Advertisement
Advertisement

Gateway Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

On the outside, this school looked promising, but once we got more familiar with the system here, the school's true colors showed. There's a "hierarchy" of sorts here. The kids who come from the families with the most money and the ones who are good at sports are treated WAY better than the ones who aren't. The staff treats the kids who aren't exceptional at athletics like trash. Some of the teachers are genuinely nice, but it's not worth spending the money to only get a few nice teachers. If you want to have an enjoyable experience, you better make sure you're good at sports or you better be insanely rich.


Posted February 21, 2014

Our daughter has really enjoyed her time here. We move often for my husbands job so it's not always easy finding the right school. The staff are very friendly and the class size is perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

We have been involved in Gateway Christian School for almost 20 years now. I have had 7 of my 10 children graduate with 2 more to go. I have a nurse, a CPA, a music teacher, one who is pursuing a major in organic chemistry, and one who is studying to be an elementary teacher. Gateway has more than prepared them for college and the "big world" out there. I praise the Lord for Gateway Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

this school is a great place to send your child. our son loves it and is learning at a wonderful pace. Not only is he learning his academics but the focus of this school on the spiritual life is wonderful. This is truly a Christ-centered school and the staff are truly Christian people who care about my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I agree that this school provides a good foundation for the younger students, however as a parent of a former student, I was dissatisfied with the education quality. My child receives better care and attention in the public school system. There is too much pressure regarding rules, regulations, and appearance. I do not feel that these things are a part of Christian education. The teachers are concerned and caring but lack the resources to be able to provide much for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

As a parent of a former student, I agree that this school could use better resources. I also agree that my child receives better care in the public school system. Also agree that Christian Values DO NOT mean that you have to be the same as every other christian student. God is all about diversity and marvels in our differences, wether that is appearance or acedemic achievement. I fear this school has forgotten that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

This school provides a great Christian foundation for K3 thur 3rd grade; but in the upper levels the school appears to fail to remember that the children must be able to survive in the world as a christian and not place judgement on those that are not- only God will judge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

My daughter attended Gateway in her freshman year and it was the worst mistake ever. Honestly, there isn't one positive thing I can say about the experience. Academically, we had to get outside help with homework because when help was requested at school, she was made to feel inferior. When this matter was addressed with the leadership, nothing change! Socially, meetings were very disorganized, and focused more on the select few that was a part of the church body. For a Christian school, we expected more but got less!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

As a former student, I can justifiably say that the educational quality at GCS is all right, but that's about it. At this school, it is not enough to follow the rules - it's all about who you know. Some students try so hard to be friends with the 'good kids' and get turned down so they go with the wrong crowd. The programs are greatly lacking and hurt the student's chances of getting into a real college. Plus, the pressure to attend Gateway's little two room college is enormous. This is not what a Christian school should be like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

As a parent of 2 children attending Gateway Christian School, I can honestly say that everyone there cares greatly about the level of education and Christian values that our children are being taught. The teacher to student ratio is outstanding compared to that of a public school. Gateway is very compassionate educational academy. Remember it's our children that we are investing in, and our children are the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I am a former graduate from Gateway Christian School and I enjoyed every minute that I spent there. I grew so much in my walk with God during my years spent at GCS. The staff at this school are the best anyone could ask for and their love for God and the students is shown everday. I encourage anyone who is looking to send their children to a great christian school to consider this school.


Posted August 3, 2007

I am a parent who has had three children graduate from Gateway. All three were very prepared for college and give Gateway much of the credit for that. It may not have all the programs offered by some larger schools, but my children received an excellent Christian education at GCS. Gateway does not claim to be all things to all people...but, for those wanting an academiclly sound education with a truly Christian philosophy, it would be hard to beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My child has attended Gateway for the last 4 years .It has only gotten worse ! I would not recommend this school to any parents who cares about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

Fantastic school with wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

As a former student, I felt this school did not challenge me whatsoever. They have no after school programs, and have very few sports teams. The school decides what classes you are assigned to. There is no choosing the classes you will take. This school also does not prepare you for college whatsoever. I wish you could put a '0' as a rating on the list. I didn't even want to rate them as a '1' on anything. This school is very disappointing and offers practically nothing to the students or parents for that matter.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 25, 2006

The atmosphere of this school is great. The teachers are warm and caring. It is a diverse student population which I like. Many positives and in a good location.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5473 Va Beach Blvd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone: (757) 499-6551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Gregory the Great School
Virginia Beach, VA




Chesapeake Bay Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Williams Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT