Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gar-Field High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers as well as leadership staff, are focused on the academic development of each student. Responsibility to self and community are additional points of focus that are taught within Gar-Field.

Gar-Field High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Within the IB program curriculum, there is a great deal of hard work involved. The program is intense and will definitely prepare your child for continued education.


Gar-Field High School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The IB curriculum, the diversity as well as its leadership team, is second to none. A definite hidden gym, especially if a family is looking for their child to be ready for the next level of higher learning. Their U.S. Marine Corps JROTC program is another top notch and highly regarded program that continues to bring honor to this fine school. Academics are held in high regard at this particular school and parents should take time to contact administration, to schedule a visit.

Gar-Field High School 4

Posted July 22, 2014
- a student
This school is an interesting mix of culture, dynamics, and people. It is easy to talk down GFHS because of the swirling rumors of teenage pregnancy, ghetto and immature students, and the list goes on and on. In every high school there are good students and bad students and Garfield is no different. The IB program is one of the best in the world and the staff at GFHS provide the best enviroment for the program to succeed. Students come from a plethora of different backgrounds, experiences, and struggles but they unite in a cultural mixing pot of school. I have never felt in danger for my life or others because GFHS is a safe school. The majority of people are well behaved and civilized. It is only when the small percent messes up that the whole school is implicated badly. I wish it wasn't the case but students are adamant about remaininy themselves and the community chooses to remain ignorant and opinionated. It is not perfect but it is sure worth it. I would recommend anyone to try the IB program at Garfield and you will be amazed by the growth and oppurtunities you receive. You choose your own destiny and success, so instead of asking yourself "Should I?" Ask "Can I and will I?

Gar-Field High School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a student
The IB Program at this school definitely contained the rigor and quality of education necessary to prepare me for college. Although I will be going to college to study engineering, the interwoven material learned in each IB class taught me valuable communication skills when speaking and writing. My teachers were all incredibly passionate about their job, went out of their way to help students, and genuinely showed concern for the education of each and every student. The administration consistently keeps the students' interests at heart and regulates the great environment. I can confidently say that I felt safe at school everyday. When I walked in the doors, it was evident I was receiving a quality education. I highly recommend Gar-Field HS and its International Baccalaureate Program to anyone who desires a well-rounded high school education.


Gar-Field High School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
Currently I have two children attending this school, one is a Freshman and one is a Senior. I have never had issues with the leadership of the administration at this school. Their teachers are consistently helpful, usually available after school (either on scheduled days or by appointment). The relationship between my children and their teachers is fantastic! Teachers are genuinely concerned about the quality of education my children receive. Additionally, all of their IB teachers must be certified by the International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) to be able to teach an IB course. As a result, I feel confident my children are receiving a challenging and fulfilling education.

Gar-Field High School 2

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are caring but the discipline in the school is weak at best. My child tells me of times when a student is sent out of the room for disrupting the class only to have the administration send him back.

Gar-Field High School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
This well-diversed school strives to make everyone reach beyond their goals whether it be academics, sports or clubs.


Gar-Field High School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Gar-field is a fab High School, teachers are great, the whole atmosphere is awesome, they really care!!!!

Gar-Field High School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2009
- a community member
As an Alumni of Gar-Field Senior High School, I can say with confidence that it was one of the best experiences of my life. I am a self-proclaimed wall flower and I always have been. The USMC Junior ROTC program really brought me out of my shell and gave me the self confidence I never had. Roger Dallek was an outstanding principal (and college professor) and I'm sad to hear that he is gone. I occasionally go back to visit my old teachers and from what I understand, they are just as great as they were while I was attending school there. I can't wait for my 10 year reunion so I can reminisce with my old classmates. This is an excellent school!! Don't judge a book by its cover!

Nearby schools

Gar-Field High School
14000 Smoketown Rd, Woodbridge, VA  22192
(703) 730-7000
Last modified Gar-Field High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top