Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Queens Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 452 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

We recently moved to this area from out of state. During our search, we specifically looked at schools in York County, reason behind our move to this particular area. The teachers are lazy at best. My child is a 6th grade student and if she does not complete an assignment or homework, instead of notifying the parents, the teachers ignore the problem until the parent brings it up when the report cards come out. Teachers are "supposed" to use Edline to post assignments and grades, but only a few teachers do. My child dropped two grades in one subject in less than a month. I was told that she wasn't completing homework, but Edline shows no assignments and I was never notified. Maybe other York County schools are good, but skip this one! It is well not worth the headache to deal with this administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I am an honor student that likes to be challlenged and I must say that the average classes were horrible! I was not challenged in science or history but I had FOA with the best teacher I've ever had, Mr. Weidinger. If you ever had any problems he would be glad to help. If Mr. Weidinger was the only teacher there it would be the best school ever!!


Posted April 21, 2012

My daughter attends Queens Lake and participates in the Middle School Arts Magnet. I am thoroughly impressed with the staff and the personal level of service they provide. Prior to attending this school I heard from other parents that it was not where I wanted to place my child. They did not have an accurate perception nor did they volunteer and help out at the school. As a person who volunteers weekly I see first hand what occurs with my child's education and I am very happy with what I see. She also loves the staff and feels comfortable and challenged. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

It's a small school with Teachers that truly care and spend time to help the students in any way they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

My daughter attended 8th grade here and we found it was a wasted year. There were no challenges academically and the discipline issue was by far the main focus of the VP. I spent a lot of time in the school sitting in on classes throughout the year volunteering and attending school functions. It wasn't until the last three weeks of school that I finally met the Principal! Dress codes weren't adhered to, swearing was heard in the halls, disrepect towards teachers was rampant. I am not sure how the kids are getting educated here. It has potential, but right now, it is lacking in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I wrote an earlier review on my childs middle school. Queens Lake Middle school. I dont know how I managed to forget to include a teachers name in my listing. I felt I had to come back and include Mrs. O'Hare as one of the best teachers in this school. All of the teachers and staff go above and beyond to make sure each child is successful. If you choose this school I have no dought that you will just be very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

Outstanding middle school! Caring, down-to-earth staff, dedicated to helping their students succeed. Very large number of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My child attends this school and I spend time in the classes as a parent volunteer. Most of the teachers are wonderful! Most have high expectations for students, the instruction seems interesting and engaging, and I believe the teachers really care about whether the students learn. The student body is rough, however, and the administration does everything they can to keep from kicking constantly disruptive students out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

Smallest middle school in the highly desired York County School District. Very involved staff and principal. High level of parental involvement in the multiple extracurricular activities. Very high academic standards. We'ver heard of almost no problems with the students getting in trouble with vandalism, drugs, violence etc. Overall an outstanding smaller school in a small-town community. Magruder Elementary and Bruton High School are the other two public schools in this section of Willimasburg (Zip 23185). We specifically chose to live in this area because of the schools and are not disappointed at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students74%
Male students82%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students92%
Female students92%
Male students93%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students85%
Male students75%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students58%
Female students63%
Male students54%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students68%
Male students57%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

English: Writing

All Students79%
Female students89%
Male students69%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students56%
Female students64%
Male students49%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students56%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English56%

Science

All Students79%
Female students78%
Male students81%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female students98%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

124 W Queens Dr
Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone: (757) 220-4080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Berkeley Middle School
Williamsburg, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT