Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Redbud Run Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 641 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

So far this school has been a positive experience. The principal Mrs. White is a genuine person and the staff has all been friendly. I always feel welcome. I will update after the school-year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

My child has been in this school for the 2nd half of 1st grade and finishing up her 2nd grade year. My husband and I are not satisfied at all. The office staff is not the friendliest and not that helpful. I feel my child has not done so well and yes I work hard with her at home as well. There is no extra help and children are rushed through their work. More like quantity than quality of an education. I am sorry I ever moved here without fully researching the school. My childs teacher fell ill and in the past month she has had 3 subs. No order in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

In agreement with an earlier review that this school is not adequate in servicing kids with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

This site's rating is a reflection of state testing alone. It does not relfect well on Redbud because it does not take into consideration all of the programs and students that Redbud serves. Please keep this in mind when being shocked by that low rating!


Posted August 4, 2009

Excellent second grade teaching. Our son's teacher Mrs Williams worked wonderfully with us and our son. Thank you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

The best school my daughter has ever been to and she enjoys every minute. She is getting the best education i feel that can be provided to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

I think this school would have to rate at a 10 because everyone frome the teachers to the office staff is great and very helpful and if they dont know an answer they tell you they dont know and they will go and find out the answer and call u back as soon as they figure it out so in my own personal oppion this is the best school my son has ever attended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

This school is one of the best in the county
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

My family and I have enjoyed our extended Redbud Family. This school looks to challenge the needs of every student; academically, physically and socially. The faculty, administration, PTO and instructional staff have created a positive network with the community and students. I have personally seen many teachers develop and extend lessons to try to meet all the needs of their students, while treating everyone the same. I would recommend this school to any new family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I have had 3 children go to this school as well. I have a son with an Autistic Spectrum disorder. There is little to no services for kids who are on the edge of 'neurotypical' and little patience by the staff for them as well. More money should be spent on those that for reasons beyond their control have put them at a disadvantage so they can be on an even playing field. My girls have had better experiences with the staff-they are 'neurotypical'. I do feel their education is not what it could be. There needs to be more challenge and the students taught to their level and not to the class level...other schools in the state do this, so why can't Frederick County schools? Don't come to Frederick County if a good education is what you want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have had children that attended the school and have a child currently in the school. There is great dedication to improving educational strategies. I believe my children receive an outstanding experience at Redbud. The PTO is wonderful and offers numerous opportunities for parents to be involved. The staff is very welcoming of parent involvement. I'm concerned that too much attention and money is given to special needs and gifted children. I wish the school could more equally distribute that money among the 'in the middle' sector of children as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students63%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students47%
Female students39%
Male students54%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White students53%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficient students17%
Proficient in English51%

Science

All Students75%
Female students73%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students60%
Female students63%
Male students57%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students57%
Female students52%
Male students62%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students58%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students75%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students76%
Male students65%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students64%
Female students57%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Science

All Students68%
Female students62%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Angie G. White

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 First Woods Dr
Winchester, VA 22603
Phone: (540) 678-1868

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Timber Ridge School
Winchester, VA


Grafton School
Winchester, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT