Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2016
- a community member
The staff at Vaughan Elementary are very caring and really enjoy teaching. There is a lot of new energy at the school this year, and you can see that the kids are challenged each day. I like seeing all the changes the new principals have made.

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 2

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went to Vaughan from 3rd grade to 5th grade, I have one son who started from kindergarten and going into the 4th grade and I have another son about to start kindergarten next year. My wife and I had issues with the school staff's lack of communication, lack of professionalism from staff and certain teachers and their poor management. I've written lengthy emails to the Prince William County School Superintendent regarding inexcusable comments from a certain teacher and the lack of attention from the principle and assistant principle. Needless to say this teacher was let go mid school just to return the following year! This current school year they started with a brand new assistant principle and principle, however they so far are failing epically straightening this school out. Feel bad for several of the excellent teachers there, but this school is cursed.


Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
The administrators of this school seem to be completely out of touch with basics of child development. My child was denied special education services, without being evaluated. The school needs a paradigm shift. 15 min. for recess, with a long school day is not enough. Children need to move, in order to learn.

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 2

Posted November 17, 2013
- a parent
Let me first say that if my daughter didn't have the teacher she does this rating would be a 1. The communication with her teacher is great. The communication with the school in general is terrible. For example I have now signed up for the PTA 4x and paid my $5 fee and have not once received an email or letter from school even noting my interest. No further information has been provided by the school on meetings or any other involvement. The requested parent volunteers for the book fair and I signed up and was never contacted. After attending the book fair I don't think any parents were involved as it was all staff. If you are going to ask for help and you have parents willing to assist then please contact us. That being said my daughter has grown in her abilities. I credit that to her teacher as the overall testing scores are poor even for VA and that says a lot since VA schools Nationwide are poorly rated. There is a truth to what is said that those schools that are in a low income area are not good schools. It's sad and shouldn't be true but it is very obvious here at this school. We feel that the education standard is to low and will be moving to a better location.

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 3

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
I have two students who attend EVS. I have one teacher who responds to my inquires and one teacher who doesn't respond as readily as I'd prefer. The principal is new. I have a some issues w/new procedures she has put into place; however, I understand what she is trying to accomplish. My largest complaint is lack of communication. If the lines of communication were more open, I believe the school would really thrive.


Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
i would recommend this school to everyone. i have one child here and she is doing very good here. if she is having any problems in any area, the teachers and the the principal lets me know, together we find a resolution. they are the best staff i have ever worked with. i have two other girls who went to this school, and they both are a and b students. thanks to all of you at this school.

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2010
- a parent
I have two children who go to Vaughan and my older daughter went there as well. I love this school so much, they have such amazing teachers and staff! I wish more schools were like this. They take time to talk to me about any concerns I have and are excellent with my children!

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
My child previously attended CCA and left with a reading problem. After having been at EV he is now reading on grade level and working hard to rise above grade level !! THIS SUCCESS is a direct result of the fantastic staff, curriculum, and special attention provided to him !!! HIs reading success is a testament to THEIR successful programs!!! THANK YOU !!!


Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Elizabeth Vaughn has a great program and great faculty and staff keep up the good work.

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
I think this a wonderful place to learn i would have gone to this school if i could. My child comes home saying i love this school sooooo much if we mo0ve i wouldnt control myself thanks elizabeth vaughan

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School
2200 York Dr, Woodbridge, VA  22191
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (703) 494-3220
Last modified Elizabeth Vaughan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top