Advertisement
Advertisement

Tabernacle Baptist Academy

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

I am a graduate who sends my child to this school currently. We enjoy the small class size and Bible emphasis that our child is being given. We love the phonics and reading he is receiving as well, it is above average for grade level we feel. Home work being given is appropriate for grade levels. The down side we have seen, teachers we have encountered so far seem less than excited about communicating with parents. The communicating we have done has only been done via email, even when we have requested after school meetings. Also, the teacher seem to be on their personal cell phones alot. Either they are texting or surfing the web during school hours. This is a big issue with us. We addressed many issues with administration and really didn't get to far in regards to these two issues. Overall, our child is only staying here for the Bible influence and small class size. Without that, we would be sending our child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

I am a former student of Tabernacle. After reading the reviews, I wanted to give my opinion. I grew up in a Christian home with strict guidelines as to what was expected of me. Although I had some rebellion in my life, and I didn't always want to adhere to the authority around me, I knew the teachers at Tab loved and cared for me. There was never an issue with me not being able to keep up with the curriculum. Of course, I graduated in the 80's and can't say what the school system is like now. My son went there for a year when we lived in the area, and that was in 2000. He struggled in many areas, and his teacher gave extra time to him after school and was always there to answer any questions that I may have had. I have never known a teacher that wasn't willing to devote time to a student. My sister had an accident in her senior year and was out of school for a couple of weeks. The teachers made sure she was always caught up to date, and if she needed any extra help, they were willing to help. I was out of school for 8 weeks when I was in the 9th grade, due to mono. My teachers dropped work by...and were willing to stay and help me if I had any questions. I feel was very BLESSED!


Posted November 12, 2011

This is a great school for the dedicated christian. Of all the remarks of "The school lacks this or that" You should be proud that there are schools like this still around. I grew up in the school from 1-12th. I had a mother who worked at the school for over 20 years. Does it have problems, yes but what school doesnt. Just be thankful the ones mentioned were so minor they were almost not worth mentioning. In a world where there is drugs and bullies and even worse. You can be certain that at Tabernacle this will not be tolerated. Yes this school cant be for be for everyone. But the ones who want to send there children to school and not be worried at all than this is it. Spread the word on good christian education. From a former student and graduate.


Posted August 26, 2011

I have had my children Tabernacle for 6 years now and have been very pleased the school. Academically, my children are challenged and both kids score very high on their Standardized Acheivement Tests. I have enjoyed the positive environment ,small class size, and individual attention my children receive. The new administration has brought many positive changes to the school. Standards are strict but the teachers are loving and we have not had a problem balancing the strictness out at home. Overall a great school and education for the tuition..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I've been very thrilled to have my g'child attend TBA for the past 3 years. The teachers have been great, K3, K4, K5. They are committed to the educational aspect of the student, but more importantly, the spiritual. My g'child excelled in Bible knowledge and memorization. Each year the children were well supervised before, during and after school. Thanks to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Tabernacle is a old minded Baptist school. It's traditional roots are much to be desired. There seems to be no room for change in the faculty's mindset of old standards. The school is very strict in discipline, which is good for children who need a strong discipline atmosphere. The teaching is very good and children do learn and grow academically if they apply themselves. However, there needs to be more love shown towards parents when a problem arise instead of being ridgid and short. The playground area needs upgrading as well as more extracurricular activities for the amount of money being charged for tuition and other in house fees. Biblical principals are applied well for the children and parents. Overall, if you're looking for strict discipline with no room for mistakes, then Tabernacle is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Tabernacle is a well run, smaller Christian school. The school places a large emphasis on education-be ready for 2-3 hours of homework from the 4th grade level up. Discipline is strict-don't be tardy! But is evenly administered. Class size is small, they do have some sports teams and extracurricular activities, but it is hard to field teams when the school is small. Bibilical teachings are fundamental, the school uses a mixture of Abeka and Saxon. They are a bit behind in technology, but the school tuition is more moderate than many private schools in the area. Overall, if you can handle the homework, a very good school for the price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

As a recent graduate, I have some unique insight as to the quality. As some others have mentioned, the school definitely lacks in the areas of extracurricular activities and technology. If your primary concern is education/socialization, then I would look elsewhere. If your primary concern is religious instruction, then Tab's for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 27, 2005

The school has many posistives including small class sizes and a great atmosphere. I would say the downfalls would be the lack of extracurricular activities. There are a few sports but the school needs to get involved with more schools around the local area instead of the state. Maybe join a different league. The teachers that have been there for a while are great. I would say the school lacks when it comes to technology and math. There are no special programs for kids that cannot keep up either. When considering schools, Tabernacle is great but it lacks many attributes that you can get at a larger school that give kids more of a social life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2005

Academics is of high importance, however they do not meet the needs of children who struggle. Different children have different learning styles and this is not recognized here. If you can't keep up with the rest, that seems to just be too bad. The extra curricular activities offered could be improved upon. Parents seem to be very involved and their intaction is always welcomed. I cherish the focus on biblical teaching and a personal relationshuip w/ Christ. However, I don't feel that discipline is always tempered w/ grace and I don't see that the atmosphere is as loving as a Christian environment should be. Overall, the school is moderate at best and could stand to undergo some changes, primarily in the area of the attitude of the upper grade teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is a wonderful Christian school. It holds kids accountable for their actions has a focus on Jesus Christ throughout each classroom and this includes all the staff as well. I appreciate the sacrificial giving of each teacher and of the principal of this school and support them fully as they have gained my respect through the years. My kids absolutely love it there and are always anxious to go every morning! They have met many good friends as well here. Go Patriots!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

717 Whitehurst Landing Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone: (757) 420-5696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fairfield Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Arrowhead Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Woodstock Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Kempsville Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Coastal Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT