Advertisement
Advertisement

Star of the Sea School

Private | PK-8 | 229 students

Our school is best known for providing over 50 years of Catholic education.

 
 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $302,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2013

This school has provided an excellent education for all 4 of our children- k -8th grade. We have been very happy with the education- academically, spiritually, and physically. Our oldest two children have already graduated from SOS and they are in honors/accelerated courses in the public high school and doing very well. The SOS middle schoolers do not have to experience all of the outside influences that are ever present in our public schools. 12-14 are delicate ages and the 8th grade graduates leave SOS with confidence to face all that life can throw at them during the high school years. The areas in middle school that were lacking in the past were changed a couple of years ago- specifically, Earth Science was offered in 6th grade at SOS but public learns it in 8th grade so our students were not receiving the credit. Earth Science is an 8th grade subject at our school now. 5 years ago, the Spanish being offered at the school was less than stellar- now some of the students are going directly into Spanish 3 in 9th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

Fantastic learning environment for my children and a great community of parents and volunteers. Super high level of academics for middle schoolers with great success for those looking to move on to public school academies or local private high schools. And good luck finding a better sports program for elementary schools... that's right elementary schools. My kids are both involved in seasonal sports teams that compete with other area Catholic schools to create a great sense of school identity and passion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Unimpressed by less than stellar academics. This little school was "fine" for K and grade 1 but things went downhill from there. Follows the traditional rote repetition curriculum that parochial schools have been using for decades. A great social shelter for upper middle class kids but if you are seeking strong academics and a dynamic and current administration and staff look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

My daughter has been at Star of the Sea for 4 years and we have been very pleased with the parent involvement, the teachers & academic program, the athletic opportunities (who knew field hockey was such a big deal for girls?) and esp. the religious traditions that are so much a part of the school. I like that my daughter is experiencing the same kind of school environment I enjoyed, and I esp. like the continuity of having her go from K-8th grade in the same school with the same kids. While the infrastructure of the school is older, it is filled with forward thinking parents, teachers and a principal who is very dedicated to the school's success. Small class size and oceanfront location make it a special, unique place. Who else can say their kids get to run a timed mile down the VB Boardwalk & have Sand Castle Day?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

If you are looking for a catholic or christian environment, strong academics, uniforms and understand the importance of K- 8th grade configuration Star of the Sea @ the Virginia Beach oceanfront is for your children. We love the parents and the religious environment. Our children are so strong academically and emotionally. K-8th Grade configuration builds leadership skills. Our Prayer Partner Program between the younger students and the upper classes is one of the stongest and immediate ways to build leaders and allow a child to develop in a safe environment. Your child will be ready for life after K - 8th Grade @ Star of the Sea Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

Star of the Sea Catholic School is a great school. The principal and teachers are the best! Any comments to the contrary are inaccurate and inappropriate. It seems some people have problems wherever they enroll their children, so it's no wonder they choose a forum like this to "vent." Their frustrations are transparent and really have nothing to do with this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

Middle school has a very mediocre curriculum. Principal defers to teachers so feels like no one in charge. Location is in questionable neighborhood. Parents are not friendly to new families. Best for girls who start at preschool as it is a clique environment. PE and Art are the best programs. Given the rave reviews, this school was a big disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

This is our eleventh and final year of having our children at Star of the Sea School. We have been blessed beyond measure by the faculty, staff, fellow parents, and students at this WONDERFUL school! We plan to keep ourselves involved at the school. Our whole family will continue to volunteer at the school, and we plan to suppot this school as a true ministry of our church. The school is constantly striving for excellence in every area, and is trying to face the challenges of the future. If you are looking for a FINE Catholic Education, you will find it at this small school by the sea It is a true STAR for so many of us! God bless you as you search for what is best for your children and your family. Our family has been blessed in time by the people associated with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Star of the Sea has wonderful and dedicated teachers. Through their guidance the students develop a love for learning and gain respect for each other and the world around them- two very important aspects of education often found lacking in other schools.


Posted September 8, 2008

We have been at this school 7 years now and have three children enrolled currently. I will tell you that we believe are children are truly getting an awesome education both in terms of traditional book knowledge as well as Christian formation and in community responsibility. The teachers are exceptional and I appreciate all they do for our children. This is a tight community and we like that the 'whole famil' is watching over our children. It is a place of great teamwork!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

Star of the Sea is a wonderful school. The teachers are exemplary. It's a close knit community of caring loving teachers and parents working together to nurture the next generation. Children are taught to be responsible for their own actions (somewhat a concept of the past in this day and age). I pass two other Catholic schools on my way to Star of the Sea School and wouldn't have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

great school, fantastic teachers,well recomended strong academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

I'm very impressed with the teachers and administration at SOS. My children have been attending SOS since 1998 and I would never leave an environment where academics and the well being of your child means something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Middle School teachers are great. Wonderful student to teacher ratio. Offers band, basketball, volleyball, drama, and more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2005

Great school, great leadership and great location!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Cathryn Whisman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (757) 428-2794

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Virginia Beach Public Schools Title Programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Area Preschool Programs
Area Public Schools
Transfers from out of the area

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Diocesan Aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishp Sullivan Catholic High School
Virginia Beach Academy and Advanced Academy Programs
Public High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

309 15th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 428-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

W.T. Cooke Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Virginia Beach Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA



Children's House of Galilee
Virginia Beach, VA



Birdneck Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT