Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Star of the Sea School

Private | PK-8 | 204 students

Our school is best known for providing over 55 years of Catholic education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $302,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2014

My daughter has attended SOS three years now. Prek3 through Kindergarten full day programs. The teachers are engaged, energetic and loving. The aftercare program is fantastic as well as affordable, and on-site which, truly helps working parents. The principal is always available, supportive, knowledgeable, and caring. As a non-catholic family at this school I have felt perfectly comfortable with the age appropriate religious education. My daughter absolutely loves her teachers, classmates, and the school. When there has been a concern, the teacher or principal have returned my calls immediately. The tuition is affordable when compared to other private schools. They have a Spanish teacher, who is phenomenal, as well as a guidance counselor on staff. They many different after school programs as well, such as Basketball, Girl Scouts, dance, cheerleading, art ect. The school building itself is old, and could use some updating. Do not let that be a deal breaker. The kids do not care, and everything else makes up for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

We are a military family so when we got orders to Virginia Beach, I worried about finding the right school for our children. After finding Star of the Sea School and my kids attending for 2 years now, I know that I not only made the right choice, but would never send my kids anywhere else! They are exceptionally military friendly, have an awesome staff, a challenging curriculum, and fantastic athletics. We are very grateful to the school that our children have thrived so much both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

Caring staff and amazing parents make this a fantastic place to educate your child. Children are able to express their spirituality and gain a strong moral base as they are challenged academically to be the best they can be. You will not find a better environment for you child's full development at the beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

My kid started at Star of the Sea last year and we could not be happier. Show me another school where a middle school boy will play with and mentor a kindergartner? It is a close knit, community with a faith based (but welcoming to all faiths) school. Each student has a prayer partner and these bonds last for a lifetime. I cannot say enough good things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

My school is Star of The Sea Catholic School in Virginia Beach. I have two boys that attend the school and we love it! It's amazing to have 8th graders who mentor kids as young as 3! My boys are getting a great education and are offered a variety of after school activities. They both have made great friends that I feel will last a lifetime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

The staff is caring and welcoming. The curriculum provided is rigorous and provides a strong foundation in the lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

Today reaffirmed my belief that Star of the Sea is indeed the best school around. I watched as soaked teachers soothed soaked children, gave them the clothing off their backs, hugged them, danced with them, and smiled happily. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL! I love the teachers. I simply cannot say enough good things. I actually had tears in my eyes and a smile on my face watching the teachers and students dance to the SOS song. Thank you for sharing your staff with my family! We are so very grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

I have 4 children at Star of the Sea. Each started in Pre-K. My oldest will be attending the Math and Science Academy this Fall. He is graduating with 3 high school credits: Algebra, Spanish, and Earth Science. The academics are strong. Technology is integrated into the curriculum: webpage design, writing computer code, video projects and much more. Sports are also available: cross country, basketball, cheerleading, field hockey, golf and track and field. Some sports have age limits, but there are no try outs. All are welcome. All of the above you may expect at any school: stellar academics and physical development. What Star of the Sea offers beyond that is why my children attend this school. It is character development modeled by Christian values and teachings. It is truly a Christ centered learning environment. The children are taught their faith, how to live it and how to serve others. They are involved in many community service projects. A well rounded student, strong academically and involved in the betterment of their school and community, is important in today s academically competitive environment. Star of the Sea will help your child to be the best person he/ she can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

This school has provided an excellent education for all 4 of our children- k -8th grade. We have been very happy with the education- academically, spiritually, and physically. Our oldest two children have already graduated from SOS and they are in honors/accelerated courses in the public high school and doing very well. The SOS middle schoolers do not have to experience all of the outside influences that are ever present in our public schools. 12-14 are delicate ages and the 8th grade graduates leave SOS with confidence to face all that life can throw at them during the high school years. The areas in middle school that were lacking in the past were changed a couple of years ago- specifically, Earth Science was offered in 6th grade at SOS but public learns it in 8th grade so our students were not receiving the credit. Earth Science is an 8th grade subject at our school now. 5 years ago, the Spanish being offered at the school was less than stellar- now some of the students are going directly into Spanish 3 in 9th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

Fantastic learning environment for my children and a great community of parents and volunteers. Super high level of academics for middle schoolers with great success for those looking to move on to public school academies or local private high schools. And good luck finding a better sports program for elementary schools... that's right elementary schools. My kids are both involved in seasonal sports teams that compete with other area Catholic schools to create a great sense of school identity and passion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Unimpressed by less than stellar academics. This little school was "fine" for K and grade 1 but things went downhill from there. Follows the traditional rote repetition curriculum that parochial schools have been using for decades. A great social shelter for upper middle class kids but if you are seeking strong academics and a dynamic and current administration and staff look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

My daughter has been at Star of the Sea for 4 years and we have been very pleased with the parent involvement, the teachers & academic program, the athletic opportunities (who knew field hockey was such a big deal for girls?) and esp. the religious traditions that are so much a part of the school. I like that my daughter is experiencing the same kind of school environment I enjoyed, and I esp. like the continuity of having her go from K-8th grade in the same school with the same kids. While the infrastructure of the school is older, it is filled with forward thinking parents, teachers and a principal who is very dedicated to the school's success. Small class size and oceanfront location make it a special, unique place. Who else can say their kids get to run a timed mile down the VB Boardwalk & have Sand Castle Day?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

If you are looking for a catholic or christian environment, strong academics, uniforms and understand the importance of K- 8th grade configuration Star of the Sea @ the Virginia Beach oceanfront is for your children. We love the parents and the religious environment. Our children are so strong academically and emotionally. K-8th Grade configuration builds leadership skills. Our Prayer Partner Program between the younger students and the upper classes is one of the stongest and immediate ways to build leaders and allow a child to develop in a safe environment. Your child will be ready for life after K - 8th Grade @ Star of the Sea Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2010

Star of the Sea Catholic School is a great school. The principal and teachers are the best! Any comments to the contrary are inaccurate and inappropriate. It seems some people have problems wherever they enroll their children, so it's no wonder they choose a forum like this to "vent." Their frustrations are transparent and really have nothing to do with this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

Middle school has a very mediocre curriculum. Principal defers to teachers so feels like no one in charge. Location is in questionable neighborhood. Parents are not friendly to new families. Best for girls who start at preschool as it is a clique environment. PE and Art are the best programs. Given the rave reviews, this school was a big disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2010

This is our eleventh and final year of having our children at Star of the Sea School. We have been blessed beyond measure by the faculty, staff, fellow parents, and students at this WONDERFUL school! We plan to keep ourselves involved at the school. Our whole family will continue to volunteer at the school, and we plan to suppot this school as a true ministry of our church. The school is constantly striving for excellence in every area, and is trying to face the challenges of the future. If you are looking for a FINE Catholic Education, you will find it at this small school by the sea It is a true STAR for so many of us! God bless you as you search for what is best for your children and your family. Our family has been blessed in time by the people associated with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Star of the Sea has wonderful and dedicated teachers. Through their guidance the students develop a love for learning and gain respect for each other and the world around them- two very important aspects of education often found lacking in other schools.


Posted September 8, 2008

We have been at this school 7 years now and have three children enrolled currently. I will tell you that we believe are children are truly getting an awesome education both in terms of traditional book knowledge as well as Christian formation and in community responsibility. The teachers are exceptional and I appreciate all they do for our children. This is a tight community and we like that the 'whole famil' is watching over our children. It is a place of great teamwork!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

Star of the Sea is a wonderful school. The teachers are exemplary. It's a close knit community of caring loving teachers and parents working together to nurture the next generation. Children are taught to be responsible for their own actions (somewhat a concept of the past in this day and age). I pass two other Catholic schools on my way to Star of the Sea School and wouldn't have it any other way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

great school, fantastic teachers,well recomended strong academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Cathryn Whisman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (757) 428-2794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Virginia Beach Public Schools Title Programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Area Preschool Programs
Area Public Schools
Transfers from out of the area

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Diocesan Aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishp Sullivan Catholic High School
Virginia Beach Academy and Advanced Academy Programs
Public High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

309 15th Street
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 428-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

W.T. Cooke Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Virginia Beach Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA



Children's House Of Galilee
Virginia Beach, VA



Birdneck Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT