Advertisement
Advertisement

Bishop Sullivan Catholic High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2013

Best kept secret in Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Chesapeake area. Due to age differences, I had kids in different schools to include the most prestigious school in the area. Shock is an understatement to describe how pleased our family (parents and students) have been with Bishop Sullivan. The teachers and staff are outstanding and go out of their way to support the academic and personal growth needs of the students. The courses and course load are academically challenging yet foster a love of learning. When compared my other children's experience who are in graduate school, this is even more challenging but at half the cost. Bishop Sullivan is focused on the development of the entire student (academically, physically and morally). If I had to do it again, all of my children would have attended Bishop Sullivan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

This is our second time around at BSCHS. Our older child graduated in 2003. She played 2 varsity sports, was involved with several clubs and graduated with with 12 AP credits. She was accepted into every university she applied for and went on to graduate school on full scholarship. When it came time for our second daughter, we never looked any further than BSCHS. The academics are tough, but there is plenty of support from teachers and staff.. Some of the same teachers our oldest had are still at the school, but there is a a whole bunch of new blood also.My daughter comes home every day with a smile on her face. I would highly recommend this school for strong academics, good opportunies for extra curricular activities and wonderful fellowship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

What sets this school apart from the rest is the dedication of the faculty. In fact, they go way beyond what I expect by working before/after school to help students. The curriculum is rigorous. It is not an easy school- but students are well prepared for college and beyond. I love the fact that they have students work directly with the community by volunteering. My daughter has developed a great sense of pride and self worth by helping others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

We completely dismissed this school because it was a Catholic HS, surely it's teachers and students were subpar. I was completely shocked. My other kids graduated from the "elite" double priced HS, after visiting here this was the only school we applied to. Your input matters here. Overachiever? no problem skip to honors/ AP, there are even younger kids in this years 9th grade. Nerds, Intl students from China, Jocks, Artsy students, non Catholic, all get along, very welcoming. Staff always smiling and goes out of way. Science dept. is 5 star, ties in competitions with the #2 high school in the country (Thomas Jefferson high) in competitions year after year, English dept amazing, award winning literary mag, incredible Theatre, and big on Sports,Fun football games, so far undefeated. Already met college counselor in 9th grade! Love all of the assignments/test schedule posted provided to parents (grades too) way ahead of time. College counseling meeting in 9th grade.I am a super picky mom, kids were in Blue ribbon schools and then what I thought was the #1 private school here. This is 100% the best HS in Hampton Roads. Only complaint? This school and its teachers are way too modest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

Catholic High is a good school. It has rigorous accademics in the basics. It has several AP classes. It is for a child who requires smaller classes and less competition than the large public high school and their advance acadamies. I had one go to public and one tho Catholic High both did equally well in their prospective areas of education. No your child make your decision based upon their needs. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Our son spent four years at BSCHS where he was involved in both athletics (Cross Country, Track) and academic teams. He graduated with over 20 college credits, was accepted at every college he applied to and received several scholarship offers. He is now at a top 20 college and excelling there as well. BSCHS prepared him for a very rigorous college honors program as well as developing his level of commitment and service to others. We do not believe any school is perfect but BSCHS was a perfect fit for our son and we would highly recommend it to anyone in the area. The instructors are motivated individuals who want to see the students excell in every possible way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

i love this school. It offers many great activities for academics and for school. It is a very fun school with many privalages and great lunches, i came from Norview HIgh school and i have enjoyed the transfer to this school. And English has prepared me very well for the SaTS
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2008

I have had two daughters who have attended Catholic High. We have been very pleased with the education that they have received at Catholic. I would highly recommend it--the school definitely prepares them for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Catholic High School is an overall an excellent school. Academics are rigorous and there are many AP courses offered. My two daughters graduated from CHS in 2001 and 2006. Both of them felt prepared for college. My youngest daughter struggled at CHS, but excelled at college. She had average grades at CHS in english but maintained an A-average in college. They have no academic tutoring, no uniform policy, but the discipline has improved with the new principal. Parental involvement is good but tends to revolve around the football program - unless you ask to do your own type of assistance, like tutoring, etc. There are many 'elitist' parents there and we didn't tend to mingle well. A few recent problems with students (racial slur at a game written on a wall) were handled swiftly by both the Diocese and Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Richmond
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4552 Princess Anne Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone: (757) 467-2881

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Green Run High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Kempsville High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Coastal Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Salem High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Princess Anne High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Tabernacle Baptist Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT