. Has their time there been without problems? No, but any time I felt the need to speak with the administration or teachers, I have always felt that my concerns were attended to in a fair and friendly manner. There are extracurricular activities that appeal to students who are interested in athletics, art, music and service, among others. There is a high level of parental involvement for those who are inclined to be involved. In other reviews some have accused the school of being clique-ish and the administration to be uncaring and I believe nothing could be further from the truth. I would invite those parents to look inward for answers to their complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

I am a parent of a child at SGS and I must agree with most of the negative reviews posted here -- I too believe the administration to be rude and have a caustic approach to 'non clic' parent. There is also no academic flexibility -- all classes are geared for the student with the least abilities (there should be some advanced math and science courses as well); religious teachings are typically stale and plastic catholic approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Being a military family, we have traveled all over and had our children in Catholic Schools around the country. This is by far the best school we have ever had the privilege of being involved with. The academics far exceed anything we have encountered thus far, the teachers are warm and genuinely care about the students. The administration is very concerned about the overall well being of the students and is always readily available to the parents. This school has wonderful opportunities for volunteering and a true sense of community. I can't say enough about how blessed we feel to be a part of St. Gregory the Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

St. Gregory Catholic School is a place where students of all abilities can flourish. Teachers are willing to help students before and after school. Resource teachers are available during the school day. Religion and Catholic values are a priority. Students are able to take music or band, art and computer each week. Spanish is taught in every grade and 8th graders are able to complete Spanish I. An advanced math program offers pre-algebra and algebra. But the important thing about St. Gregory is the feeling that you are part of a family. I have been associated with St. Gregory for more than 20 years. In every school there are things that are not perfect. In every school teachers, parents, and students compain. But when looking at what is important-- is St. Gregory doing the best job possible in educating your child? The answer is a resounding YES!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2005

I'm a middle schoool student at this school. I'm very surprised with the previous comments submitted. They make the school sound horrible, but it's not! The non-bully policy is definitly enforced, with multiple 'chats' and class discusions. Also, people say that religious educations is limited to 'book-learning.' This is my 5th year at SGS, and each year my religion teacher has brought out in-depth discussions during calss. Even during morning prayers and in the cafeteria during lunch virtures are discussed and displayed. And next, teacher calling students names is false. No teacher has ever called a student a name that I know of. I do know though, that if you're a trouble making, rude student with an attitude, then teachers won't like you as much as others, but don't they have a right to?! I guess some parents just use this site as a place to blow steam.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patricia O'Donnell
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Richmond
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5343 Virginia Beach Boulevard
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 497-1811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Renaissance Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Gateway Christian School
Virginia Beach, VA



Williams Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Newtown Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT