Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12 & Ungraded
Private
Winchester, VA
 

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Winchester Academy 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a student
I am past student with have personal experience. The school is too small and lacks everything including compassion. If you are not one of the staff kids of their friends, you are may as well forget it. You are made fun of and excluded from everything!
3 people found this helpful

Winchester Academy 1

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
They do not have enough students to have separate grades. They are bunched together which enables the older ones to bully the younger students and nothing is done to stop this from happening. Sadly some of the children belong to staff members so their little angels are never wrong.
1 person found this helpful


Winchester Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended since he was 3-years-old. Now, in Pre-K4, he is already working on addition and reading words on his own. I am pleased with the administration's efforts to engage parents and keep us informed during their transition period to a new facility. I am extremely thankful for the many teachers that I have meant that have showed their love for their students and their school by their hardwork and diligence in getting the new school building ready for School this Fall. God Bless the school and may they continue to grow and prosper in years to come.

Winchester Academy 3

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
The school has undergone transition in leadership and have worked very hard to keep standards in learning and extracurricular activities throughout the year. Their strength is in preschool and elementary and they make every effort to fit needs of every child. They need to stress more on academics to attract more students in elementary and middle schools. The school tries hard to keep it financially affordable to all families but needs parents to do their part too.

Winchester Academy 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
This is our son's second year at Winchester Academy and we could not be more impressed with the level of education he is receiving. When speaking with friends who have children the same age and older, our son is successfully doing work that isn't even introduced in the public schools for another year or two. We've never had any issues with the school regarding discipline, and the teachers are always available and in constant contact via email or in person at the school with parents. He and our younger son will both definitely be continuing at Winchester Academy.


Winchester Academy 1

Posted March 02, 2012
- a parent
The school Winchester Academy in our opinion has a horrible experience for our child. The Academy's reactions and punishment for behavior were uncalled for. How can anyone feel justified in with holdings food from a child. It was for these, and other reasons discussed that we felt it necessary to withdraw our child from Winchester Academy.
2 people found this helpful

Winchester Academy 5

Posted November 03, 2011
- a parent
We could not be happier with selecting Winchester Academy for our daughter. She is enjoying school and the opportunities the school provides for her to learn and lead are wonderful. The individual attention, smaller classes and educational materials, in our opinion, have made a huge difference in the quality education our daughter is getting and it shows.

Winchester Academy 5

Posted November 13, 2010
- a parent
This school is great! My son loves it and he is learning a lot. I like that they have a camp program - it made the school year easier to adjust for him. The teachers are very nurturing, but do enforce rules.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winchester Academy
5629 N Frederick Pike, Winchester, VA  22603
(540) 542-1100
Last modified Winchester Academy is a Private school
Winchester Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top