Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Virginia Beach Friends School

Private | PK-12 | 141 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $302,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2010

Children are taught to think out of the box. The school has small classes with big opportunities to expand a child s ability to development socially and intellectually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

This is our 10th year at Friends. Not only has my son thrived academically, he has become a confident young man who has learned to be comfortable in his own skin and step outside of his comfort zone, trying new, exciting opportunities. The arts and athletics have helped make him a well-rounded teenager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

This is an incredible school. They are masters at teaching. Most of all, they help students to self-educate.


Posted May 13, 2010

The school helped our daughter grow and learn at her pace and found techniques that worked with her, not against her. I would recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

VVFS is a progressive and excellent school that cares for each child's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Friends School was surprisingly affordable and has not only small classes but a wonderful approach to teaching my child as a whole: high academics as well as overall character,confidence, and creativity.My son has flourished there after being unhappy at public schools where they have large classes,lack of creativity & lack of recognizing the individual. He loves to go to a school and is learning lifelong qualities about community service which is weaved into every aspect of the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Love the small school environment, and the way they teach the children to listen to and respect each person's opinion as well as each person's individuality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Great School - Both my children attended, one graduated, one in 4th grade. My grad is a self-sufficient, independent thinker who just got into a university in Denmark next year. My 4th grader is reading well beyond her grade level, but more importantly, she's happy and loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

This is a Quaker school that teaches simplicity, harmony, tolerance, peace and equality with a focus on the arts and sustainability. The campus is nestled within a huge, lovely wooded area and is truly unique in its setting and philosophy. Class size is small and the opportunities to gain life long skills are grand. The school accommodates Pre-K through 12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

This is my child's first year at VBFS and I am extremely satisfied with the education. My child loves going to school! The headmaster is new this year along with a number of teachers. We are signing next year's contract and are seriously considering sending our other two children next fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I have a daughter who was in the cottage the past 2 years and is now in pre-K. We absolutely LOVE this school. Plan to send my 3-year-old there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I have been involved as a parent and as a volunteer at the school for 17 years. I am also an educator and a clinical psychologist. I have very high regard for the school and its leadership. My child is very successful in the adult world as a result of his education at the school. His work was individualized to meet his needs, and he was able to engage in sports, the arts, and student leadership programs that met his needs. He is now a software engineer at a dot.com.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I am the parent of an alumnus of VBFS and he continues to outshine many of his co-horts at a famous Ivy League University because of his empathy for others, his kindness, and his ability to teach others weel, all because of his 12 years at the school. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to help their children discover their true selves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

I am a parent of a graduate of VBFS who attended there from K-12. I am a college educator and was Dean of two colleges of education for 15 years. By far, Virginia Beach Friends School is the best school in the region for the following reasons - the educational philosophy of the school is the most progressive in its ability to teach the whole child. Lessons are individualized to meet the needs of a wide range of children who are seeking a college preparatory education. The teachers and administrators treat the children with great respect, and parents can be very involved if they have a positive attitude that matches the school environment. I have been amazed at some of the criticism of the school on these pages. None of it is warranted. My son has gone on to tremendous success in college and has a high paying job in the field of software engineering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

I changed schools 2 years ago. Friends was good for many things, but socially stifling and left me very few opportunities to engage in activities. Teachers were hit or miss.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2008

If parents are looking for a school where their children can be academically challenged and happy, then please do yourself a favor and check this place out. I have met several high school students and I'm impressed with their confidence as well as their interests. Foreign exchange students enrich the environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

I've only been to two other schools in my life, and by far Friends School is my favorite! I've made so many friends, everyone is warm and welcoming. The teachers are just as great, I couldn't be more excited. VBFS is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2007

We have been very pleased with Friends School. It is too bad that some parents feel the need to air their grievances here--not at all productive or beneficial for our gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

I have to agree with the most recent review (10/21/07). Having had children in both the Early and Lower Schools at VBFS for several years now, we have seen the academic programs only grow stronger in our years here. Parents seem very involved and linger on campus, so the comment from another reviewer about unfriendly adminstrators and poor communication seems odd to me. That has been far from our experience. Concerning other reviewers comments about 'special needs,' other schools in the region do handle kids with special needs. While VBFS does have a unique educational approach, they do not claim to be equipped for special needs kids. As with any school there are plusses and minuses, but overall we have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

I am surprised by some of what I have read here. We have children in a couple of divisions at the school and have never had a problem with communication or unfriendly administrators. As for communication, Insights and Updates is emailed every two weeks and is full of information about what is going on at the school. The turnover has been quite minimal since we have been there so I found the comment about teacher turnover very confusing. My children are happy and we are pleased with the academic program. If you are thinking about attending VBFS, I would recommend a visit--then you can make up your own mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jonathan Alden
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Friends
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (757) 428-7511

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1537 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 428-7534

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lynnhaven Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Virginia Beach Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


First Colonial High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Cape Henry Collegiate School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT