Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Atlantic Shores Christian School

Private | 7-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2014

Atlantic Shores is one of a kind. My 3 children have blossomed and grown academically, spiritually and emotionally from their time at Atlantic Shores. As a parent, I know that every day my children are being loved and taught from a Biblical perspective. They are exposed to multiple opportunities daily to learn in Specialty classes from experienced educators. Every teacher invests in the lives of my children and the joy of the Lord fills the school. Atlantic Shores values excellent education, Christ centered learning and family relationships. They are excellent communicators and value parental participation. I am blessed to be secure in the fact that my children are gaining more than an education, they are growing in character. Atlantic Shores is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

The teachers are phenomenal, they truly care and love their students, without question, and teachers are faithful to communicate and work with parents. I wish i could say the same about all those working in administrative positions. I pray that they work better at communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

I highly recommend this school for anyone! They truly care about the whole child, not just their academics, or just their social skills. The are so caring and knowledgable and I would hate to have my child growing up in any other environment. Our whole family has been blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

The teachers are very caring, as well as the admimistration. Iam very happy with my chidren's education.The guidance dept. is very ambitious and helpful in keeping the students on the right course for their individual goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

ASCS is a great school. My children are taught by caring qualified teachers, and they are really learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

Atlantic Shores Christian School provides a wonderful environment for learning. Administration is caring and fair, and teachers are qualified and comunicate with parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 1, 2012

ASCS is a great school. Our children have gotten a quality education and made great friends. The teachers CARE about students and family. The sports program is wonderful. The guidance department works with families all the way through to help your student achieve their goals and attend the college of their choice. Students are encouraged to begin planning and implementing steps year by year: a wonderful program to prepare students for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

Our family loves Atlantic Shores Christian School. We have 8 children and our oldest daughter started K-5 at Shores in 1990. We have been at the school ever since. Sha graduated in 2008 and this year our second oldest daughter will graduate. We can't think of going anywhere else. The academics and sports are wonderful! Not to mention the spiritual emphasis they get. To top it all off, I get so much encouragement for myself (mom) everytime I enter the buildings. We are very thankful for Shores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

As parents we are blessed to know that our children have greatly exceeded our expectations. Our daughter was admitted to an Ivy League college, successfully filling her academic qualifications and a NCAA Athlete with a rigorous sports schedule. Our son, developed amazing leadership skills through Cross Country and this allowed him with his other qualities to receive the NROTC Scholarship to his dream school VMI! They both had amazing teachers and coaches who cared about their success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

We love Atlantic Shores Christian School! Our son is a student in the elementary school and has received excellent instruction academically as well as spiritually. We are continually impressed with the faculty and staff support, the extra programs available, and the Christ-like character that is demonstrated daily within the classroom. They are growing our son's mind while shaping his heart by Christian example. God has truly blessed our family by leading us to Atlantic Shores Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

Our family has had a wonderful experience at Atlantic Shores Christian School. From the elementary to the high school, our children have been extremely well educated, academically as well as spiritually. They also have excellent fine arts, athletics, and leadership opportunities for students at every level. We highly recommend ASCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

Atlantic Shores Christian School is a great school. We visited all of the Christian schools in the area before selecting ASCS. It is wonderful to have a school that is academically challenging and holds the students spiritually accountable without being legalistic. All of my kids have attended through high school. Two have graduated from ASCS and are now achieving at a very high level at two of the most challenging universities in the country. The teachers care about the students and challenge them to be the best they can be. It has made a hugh impact on my kids. Thank you ASCS. Liked: Disliked:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

Good: ~ Student's character, morals and value are held to a high standard both inside of school and outside. ~ The teachers CARE. They take an actice roll in teaching the kids and they show interest in each child has in succeeding in their class. ~ Competitive sport programs ~ High standard of learning with a challeging cirrculum. ~ Web site keeps parents informed and allow access any information required for each class/school information/billing/lunches etc. BAD: ~ Some lessons/classes are taught from a single minded approach. ~ Clique-ish parent body ~ Not fond of students who are strong minded/willed. UGLY: ~ Change in administrations' "power" allows a single individual the final say with regards to discipline & who stays/who goes ~ Decisions with regards to asking a student to leave are made with little regard to "the big picture" (in some cases)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I think that ASCS is a great school and it will always ba a great christian school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

Our granddaughters go to the elementary and middle schools. We love the school and faculty. It is a great experience. They encourage family participation. We live several hours away but go to as many activities as possible. We would recommend this school to anyone interested in their childs or grandchilds education.


Posted July 23, 2008

Wonderful school! The teachers are certified and have degrees. The staff is very loving to the children and have an open door policy for parents. My son is a 7th grader and has been there since K5. He is doing well academically and socially. Would recommend this school to anyone looking for a private education! Check out the school's website if interested!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

My daughter had attended ASCS since Pre-K. She is now in the 7th grade and we absolutely love it! It is small enough to be personal but large enough to offer plenty of extra curriculars etc. The Teachers are fabulous and our daughter truly enjoys going to school every day. If you are looking for a private school with a strong religious influence- this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

This will be our third year with Atlantic Shores and we love it! The teachers are qualified and degreed. My son's 5th grade teacher has had 14 years experience. His 4th grade teacher had 10+ years. His third grader teacher, over 12 years teaching specifically 3rd grade. Atlantic Shores is very family oriented. Teachers hold an open door policy and parents are always encouraged to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

Not a good place for a child to be socialized into being a normal citizen, but most teachers are very good. Would recommend for it's educational aspect, but not for a more important lesson-social skills
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1219 North Center Ville Pike
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Phone: (757) 479-9598

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brandon Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Tabernacle Baptist Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Kempsville Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA


Coastal Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


St Matthew's School
Virginia Beach, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT