Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stonehouse Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 647 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

We love Stonehouse. All the teachers have been so caring and talented. The PTA is great also. They have several cool events during the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We are very new to the Williamsburg area, as well as my fourth grade son a new student to Stonehouse. I have been very impressed with everyone at this school. Considering that he's just recently been accessed with a couple different learning challenges, his teachers as well as other staff members have gone above and beyond to help him get settled. I only wish that we would have made this move long before now. I look forward to many years here at Stonehouse, with my Toddler following in his brothers footsteps here as a Sea Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Our child has attended Stonehouse for 4 years. He has been thriving and actually looks forward to going to school. We are thankful they have a program that our advanced learner can participate in during a portion of the school day. From the teachers and support staff to his involvement in the running club, chess club, and SHIP club, this school has been a great environment for our child. His teachers have called us at home to share great news about our son and at times, when concerns pop up too. We appreciate that it isn't all about book learning, but life learning too! As a family we have enjoyed the family game nights, carnival, science/math night and the SHIP Sentara Sleighbell 5K. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2012

Our family is military, so we move around frequenty. I have never been so stressed about my children's school. We moved to this school district since it supposed to be an excellent school. However, the majority of the teachers do not seem to care about the children. We ran into the principal over the summer. My first grader ran up to her to say hi. Her response was rude and hurt my daughter's feelings. I guess we can not expect her staff to care about children if she does not appear to. We are actually selling our home after living here two years just to leave this district. Initially I thought it may just be my experience, but a neighbor is doing the same thing. Also, numerous people in the area homeschool because they do not want their children to attend this school. Do not let the high test scores fool you, children are just a paycheck here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

This is a great school. My son does academically really well but has some neurological issues, and the school has done wonderfully addressing the issues. The teachers, principal, vice principal, counselors, social workers, etc. have always been on my son's side. They truly found what was best for him. This is a great school no matter what kind of learner you are or what issues your child has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

Stonehouse is a wonderful place in which to grow-up. My fourth grader has been a student here since kindergarten and has tested well in both reading and math. The teachers work as a team to ensure every child at that grade level is challenged academically and artistically. In the younger grades, part of the nightly homework is to have a parent sign-off when it is completed. Now that my child is older, it is second nature to show me what they are studying and when they will be tested on it. Stonehouse teachers focus on HOW to be a good student; the kids are taught test taking strategies, how to plan and manage large projects, and are taught good study habits. Stonehouse is an excellent school and I would (and have) recommend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I am finding that instead of the teachers finding ways to help your child to improve they expect you as a parent to do teh work for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

Stonehouse Elementary is not so good for special education. If your child is average to above average academically and does not have any behavioral issues, then this school is a wonderful place for your child's education and well-being. However, if your child has learning problems or needs behavioral supports and services, then this school is not the place for them! The staff and much of the faculty do not seem to understand nor know how to work with children in these later categories. Our child was often misunderstood and, as a result, inappropriate interventions and methods were used which sometimes made matters worse. The school was quick to pull my child from general ed and tried to re-locate my child to an inappropriate placement in another school. Stonehouse needs more training in dealing with and helping special needs children with behavioral concerns and emotional and/or social skill deficits/weaknesses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Storehouse Elementary exceeded my expectations. I have two children who attend this school and they have shown increasing levels of knowledge as it pertains to the subject matter taught. The teachers seem to care in pursing academic excellence and the parents are active in their children s educational pursuits. My children actually enjoy attending class and the tight knit school community plays a part in their enthusiasm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

We moved here from Tennessee and were hesitant about the public schools here. My daughter is in second grade and learning so much. Great school, great environment and great staff. I am very pleased. No need to do a private school with such a great public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

I am absolutely in love with Stonehouse. I have a second grader who has been in attendance there since kindergarten. The Teachers and supporting staff are totally dedicated to ensuring the success of each and every child. Making sure that each learning experince is memorable and enjoyable, pushing (never pressuring) each child to reach academic excellence. Mrs. Beckhouse, the principal, takes the time to know each child individually. If you are looking to enroll your student,I highly recommend these awesome teachers- Mrs.Bonner(kindergaten), Mrs.Gaten (1st grade)& Ms. Matthews (2nd grade).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Please add Mrs. Hagee to the list of outstanding teachers at Stonehouse Elementary. I have a 1st grader in her class and have two older children (middle and high school). This year has far exceeded the 'best years' of my older children's education. The auxillary personnel at this school are amazing. Success begins with excellent leardership, Ms. Beckhouse (principle) gives her staff, students and parents the leadership that it takes to make a school successful! Anyone deciding to enter the field of education today should be commended, for they do so in the face of adversity. The separation of church and state, the lack of respect for adult authority, loving parents becoming too involved; these adversities hinder the ability of our young people to learn that accomplishment comes with honest hardwork and accountability. Stonehouse works hard to teach this lesson to their students everday.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students90%
Male students78%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students78%
Female students82%
Male students74%
Black students39%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students89%
Female students90%
Male students87%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students89%
Male students72%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial77%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students88%
Female students94%
Male students81%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students89%
Male students69%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students67%
Female students85%
Male students50%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students75%
Female students82%
Male students69%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students72%
Female students82%
Male students63%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Pickles

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3651 Rochambeau Dr
Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone: (757) 566-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Norge Elementary School
Williamsburg, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT