Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
750 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atlantic Shores Christian School 2

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Atlantic Shores used to be a really good school. Within the past year, there has been a huge turnover in teaching staff. One teacher assigned to teach math admitted math was not her strong suit. There is no set curriculum especially where math is concerned. The homework is all over the place with no foundation to build upon. Class size is the same as in public school, with 20 or more kids per class. The room assignments are also biased. All advanced or those close to being advanced are placed in one class while those that are not are in another. When my child or others asked for help, they were constantly being told they should already know it. So they were left to figure it out. The school says that bullying is not tolerated. Our child had a melt down and the teacher began to imitate our child. Our child asked the teacher to stop to which the teacher replied "that's how you're acting so I'm going to act just like you." This was condoned by the principal to which she stated " well, yes, that's what some of the teachers do to show the child how they are acting." Of course it just made the situation worse.We were also told, because our child had been diagnosed with certain mental illnesses (none of which prevented her from learning and achieving principals honor roll every year), maybe she would be better off in a school with kids just like her. This coming from a private christian school! All I can say is Atlantic Shores has been a lesson learned.

Atlantic Shores Christian School 5

Posted December 26, 2014
- a parent
We are a military family that moves every 18-24 months, and are new to Atlantic Shores this year. This school is exactly what we as parents were looking for. We had our children in a christian school before, and Atlantic Shores was the perfect transition for parents and children alike! The staff and families are all wonderful. The school provides a safe, caring, christian learning enviroment; and I am sitting here counting my blessings for finding and placing my children in Atlantic Shores. Both of my children continue to grow and excel thanks to their teachers, and the communication we have with them. Atlantic Shores provides the same values that we provide and hold our children accountable for at our home. I would highly and proudly recommend this school to anyone looking for a great school that cares!


Atlantic Shores Christian School 5

Posted February 14, 2013
- a parent
Atlantic Shores Christian School is by far the best Christian School in Hampton Roads. Their faculty, staff and administration is one of a kind and their dedication is truly a gift to the children who get the opportunity to be a part of the Shores family. I am more than pleased with the goals set to see our children succeed academically as well as spiritually. I am proud to be a parent of Atlantic Shores and would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a great private, christian school. The love of Christ shines through each person who walks through their doors.

Atlantic Shores Christian School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
We have been part of the Atlantic Shores family for many years. As alumni of the school, my husband and I have chosen to put both our boys in Shores. Not only are we pleased with the acdemic side of the school but also the spiritual. The teachers genuinely care about the spiritual well-being of the students and will do almost anything in order to help them. Teachers also utilize many forms of technology to keep the parents informed. The unique academic offerings--such as music, art, computer, outdoor classroom, etc.--help make learning fun and give the kids another reason to love this school.

Atlantic Shores Christian School 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
My son is a sixth grader at Atlantic Shores Christian School and has been attending since K-4. We are so pleased with the high level of academics that Shores provides as well as the personal attention and spiritual direction. The amount of opportunities at Shores is amazing, from advanced classes to fine arts and computer classes. We chose the school 7 years ago because it was apparent that SHores takes care of the student as a "whole," something that is very rare these days. We have been greatly blessed by Shores and I know my son will continue to excel.


Atlantic Shores Christian School 5

Posted February 22, 2011
- a parent
Atlantic Shores Elementary is a really nice, loving environment for my daughter to grow both academically and spiritually. The school is well kept. The teachers are top notch. Learning is fun. Best of all the students are respectful to each other. Religion is taught in a kind way. My daughter comes home to "teach" me. She loves singing in Chapel. The out door class room is one of her favorite classes. I am so happy knowing that she is in a loving environment . This school is worth every penny!

Atlantic Shores Christian School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
I have a son in the high school and one at the elementary. I am so pleased with Atlantic Shores. Both are academically challenged on a daily basis, and the staff is teaching the Bibilical principals that we are teaching at home. We are blessed to be a part of the Atlantic Shores family. My children wouldn't go to any other school.

Atlantic Shores Christian School
no rating

Posted June 07, 2009
- a community member
I have 3 grandchildren that go to Atlantic Shores from Kinderdarden to the high school. It is a great school, lots of parent involvement, a real loving atmosphere, teachers that really care about the kids, and it is like a big family. I am thrilled to attend all the family activities throughout the year.


Atlantic Shores Christian School
no rating

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. They really care about the students. The teachers work with the students until they understand. Great school!!

Atlantic Shores Christian School
no rating

Posted July 23, 2008
- a parent
Super elementary school! The staff and administration is wonderful with the children. Highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atlantic Shores Christian School
1861 Kempsville Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23464
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (757) 479-1125
Last modified Atlantic Shores Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top