Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Virginia Beach, VA

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Landstown High School 5

Posted August 02, 2014
- a student
This school is the best in the city. My first year was Awesome thanks to a guidance counselor and a great teacher. I will have the best 4 years at Landstown High! Thanks Landstown for being the best! Go eagles! Upcoming 10th grader!

Landstown High School 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
School is very good, second child going here. One went during football years and she did well. Second just came over from different academy and feels better education at home school and more welcome. Not seperated by academy or place and teachers are good. You have college course's and get that out of the way now-great! School has order to it and is safe and students are nice and welcoming at events. Feel nice coming to events people talk to you here. Nice school and teachers are good and classes are in order.


Landstown High School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Beautiful building, great teachers and principal. Lots of different types of kids in the student body. Many AP offerings, its a Govenor's STEM school, and they have the Techonology Academy there.

Landstown High School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
My boys have had an excellent experience at Landstown, the teachers always offered to stay late & help them or let them make up missed work. They care about the students! Security is excellent! The teachers & staff are excellent! So much that every year for Christmas & the end of the year, I'd buy a bunch of gift cards to different restaurants & give them to staff! My youngest is a senior this year, honor roll all 4 years!! He couldn't have done that without teachers going above & beyond!

Landstown High School 3

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
My child attended the academy. School is very large so children can easily get off track, few of the teachers will intervene to help. Guidance is overwhelmed and mostly impossible to get help, or anything that will assist the student. Some teachers care but most are just putting in their shift. The academy coordinator is the least helpful of anyone I have ever met in the VB school system. Worst part is that the students don't like her and avoid dealing with her. Wasted position as kids do need support in such a big school. Can't recommend this except for a very mature, self motivated student but of course most 15 year old aren't there yet. The focus is very much on after school activites, which may be difficult for out of zone academy students. High turnover in administration areas


Landstown High School 2

Posted January 23, 2012
- a community member
As a former student of the Academy I can say the academics are useful but the adminstration plays favorites. Be prepared if your student doesn't fall into a mold of Christian and "normal" for them to be heavily builled and don't expect help from adminstration. They will go so far as to ignore physical violence against religious minorities and openly post Christian material. Would be alright if it was a *private* school.

Landstown High School 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
While the school does seem to be more focused on after-school activities, academics are paid a reasonable amount of attention too. Some of the teachers are less apt to assist the student, and the staff does seem to let these cries go a little unsupervised, overall my child was able to be successful, and I consider her an average student. They just expect a student to be more responsible at this stage, and I concur.

Landstown High School 1

Posted July 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Landstown High School 1

Posted March 14, 2009
- a student
School focused on sports and not academics. If you are a good student and follow the rules you will get ignored and put aside. Attention is focused on bad behaving students thus getting rewarded for not causing trouble. Administration is not only unhelpful but its the reason i rate this school so low. There is a few teachers that go above and beyond to help students. But there are also some teachers i had trouble understanding even speak proper English let alone teach math. My parents had to help me in multiple classes because of this. Poor policies such as punishing kids for skipping classes by giving them out of school suspension thus making them miss more.Lack of attention is the reason i would never send my kids to this school.

Landstown High School 0
no rating

Posted March 14, 2009
- a student
School focused on sports and not academics. If you are a good student and follow the rules you will get ignored and put aside. Attention is focused on bad behaving students thus getting rewarded for not causing trouble. Administration is not only unhelpful but its the reason i rate this school so low. There is a few teachers that go above and beyond to help students. But there are also some teachers i had trouble understanding even speak proper English let alone teach math. My parents had to help me in multiple classes because of this. Poor policies such as punishing kids for skipping classes by giving them out of school suspension thus making them miss more.Lack of attention is the reason i would never send my kids to this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Landstown High School
2001 Concert Dr., Virginia Beach, VA  23456
(757) 468-3800
Last modified Landstown High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Landstown High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top