Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cape Henry Collegiate School

Private | PK-12 | 900 students

Cape Henry Collegiate is a innovative engaged learning model school.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $222,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2008

Cape Henry is a top-notch school! I believe wholeheartedly in the mission of this school-- it has truly emphasized the values we are teaching our children at home. The teachers are phenomenal, teaching to the individual student, rather than to the 'test' (as in SOL tests!) Our children have thrived here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

a great shhool with good kids s ports classes teahers lunch food just a great school/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Truly, an absolutely classless sports program based on typical private school recruiting. If you want your child to learn sportsmanship and how to play a chosen sport, there are many other private schools in the area that should be viewed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

Absolutely the best environment for students! An involved faculty and staff, along with a strong commitment to the honor code, create an atmosphere that stimulates learning, both academically and personally. A wonderful experience for students and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

I love Cape Henry! I have been going there now for my whole highschool career and it has an amazing staff, facility, and program. I love school now that i go to Cape Henry!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2005

Cape Henry offers an education that is second to none in the Tidewater area. I feel so lucky that my children are able to attend school there. Everyday is a new challenge and a new experience. Cape Henry has a wonderful and dedicated faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

I went to cape henry for several years, from pre-kindergarten up till 10th grade. One thing I can say positively about Cape Henry is that the school has grown significantly since its beginning. However, there are many negative factors to mention about Cape henry the first being the new headmaster Dr. Jack Lewis. Although, Dr. Lewis seemed like he would bring about a whole new positive change for cape henry that has yet to happen. The only thing he has managed to accomplish is getting rid of the majority of good teachers and faculty memebers that have spent many years at Cape Henry.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 3, 2004

Excellent! I couldn't be happier with the excellence at Cape Henry. My children learn something new each day, and look forward to going back to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (757) 481-9194

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
260
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
325

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Academic Merit Scholarships in 6th & 9th Grade
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 Mill Dam Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 481-2446

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

First Colonial High School
Virginia Beach, VA


Alanton Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Lynnhaven Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA



Frank W. Cox High School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT