Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Virginia Beach Friends School

Private | PK-12 | 141 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $302,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2011

Wow, Everyday Math was used with mine here. Hmm. Again, things are not always as they appear. This school appears to care about uniqueness. In fact, they had no idea what to do to help my children out. Mine have fared much better at a highly rated public school, where they had the resources to work with their giftedness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

As you can see by the extreme differences in the other reviews (either one star or five stars) this school is not for everyone. It is, absolutely, the school for my son and our family. If you prefer a sterile, grade-separated, overly structured environment where teachers are forced to use a mediocre, mass-produced curriculum, then DON'T send your child to Friends. If, however, you want your unique child to be treated as an individual where his/her talents are encouraged to flourish, then Friends is for you! The best language arts (William & Mary gifted) curriculum, the best math (Singapore Math) curriculum, the most amazing science program and beyond the best by far music/arts/drama program for elementary school children ANYWHERE. I've done the research and also experienced what the other schools in Virginia Beach offer. Friends is also a great/logical step for parents who have home-schooled their children in the past. My son is thriving at Friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

We came from one of the most well-known school districts in the country. Friends School has excelled well beyond where we came from, in every aspects of my daughter's educational experiences. Watching her be challenged, and excelling academically; how the sports program is different through the kids working together as a team first, with respect and great sportsmanship; where all children and families' backgrounds are honored through the acceptance of all faiths, not just Quaker; and through the honor and respect that's evident on campus in every person, including teachers, staff and children. I couldn't give a bigger recommendation for this school and its values -- and couldn't put a price on my daughter's smile and sense of self and confidence at the end of every school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

My daughter was treated as an individual and excelled in her studies under the guidance and direction of outstanding teachers. She received a 4 year merit scholarship to one college and several generous financial packages from other colleges also based on merit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I love Virginia Beach Friends School because the atmosphere is a loving and caring one. The children bring their lunches and eat with teachers under some wonderful trees. It is a homey atmosphere and creates an environment where children are free to express and encouraged to express their thoughts and opinions. Parents are involved and love the school also.


Posted May 19, 2010

Friends School is a small, nurturing environment where students feel they are a member of a family. Children and parents both benefit from experiences within the wonderful school community, learning more than what is taught in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

VBFS is a unique community of students, families, alumni, faculty/staff, and Friends where experiential learning is valued and life-long learning is encouraged. I love coming to school each day because there is always something new to learn, regardless of what your role is in the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

We love the Cottage program (pre-school) because it is a rare gem these days to find a 'learn-through-play' program. The children are not force-fed their ABCs and 123s quite yet! They are learning to love each other and love coming to school. The rest will come later! We drive about 30mins twice a day to come to Friends. It's worth every minute!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Because of: 1. The Friends/Quaker School basic principles. 2. Their wholistic student-family emphasis. 3. Their strong community-service oriented philosophy & outreach. 3. The student needs supersede academic/statistical results. 4. Creative, aesthetic development & opportunities. 5. The loving, kind natures of administrators and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

I love Virginia Beach Friends School because it believes in the possibilities for every child and brings out the best in all of them. Respect and kindness to one another are the hallmarks of the relationships between and among the children and the teachers. I taught at Friends for about 30 years, our two children--now grown and on their own--attended Friends, and I have continued to teach part-time. The school is a real jewel and the students I have known have all felt thier friends experience was an importnat part of their life's journey.


Posted May 16, 2010

As a Quaker school, Virginia Beach Friends School offers the best and most well rounded education in the Hampton Roads area for our children to learn and to be successful in their life. It focuses on the individual potential of each child to not only to be able to proceed from secondary education to their next education step, but teaches critical thinking and the ability to be successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

It encourages children to be who they are, build self-confidence, tolerance, patience, social conscience, and to be open to new and different experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

My son has flourished since being at VBFS. After being at public school first, we were able to see what a positive impact VBFS has on him and our family. We were welcomed back as if we never left and are truly treated as family. My son's confidence is at an all time high. The cork has been unplugged on his creativity. Thank you to all the amazing teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

VBFS is a unique Quaker school that embodies the values of equality, community, harmony,and simplicity throughout its curriculum and student-teacher interactions. It emphasizes small class size, individual attention and a vigorous and creative curriculum.


Posted May 15, 2010

My children are now 28yrs old, and still remember Friends School as very special place. A place where they learned much about themselves along with the value of equality and social conscience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

This is a very nice small school! For the younger kids it gives them a chance to explore and they learn so much! For the older kids, they have great opportunities to participate in amazing projects and all 3 of my kids have truly grown there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

The individual attention that is given to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Small class size, committed teachers, wonderful administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Friends provided the highest academic standards for my son, complemented by a nourishing environment and a comprehensive sports program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Small classes and excellent teachers have made my daughter love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jonathan Alden
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Friends
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (757) 428-7511

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1537 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 428-7534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lynnhaven Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Virginia Beach Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


First Colonial High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Cape Henry Collegiate School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT