Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bel Air Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
I want to thank my grandson's 3rd grade teacher, Ms. Clark for being such an inspiration to him. He speaks very highly of Ms. Clark and tells me he is comfortable in her classroom. Thank you Ms. Clark!

Bel Air Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
My son is a 2nd grader and started in Kindergarten here. At first I was reluctant having come from a private school background myself and this being a Title1 school. I am very impressed thus far and have had nothing but a great experience with teachers and administrators. The principal Mr Mitchell and VP Mrs Rosenbaum are great and always motivating and helpful. They seem to have excellent control of what is going on and what the school needs. Teachers seem to communicate with parents a lot. Only criticism I have is they need to give more homework but they have to follow the county guidelines on that.


Bel Air Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Excellent principal, vice principal, administrators, great spirit, no bully policy, kids earn rewards, extra saturday classes to catch up, smashing bricks for SOLs, orchestra in 5th grade as an option, kids love this school. 3-5th grade teachers seem very good, high level of advanced degrees.

Bel Air Elementary School 4

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
Prior to Bel Air, my fourth grader attended Fannie Fitzgerald for two years and did not do well. Now he is thriving and doing awesome--kudos to a fabulous and responsive staff and admin team.

Bel Air Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Bel Air made a lot of changes for the better when Bruce Lieby was brought in the year before my oldest (now in 5th) entered the school. Clint Mitchell (his asst principal) took over and has run with the base he was given. I am very impressed with the dedication of the teachers he has brought it. There are plenty of resource aides for those who need it. They are offering various programs from Saturday Academy to help students needing a boost, evening programs to help parents see what the students are learning, homework help nights, there is now a Head Start class in the school and there is talk of another summer class for rising Kindergarteners to help prep them for school in the fall.


Bel Air Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2008
- a parent
I just love Bel-Air! The princpal Mr. Mitchell is awesome!

Bel Air Elementary School 3

Posted March 25, 2008
- a parent
My review is mixed: Both my children had great teachers here. On the other hand, both teachers are transferring to another school next year. One child is still at Bel Air and doing very well. The other was having troubles that the school wasn't addressing to our satisfaction. Efforts to resolve them with the staff left us feeling intimidated and demoralized. Of this academic year, one review has been posted. I concur with it in that the teachers are patient and willing to work with the children etc.

Bel Air Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2007
- a parent
Bel Air is a fantastic school. The teachers are very patient willing to work with the children and the parents on problems and difficulties encountered during the school year.


Bel Air Elementary School 4

Posted July 17, 2006
- a parent
I am thrilled with Bel Air. I just learned that the PWC Schools are increasing Phys Ed and physical activity for students as well where many counties are cutting these programs! Academically I am pleased with Bel Air as well! Mr Leiby retired this year but his Assistant Mr Mitchell is taking over. We could not be more thrilled with his appointment to principal. We are certain he will continue the great work Mr Leiby did is his three years at Bel Air

Bel Air Elementary School 4

Posted March 28, 2006
- a parent
We recently moved our children to this school from another PWC School and we are nothing more than astonished at the Leadership, commitment to success and care and safety of our children. The teachers are quality that our children have and have worked with us to make the middle of the year transfer smooth and eventless for our children. One of children has Type 1 Diabetes and the entire school from Mr. Leiby, front desk staff, school nurse, teachers and cafeteria staff have been extremely helpful and reassuring that our child is safe and developing educational wise while in their care during the day. Any parent with a child that needs medical assistance knows that the assurance you get from another while your baby is in someone elses care is golden. This has been an great school and hope that leadership and commitment continues. PWCS support your staff. $$$$$$$$$$$

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bel Air Elementary School
14151 Ferndale Rd, Woodbridge, VA  22193
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (703) 670-4050
Last modified Bel Air Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top